We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ignore the negatives”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This is a short review initially and will be followed up with a longer more comprehensive review in a few weeks.
My wife and I are both senior professionals in our early 30's who live a very hectic at home and our holidays are extremely important to give some balance to our lives. We have travelled extensively and frequently stay at 5* resorts around the globe.
To this effect i cannot understand the negative reviews to this wonderful resort. All I can attribute this too is a simple lack of intelligence and the fact that some people just like to moan.
Let me get this straight:
There is not a 2 mile walk from the french resort to the Restaurants
During our stay the longest wait we heard of was 1 hour - and guess what - if you go on day 1 and you have an hour wait - then engage the greay matter and put your name down the next day an hour earlier - this really is not rocket science.
If you want to ber able to book your restaurant then pay extra and go concierge - Everyone is made aware of the set up prior to arriving - so if this matters to you PAY THE EXTRA - do not wait until you arrive and then spend the entire time complaining and kicking upa fuss- being rude to the staff - whilst this is amusing for the rst of us - it really is unnecessary. This point is especially pertinant to our cousins from across the pond - who harkon about capitalism but seem to actually prfer a communist environment where everyone is equal regardless of how much they have paid. To rectify this simply put your hands in your pocket before arriving or better still listen to the travel agent when she is explaining matters.
My wife and i thought the food was of anexcellent quality - especially at Elanoars and the asian restaurant - really top drawer. Portions were small,but you could order asmuch as you liked - so double up if there is not enough.
The beach is simply breath taking - beautiful - and this is an incredibly relaxing and romantic resort. I hadnoproblemgetting reservations each night as I paid for a consierge room - and I used to request a table by the entrance each night so I could enjoy the nightly entertainment of watching the brainless herd attempt to argue and rude their way into restaurants each night - this really was great fun.
People really should learn to chill out - You are paying for a holiday not the right to be rude to the staff

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tim_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,568
    1,529
    504
    184
    97
See reviews for
183
5,601
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The resort was far from the airport but once we got there the accomodations were as expected from a Sandals, this being our 6th trip to a Sandals location. BEWARE ONE OF THE STAFF TOOK OUR CREDIT CARD INFO AND STARTED CHARGING ALL AROUND THE ISLAND. THE ONLY TIME WE HAD OUR CARD OUT WAS FOR THEM TO TAKE AN IMPRINT AT CHECK IN.
Aside from this serious issue we had a nice time. The resort is off the beaten path so anywere you want to go off property is a long bus ride, 1 hour plus. The food was fair and the entertainment was far below what we have come to expect from Sandals. For a resort this size they only had 5 sailboats and 5 kayaks for us to use, there was often a waiting list. All told this was not our best Sandals experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GenCHAOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The place is great. long beachfront, open gardens, very very quiet, and beautiful. Only resort in area. Beach is not shared with other resorts yet. No outside vendors at the beach. Great Pastry/Cake/Ice Cream parlor that other Sandals do not have. Restaurants have a "no-reservations" system. If you do not arrive at opening time, be ready to wait long times. At the Tex-Mex restaurant ordered a burrito and received fried burrito (Chimichanga), menu entry never specified it was fried. At the gourmet restaurant got poisoned by eating a gummy (overcooked) lobster, wasting me two resort days. Nurse service and support was great!. Buffet lunch and breakfast restaurant is very good. Restaurant Meal menus do no offer many light fare options. Staff is not responsive as in other Sandals Resorts. Room Service breakfast menu does not include any hot food. Room Service take a long while and forget ordered items. Concierge service does not have the expected "make it happen" attitude, giving excuses and stalling for you to give up on them. Internet access services are charged (must be free as in other lower-cost chains). This hotel needs a restaurant services, concierge and room service overhaul. I would return, but Resort needs to improve service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Sandals is renowned for their 'couples only' resorts so I'd expect anyone going there is looking for some quality time with their 'significant other'. Let me say that Sandals Whitehouse definitely delivers.
Guests can lounge around the pool, spend time on/in the water or take quiet walks along the miles of white sandy beaches. There are also several excursions available for the more 'active' vacationer.
Each of the restaurants has it's own unique charm and both the variety and quality of the food are excellent. We especially enjoyed the meals we had at Guiseppe's (Italian) and Jasmine's (Asian).
The Red Lane Spa provides excellent treatments, and we found the resort shopping to be very reasonably priced.
The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. Whatever you might need they are only a phone call away.
One possible negative about the location is the drive from Montego Bay (approx. 90 mins) but the transportation was very comfortable and provides the opportunity to see some of the Jamaican countryside. Our driver on the return trip (Mel) was very informative and the trip passed quickly.
We can't imagine any couple not enjoying a vacation at Sandals Whitehouse and we look forward to returning (after we check out their other locations...lol)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmerTemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I traveled to Whitehouse from March 7-14th with my boyfriend and had an amazing week. We are pretty laid back, and so waiting 30 minutes for a table, while outside at the cafe sipping wine or an espresso and listening to a band or violinist didn't bother us in the least bit. We only waited one night for an hour for a table at Eleanor's (during peak dining time, about 7:30-8pm). Eleanor's and Jasmine's seemed to have the longest wait times judging by the people we talked to. Also, definitely check out the midnight chocolate buffet, especially the white chocolate bread, yum! The food lived up to our standards, and we travel to all inclusives quite a bit. It seems to me that you would have to live a pretty extravagant and pampered life to be unhappy with the cuisine and service, to me. Also, check out Eleanor's for breakfast some morning--particularly on Saturday mornings when most people are busy checking out and packing up. it was quiet, the food was amazing, and the service, first class... Also, do the private beach dinner ($160.00)...definitely worth it

Try the water sports--especially the glass bottom boat and the sailing lessons (free). The snorkeling was ok---but it is free as well, so not much to complain about there... Also, look in the weedy portion of the water for starfish. They are alive, so don't keep them out of the water for more than 5 minutes, but they are neat to examine.

We did the excursion to Dunn's River Falls which was neat, but a very long drive over questionable terrain to get there makes it hard for me to recommend this excursion (4 hour drive each way, don't believe then when they tell you it is only 2 1/2 hours away)!!

the one negative that I can see is that we didn't realize the class differences between normal guests, concierge, and butler. Otherwise, we may have upgraded our room level, even though the room itself was more than adequate (French side, luxury beachfront w/patio). Concierge guests enjoy room service and the ability to make reservations, and butler guests get pretty much whatever they want, including reservations made at their request and towels, flowers, etc set out for them by the pool or on the beach. The setup makes for a hierarchical feeling to the place...which would be ok if you are at or near the top, or if it doesn't bother you, just a heads up!!

The entertainment was great, but there is not much of a nightlife, if that is what you're into, this may not be the resort for you.

Everyone was friendly and nice, but I have had more accommodating service elsewhere for less cost.

We reserved lounges with towels every morning at sunrise, so we never had issues with that...plus it is so nice to get up and enjoy a walk on the beach at sunrise, then go back to bed for a bit before heading out to the beach or pool. Like I said, we are easy-going, and if you are as well, this is a great resort with a fantastic beach (and WARM water!!) and I would definitely recommend Whitehouse to anyone who fits this bill.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blondeonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Where do we begin. Our flight into Montego Airport went very smooth. When we arrived we were immediately taken to the Sandals Lounge which was beautiful. We were there for no more than 5 minutes and taken out to our bus. The drive to Sandals Whitehouse was an experience but a "good one". Nigel was our man! Stopped for a quick cold red stripe and back in the bus on our journey. We arrived at Sandals Whitehouse within an hour and a half. The drive was just fine. Entered the gates to Sandals and omg what a beautiful place this is. We were greeted with cold towels and glasses of champagne. The staff at Sandals are so friendly and wonderful people. Within 5 minutes we were registered and taken to our rooms. We were upgraded to a French Luxury room which was absolutely amazing. The view from the balcony was totally awsome. A beautiful 4 poster king size bed. Every evening our bed was turned down and a towel figurine with rose petals was waiting for us. Full stocked fridge daily. Beautiful pool with swim up bar and wonderful bar tenders..Look for Tyrone! Make sure you try the Dirty Bannana drink, Jamaican Smile and Hummingbird. Seven wonderful restaurants to choose from. You gotta have surf and turf at Eleanor's and make sure Christoper serves you. He is an amazing dancer while he serves. Something happening every evening. Chocolate nite was the best. Gotta visit the Cafe De Paris bakery and coffee shop. Every nite this was our treat. We met so many nice people and had so much fun. This was the best gift our 5 kids could have given to my husband and I. Definately a 25th Anniversary that will never be forgotten. We walked the beach for miles, watched an amazing sunset along with beautiful sunset pictures we brought home with us. Thank you Sandals Whitehouse for this Amazing Vacation. We would reccomend this place to anyone. You may read previous reviews about poor service. This is not so. We must remember that we are in Jamaica mon and it's a slower laid back pace of life. The food is #1 and it's well worth the wait!!! WOULD WE RETURN? YOU BET! IN A HEARTBEAT!!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2DorksOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I have traveled to many 5+ star resorts and have traveled internationally for more than 20 year and this was a complete waste of money. We went based on the reviews, and we are now convinced that people were paid to write positive reviews. Don't kid yourselves, this hotel is being affected by the recession just like everyone else. We were told that when it rained a number of people were flooded out of their room. Our friends had to change rooms 3 times. And unless you like to eat dinner at 5:30 every night, you can expect to either be denied at the restaurants or wait 1 to 2 hours for an all inclusive. The food is mediocre at best. I will never go back to another Sandals resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenmorrisChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
63.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,364 reviews
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing