We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love Sandals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been to three Sandals so far and have not be disappointed once. Our stays include the Royal Bahamian, Grande Riviera, and Sandals Whitehouse. They each had things we loved about them. Our last visit was to Whitehouse in January. The ride to get there was a bit of an adventure to say the least. Yikes, those roads thru the mountains really need some work. Once we arrived, we were taken the concierge check in. The staff was very pleasant. We were so impressed with them especially Anna. Thanks for everything. We stayed for a week except because of weather we arrived a day late. The concierge staff worked with us and offered us an extra day on the end of our trip. The airlines however didn't work with us. Luckily we had trip insurance and received the cost of the day that we missed back. I highly recommend the insurance especially if you are traveling in the winter as we were. All the rooms here are oceanfront. The views are spectacular. I loved our balcony. Not only was the oceanfront view beautiful, but the walk up to our room was beautiful. I marveled every day as we turned the corner to our building and the mountain scenery came into view. Beautiful! We stayed in the Dutch Village and it was perfect for us. Quiet to relax and read. The restaurants were great. We loved the European bakery with all its treats especially the crepes. The entertainment was enjoyable. The gym had all the equipment we needed for a daily work out. The staff was wonderful. So many just walking by would ask us if we were enjoying our trip. At the end as we were leaving, they even serenaded us as we got on the bus. Wow! We look forward to our next Sandals trip this year to Negril, but we would definitely come back here anytime. I just keep telling my husband that I'm not going to know which Sandals I like best until we have tried them all, and that I intend to do. ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stacey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Stacey,
Thank you for your spirited review and we are of course all about the love!! It's all you need when staying with us and we are so happy that had a fantastic time exploring Sandals Whitehouse on your most recent trip. It's wonderful to hear that our staff made sure that your all your needs were met and that your expectation were exceeded. We cannot wait to welcome you back to one of our other lovely properties and create more wonderful memories with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,758 - 2,764 of 7,262 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I came to the Whitehouse resort for our honeymoon and at first we were annoyed. They gave us a room that was not cleaned, did not have room service, forgot to give us our room key, and others. When we called the front desk to ask for our room key and about room service they were very attentive. They allowed us to order room service for dinner and delivered us a room key. The pools are fantastic and the greenery is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly. We arrived the second night with another breakfast in bed option and personal hand-written notes to express their apologies. Overall, they tried hard to make up for the inconvenience and were extremely pleasant. The last night champagne was delivered to our room without request. The restaurants were fantastic as well; we have no complaints. Although, August is rainy season and after pool time in the morning it did rain.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbm5090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Whitehouse.
We are sorry to hear that their was some challenges during the start of your stay but we are pleased that our staff was able to quickly resolve the issues once notified. They listened to your feedback, addressed your concerns and was able to show you the excellent service for which we are known. We always want our guests to know that if we do not exceed your expectations with us, we certainly do our best to make things right after. We hope you will return soon so that we may deliver a truly 5-star experience from beginning to end!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This resort is gorgeous! We had a beautiful vacation in Sandals, Whitehouse, Jamaica. We stayed in a room with a beach view, much quieter than by the pools. The food was absolutely delicious, everything from Jamaica national meals to lobster and filet mignon. The drinks where top shelf and quite yummy, and all the bartenders are super friendly, as is all the staff at Whitehouse! There are some fun things to do in the evening, as well as a glass bottom boat ride and/or catamaran "cruise" during the day which is included. They have some nice extras for couples if you want to pay for them, ie. couples massages, butler service and snorkeling. You can also have a van take you to eat at the two other resorts on the island in Ocho Rios and Negril.
They have it all here if you are celebrating an anniversary or getting married here too. We will definitely be returning to Sandals, Whitehouse in the near future!!
The one drawback is the ride from the airport to the resort is 90 minutes on a road with potholes the size of craters, but the driver of our van knew how to maneuver around them very well.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are in the "Dutch" area which face the quiet pool...less noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review, Patricia!
What a wonderful time you had and we are grateful that you took the time to share your experience at Sandals Whitehouse with us along with the memories that made this stay so special. Your photos of the resort were fantastic! We also noted your concern about the roads and we are happy to inform you that the government is currently repaving those roadways so your next trip will be much smoother. We hope we can welcome you back to paradise soon for an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A few years ago we went to Sandals Whitehouse for the Easter weekend and were blown away by the service, accommodations and the entire resort. Is was romantic, with the staff bending over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.....the pools were fabulous, and the café near the largest pool was where we could indulge our need for European coffees and treats. We have since been to tow other Sandals and love the chain....but Whitehouse is the absolute best.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad choice at this location. We called their travel booking staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loriberketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place was amazing! Rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed four days here to attend a wedding and had a great time. I like that you can walk to different areas on the property (everything not just crammed in one spot like I have heard of other resorts that are much smaller). Different restaurants and bars to choose from, shows, and water activities. I would definitely recommend this all inclusive resort; it was so nice to not have to worry about anything as we vacationed. Do expect a 1.5 to 2 hour bus drive to this resort but you can stop along the way. There is a helicopter option which would be awesome but I didn't have the extra cash to burn; maybe next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dya653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sandals Whitehouse will not disappoint. We went there for our honeymoon, and it was absolutely gorgeous. You feel like you're in paradise. EVERY room is a beach-front room. The beach is huge and gorgeous. Some things I wish I would have known going into it... Jamaica is a poor nation. Be prepared to witness some slum-like areas on your drive in from the airport. It may be shocking if you don't mentally prepare. Take the time to talk to some of the Jamaican workers at the resort. It is interesting to learn about the Jamaican culture first-hand. Budget for the excursions! We ended up spending an extra $700 on excursions. We loved seeing the YS Falls and doing the Appleton Rum tour. We also went on the Negril excursion. The Negril area is very touristy and a little run-down. We didn't love it. If anything, we just appreciated Whitehouse even more. That being said, we did love Rick's Cafe. After seeing the Negril Sandals, it was clear to us that we made the right decision going to Whitehouse. Whitehouse is about 50x nicer, bigger, more luxurious, newer, etc. The beach was very narrow and the surrounding areas were over-run with tourists and honestly a little scary. You will not regret choosing Whitehouse. Also, to any other honeymooners or younger couples, be warned: you may feel like you are in the minority. There were a lot of middle-aged couples and retirees. But it honestly was not a problem. Everyone was nice. We had a blast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JG780806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I really don't know where to start. I was a little skeptical of an all inclusive but if you're wondering. This is the best decision and investment I've ever made. Every employee makes you feel like they are happy you are there. The entertainment department staff were our favorite aspect. Playing games, hosting events, to just hanging out, they made you feel so welcomed. I don't know where these other people ate, but our food was fabulous. I have an allergy and they went above and beyond to make sure I didn't get sick. This place is completely secluded so if you want to stay away from the city, this place is perfect. The nightly entertainment was pretty good. All except the Sunday night group... Not the best. But it is their off season. Saturday night group is phenomenal. Amazing. We cannot say enough good things about this place. We're starting to save now to go back, it's ruined us for anyplace else!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
30.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,683 reviews
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,581 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: £358 - £1,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing