We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off TERRIBLE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Started off TERRIBLE!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this vacation a year ago when we left Sandals Antigua. Antigua was wonderful!!! Looking forward to Jamaica we leave Detroit....let me say we read on other reviews that it was an hour and a half drive from the airport. We were not told this when we booked and we're told we would be upgraded to a club level room because we were Sandals Select members. We arrive at the airport and proceeded to the Sandals lounge. After a short wait we were escorted out to begin our journey. It was us and another couple that crawled in to a white van that felt and sounded like it was going to fall apart. We began our journey. .. Over the river and through the woods on a curvy very narrow road. The man behind us was super sick as was I. We ask the driver to stop about 45 minutes through the ride and he said he would when he found a safe place. We stopped for about 5 minutes before we continued the same another hour. 1 hour and 45 minutes after we started we arrive at the resort only to encounter our next problem....no room upgrade and a room that is a lot worse than a Fairfield Inn ( at least the Fairfield Inn has free Wi Fi ). Talked to one of the managers ( you will NEVER be able to speak with the General Manager so don't waste your time.
) who told us to give him a few minutes and he would see what he could do. We waited another hour and a half only to be put in th en same room... ( he said they were totally booked and could not do anything for us.) Again ask for the G.M.!!! No luck. This same person said just give him 24 hours to take care of the problem..He would call us back...that was June 14 and still haven't heard from him or the GM. My advice is don't let someone at the comeback soon desk book anything for you unless you get every single detail in writing on their stationary.
I cannot hold the I'm sure hourly employees accountable for 3 people's actions. The employee were great. Trace Ann in the "Jerk. Chicken and Pork" hut is wonderful!!!! Kendrick ( a waiter at the Bluefish Grill) was great.... we ate there twice because of his service. My husband talked with someone named Heidi who was also very nice. Food was very good...not great but very good. Pool area very nice. Resort clean.
Would we return...or recommend to a friend...NO.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Sherry,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Whitehouse. I’m so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are known for providing luxury in a friendly and comfortable environment and unfortunately, during your experience, it seems we did not meet those expectations. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We do hope you decided to visit one of our other lovely properties, as we would like the opportunity to deliver the luxurious Sandals experience on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,578
    1,535
    504
    184
    97
See reviews for
183
5,616
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was our first visit and the staff went out of their was to make sure we were taken care of. Staff was friendly with great attitudes. The resort was clean and there was plenty of activity to keep everyone satisfied. We are already planning our return trip. Hats off to all. Great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just returned from our sixth visit to SWH June 17 to 24th and tenth Sandals visit. The resort is beautiful with well maintained grounds. We remember when many of the trees and shrubs were small and with time are tall and stunning.

We also remember when we could walk all the way along the beach, even as recently as last June. We were shocked at the change in the beach that way. One guest described the beach as dirty. It is still immaculate and raked every day. However with the erosion many of the trees' roots are exposed and they will likely die in time as the sand continues to be washed away. Several staff told us though Sandals is trying to figure out how to resolve this problem.

All the rooms face the ocean, some have better views than others depending on the level of room you choose to book. We were fortunate to again be in the Dutch village, room 2304. Our housekeeper Maureen did a great job in cleaning our room early in the morning, just like last year, and Mary who completed turn down service every night was thoughtful as she realized we went to bed reasonably early. Thanks Krystal for taking care of us even though you are now at Beaches Negril!

We ate at every restaurant except Eleanor's. All the meals were good although we would prefer that Bayside return to its original menu (international and not French). Lorna at Bayside made my husband great sandwiches at lunch and kudos to Tameisha for such great granola at breakfast. I am going to try the recipe.

Denese at the Cafe de Paris is so welcoming. What a great memory for faces! Years ago she brought us some raw sugar cane from home to try. Thank you Denese for the special table and flowers you set at Guiseppe's for us. You are a pleasure to deal with and asset to SWH.

Giuseppe's is probably one of favourite places. The hostess, Synovia, was very friendly and after Denese set a special table one night and we returned another Synovia surprised us with flowers on our table when we went it the antipasto bar. Theadra and Ranneil are both great servers at this restaurant.

There were probably only two things that struck us as being negative during our stay. The Dutch pool was NOT maintained by the water sports person responsible for the area. Moving Rayon who was previously responsible for the Dutch area to the water sports area was not a good move. He took pride in keeping that area spotless. The other area we thought was lacking was the entertainment. It needs it be improved and earlier. The piped music was disappointing

If you are travelling to SWH remember it's the staff that have made this place a success

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LCandBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were married at Sandals Whitehouse on June 16. We booked our trip to Sandals Whitehouse through Nikki at Beach Bums. Our trip started out amazing thanks to the first class nonstop flight. Navigating the Jamaica airport was a lot nicer than Cancun. Nikki made sure we were checked in our hotel, which made that easier, too. We had a resort credit so we upgraded our room, didn’t see how it was worth the $600 extra. Thanks to Noah our wedding was a breeze and Ricardo made the picture taking fun. I was disappointed in the beach too rocky and weedy. The ocean was not the blue we expected. The resort had all but one restaurant all together in the main area. The restaurant at the end did not serve breakfast. So if you are at the far end you are a mile away from breakfast that was disappointing. The food was good but not outstanding. If you sat at the main pool during the day sometimes the games got a little annoying, felt like I was on a cruise ship. Overall the resort is very nice, it is very well kept. Next time we will try somewhere different but would defiantly go through Nikki at Beach bums again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Italian village if you want to be close to the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's a beautiful place and the grounds are kept immaculate.
The food is good but we have had better at other Sandals resorts.
The staff were all excellent and nothing is too much bother for them - particular mention to three of them - Michelle from the concierge, Lucille from the restaurants and Sharmone from the Neptune bar.
It's nice but it lacks a "heart" - what I mean is a central bar where people meet at lunchtime and pre dinner - I felt exactly the same when we went to St Lucia.
Antigua remains our favourite Sandals - but we'll see what Barbados is like in March 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France Lynch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we booked the sandals resort for one weeks stay in May 2014 for a very special occasion which we had saved up for over a year for this special holiday. Unfortunately they really need to address the attitude of there manager and front desk staff. Being an Englishman I don't rant and rave and it's seems they only respond to people who make a scene and should loud enough. we had informed them of our special occasion months before we had even travelled and HAD filled in an online booking in form 7 days before we travelled to speed up our checking in process - what a load of rubbish that was, having endured a 9 hour flight, followed by 2 hours back breaking journey via unmade roads to get to the resort late afternoon I informed them I had checked online as instructed 7days previously only to be rudely told NO you have to fill in this form, when I questioned this saying already done this, the guy was very rude and said I must of been mistaken!
In other words fill it in or stay somewhere else! The resort is lovely and the down to earth bar & restaurant staff are great, piano bar fantastic including the lovely bar staff there. But seriously the front desk staff really need to change there attitude to paid customers. On the day before we were due to leave news got around about the locals barracking the road access to the whitehouse to stop anyone going in or coming out of the resort which meant we couldn't get out on our planned trip which was very annoying and quite frightening at times to think that the locals are that angry with sandals, the police turned up and then were later sitting in the restaurant at the resort eating dinner! I think sandals should help sort out the problems with these roads and it should also be mentioned in there brochure that you have to endure this very bumpy and uncomfortable 2 hours journey from the airport. Finally we celebrated our special occasion, unnoticed and unresponsive to sandals, who opening say in there brochures "celebrating a special occasion" let us know! Other couples we met had been given a bottle of cava which would of been a nice gesture.
Finally, Asked to speak to manager before we left to go home he wasn't available or wouldn't show his face, let the other staff take the flack. I did put in a complaint to sandals when I got back home only before they sent me a feedback form, and I'm still waiting for a reply 6 weeks later from the manager of the whitehouse resort.......which leaves a bad taste in mouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our second time to Sandals Whitehouse. We travelled from April 3-10. It had been five years since our last visit and it was even better this time. We had the Honeymoon Beachfront One Bedroom Butler Suite. We started our trip with Sandals sending a private car for our pick up. It was a lovely drive to the resort...certainly different than on a bus. When we got to our suite in the living room there was a birthday welcome for my husband with cake, champagne and cheese and crackers. The bedroom was decorated and there was a bubble bath waiting. Everyday our beach chairs were waiting for us and our butler had a cooler with champagne on the beach. All of the restaurants were very good and we especially enjoyed Eleanor's for breakfast. Everyday there felt like paradise and we would definitely recommend Sandals Whitehouse. This is our favourite Sandals resort and we will return again.

Room Tip: The Dutch and Italian Villages have the best suites and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
63.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,281 reviews
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,374 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing