We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to spend your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend your holiday”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 10 night vacation at Sandals Whitehouse in Jamaica (April 4 to 14, 2014). We were scheduled to be at Sandals Carlyle however, there was a fire at the Carlyle ergo, 2 days prior to departure, we were told that we were going to the Whitehouse resort. We had considered this resort before however we didnt feel the additional road trip was worth the effort (1.5 to 2 hours from Mo-Bay airport). We still wanted to see the resort therefore we did not complain at this change. Our accomodations consisted of a 1 bedroom suite with Butler service. We have booked butler suites in the past at other Sandals resorts but David and Camille, who were our butlers at the Whitehouse, were just fabulous. Note that the main reason we book butler suites is the suite/not necessarily the fact that it comes with a butler. Camille and David surprised us a few times with things we truly werent expecting such as reserved (and decorated) tables at diner time and nice treats by the pool. This resort is quite large so make sure you are mobile and dont mind walking a little to get to where you need to go. Our room was excellent and, yes, there is some noise from the hallway etc. however if you've ever been to most resorts in the caribbean you would find the same thing occurs (if your flooring was in tile you would get this noise everywhere). Not an issue for us. As stated earlier, the resort is quite large however, everything you need is pretty much centralized (restaurants, sports, stores etc.). You merely have to make your way to them from your room. The food and service at the restaurants was excellent (our fave = Jasmine (Asian delights)). We did not get into the sports much but noticed that there were all kinds of things going on pretty much all of the time. The Sandals animator's were great (as weve found them to be at all Sandals resorts).

Short and sweet is the way I prefer to keep these things (kind of like the holiday itself) but I have to say that, due to the ride from Mo-Bay, we most likely wont be returning to this particular Sandals property (in Mo-Bay there are 3 different Sandals properties ... the Carlyle, the Royal and Sandals Mo-Bay which are all pretty much 5 minutes from the airport and this is what we prefer).

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean view so dont let that be your deciding factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,574
    1,531
    504
    185
    97
See reviews for
183
5,610
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Positives: The location is amazing- beautiful place, extremely clean and well kept, with very kind and friendly staff- who pride themselves on delivering the best vacation. Chef Laire was amazing- personally catered to my life threatening nut allergy

Negative/Needs improvement:
1.This location has stray cats that cry out in the night- sounded like a baby crying. Unfortunately caused three sleepless nights for us- despite telling staff, they were unable to rectify.
2. When my designated Chef was unavailable to assist me with my food allergy, other staff were less knowledgeable about food content, therefore leaving me unsure and anxious regarding what was safe for me to eat. Several times I was left with conflicting answers re food content, and therefore I just didn't eat. To assist this- I would recommend an improved education plan for the food and beverage staff regarding life threatening allergies, and the use of signage at buffets to highlight the use of any nuts or pesto in dishes. For example - I would never have expected the use of pesto on fish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This review is dedicated to any bride getting married or thinking about getting married at Sandals Whitehouse. When searching for a resort, wedding reviews were hard to find! In short, we could not have picked a more perfect place to get married. It's absolutely beautiful and the wedding staff goes above and beyond to ensure the process is smooth from start to finish. The pre-wedding planner had several calls with us prior to arriving to the resort and nearly every detail was worked out. Basically everything minus cake flavor, signature drink, and exact location of each wedding "event" was decided remotely. Once we arrived, we were handed off to the on-site wedding planner. We were so lucky to have Sebrina Campbell. She was absolutely wonderful to work with. A true professional and has such a way of putting every stress at ease. The videographer and photographers were awesome as well and we got some amazing shots. There are many wedding packages to choose from, really depends on what you are looking for. We went with the "Island Paradise" theme which is the top package, but the colors and flowers were perfect for us. We had 30 guests, which was the largest wedding we seen while we were there. The staff can accommodate groups large and small. Our package even included a pre-wedding celebration dinner which helped the guests get to know each other and made for a very fun evening. Every one of our guests raved about the food and the wedding overall. We had a DJ who really ensured the party kept going (despite our cancelled bonfire due to the rain which dampened the wood). I would like to mention that I personally did not have a good experience with the makeup trial at the spa, and ultimately did my own makeup. I met several brides while I was there and they shared in my concerns with the way makeup is done there. My hair on the other hand, turned out great! Also, my dress did return from being steamed with 4 stains on it (appeared to be dirty water from the steamer)...not saying this will be an issue for anyone else but just use caution. They did remove the charge for this inconvenience, but not the best feeling for a bride the night before the big day.

We opted for the butler suite and were in the Italian village. We had a corner room and the view was incredible. Our butlers were Joy and Keen. We are not high maintenance by any means, but they went above and beyond to ensure we were pampered during our stay. I highly recommend them!

Things I loved most about the wedding:
-getting married on the Italian beach (much quieter and great scenery)
-the wedding staff take care of everything and we got exactly what we wanted for our big day (special thanks to Sebrina and also Fabriella)
-all of the food was great
-the cake was delicious
-the signature drink "arctic orange" was a huge hit
-my hair was great
-the Dj kept the party going
-the decor was beautiful
-the entire staff including bartenders and servers tool great care of us and our guests (special about out to Shaneka and Lorenzo)
-the photography and videography was great (special shout out to Travon and Shelly)
-we had the "honeymoon registry" and ended up getting all the activities and excursions we requested plus some trip donations that really made our trip one to remember.

All in all, I wouldn't have changed a thing about the wedding itself. I highly recommend this resort for a destination wedding!

The resort in general is spectacular... breathtaking actually. All the food we had was amazing. The only "okay"
meal was at Giuseppe's. A bit disappointing, but could have been the entree we chose. Jasmines was our favorite for dinner. Breakfast at Bayside was consistently good...must have the omelets:) Bluefields was our favorite for lunch (jerk pork quesadillas), but the pizza at Giuseppe's really is terrific as everyone talks about!

I will be posting some pictures on here as wedding pictures were also hard to come by when we were looking:)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cariboo619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose the least expensive location - after all - you are not there to spend much time in your room! Some noise with people moving their chairs on their balconies in early morning, and when service carts went along the outside walkway.

But - we looked over the pool and bar at the far end - Bluefields - noise was not a problem. We took our bags, books with us when we went to breakfast [ a 10 minute walk] and got chairs by the pool in the shade - shade is so important - that was where the action was. But - we wished that not so many activities were during the hottest part of the day - we are very sun conscious. Only went back to the room late afternoon for nap and shower.

Restaurants are great - loved the Cafe Paris where you could get cookies and ice cream at any time.

Drive to the resort was interesting - too many pot holes - you did not want to go off the resort for other activities.

Entertainment was good - I suggested they need to advertise who entertainers were in a bit more detail.

Loved the pool exercises - wished they were on every day. The exercise room is fully equipped and air conditioned! Did not like having to pay extra for wifi - when paying these prices, wifi should be included.

Loved our experience. Enjoyed the returning guest dinner - great food.

Room Tip: Get the least expensive - you don't really need a valet! All rooms face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Resort is lovely but the logistics of getting there too much for me. Lots of variety in cuisine but it still all tastes the same to me. Best food in main dining is breakfast buffet. pizza at Italian is really good. Otherwise food is just basically average cruise food. It was a wonderful vacation w friends and gorgeous location and superb staff but it's the things that weren't great I always want to know about.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second trip using Beach Bum Vacations - Marcie Muensterman. She once again knocked it out of the park with this excellent recommendation. The staff was tremendously entertaining and very pleasant the entire stay. A must stay location for anyone going to Jamaica and wanting that romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask Marcie, she always has the best answer for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first trip to a Sandals resort and our first trip to Jamaica....we booked a return trip prior to our departure because the experience was wonderful.

The first half of the ride to the resort was fine, but after the rest stop we were over it. Next time we will definitely try to find another couple in advance to split the cost of a helicopter ride.

The resort is beautiful and with a Concierge Club level room we were immediately whisked away to the Sandals clubhouse for our check-in. Concierge showed us around the resort on the way to our room.

We had a beachfront walkout in the Italian Village. Rooms are small, but furniture is nice and you don't spend much time in your room anyway. Fridge was stocked and our housekeeper Clover made arrangements with the bar service to give us Light RedStripe, our preference. The doors to the rooms are not sealed well so you can hear everything going on from the other side.

The beach was long and beautiful and we enjoyed walking along the beach each morning. We never had an issue finding chairs on the beach with shade. The water sports opened at 9am (hobie cat and paddle board). We recommend they open earlier (7 or 8am) when the water is the calmest.

Normally this is not the rainy season, but as we have experienced in the States, their weather has changed too and it rained everyday around 3pm for a couple of hours. But after a long day on the beach this was the perfect time to take advantage of some of the other activities at the resort (ping pong, pool) and get ready for dinner. Or better yet, sit in the hot tub with a cool drink and make friends while it pours!

The restaurants were great. Staff was friendly and service was overall good. We enjoyed the variety of the buffet at Baysides, but also really enjoyed the other restaurants. While the treats at Cafe de Paris were great, we were very disappointed with the lack of employees working and twice my husband walked out after waiting in line in the mornings.

The bars were great and we met some wonderful people, both guests and staff. We would like to give a HUGE shout-out to Renaldo who introduced himself to us as soon as we approached the bar and called us by name everytime we saw him. He was timely with our drinks (he remembered what we liked without having to ask), always good to chat with and really felt like a friend. There was another bartender who was very friendly as well and I can't remember his first name, but his last name is Christie.

The watersports were great and we really enjoyed the hobie cats, paddle boarding and snorkeling. Never had to wait and the equipment was in good condition. The beach staff was very nice and helpful and we especially enjoyed talking with Ewan....great young man and we wish him the best!

We were approached by several photographers during our trip asking us if we'd like to schedule a photo shoot. We enjoyed speaking with Oneal and asked to schedule something with him. He was a great guy and we recommended him to another couple while we were there.

We didn't mind the shuttle ride back to the airport, but again, highly recommend taking a helicopter to the resort.

Ben and Kristie from PA, USA

Room Tip: The beachfront walkouts are nice because the patios are smaller when they are on a higher floor beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_and_Kristie_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
63.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,373 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing