We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from our nieces wedding at the super Celtic Ross Hotel. The position on the bay is superb and if you can get a room at the front, you will be able to make the most of it. From when we arrived, without our luggage, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They got us all the essential toiletries and chased up our lost luggage with Aer Lingus until it was delivered safely to the hotel. The wedding ceremony itself, overlooking the sea and the reception were wonderful. Delicious homemade, local food with melt in the mouth sirloin steak and a dessert platter made for a memorable reception, with impeccable service. We have stayed here several times now, so whether it's a family holiday, special birthday celebration or a wonderful wedding venue, we can't recommend the Celtic Ross highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel enjoy wonderful views across the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrissieC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    206
    72
    33
    13
See reviews for
235
258
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Taking advantage of €50 Friday, four girlfriends and I had a great night at The Celtic Ross last weekend. Relaxing and unfussy with a good standard of rooms. The food was extremely good, the lovely Una who served us made our night. Beautiful walks around the hotel. Thanks, we'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BlondeAndBald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here last summer for a wedding. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The food we were served was lovely and the hotel staff had made a real effort to make the wedding day as successful as possible. The only downside is that the room we stayed in was quite dated, however it was very clean and comfortable. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay. I would have no problem returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingston_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Was at a wedding here recently, and I would highly recommend this hotel! The staff are always available and quick with your requests. Theresa, the wedding planner is amazing! She handled everything and anything that needed to be sorted out. I honestly can't praise her enough!!!

The food portions are huge, and well priced. The hotel is warm and friendly. My only complaint would be the breakfast we had delivered to our room the following morning. We knew the morning after the wedding would be a tiring one, so like at most hotels, we took the option to have our breakfast delivered to our room. What a disappointment. We selected the scrambled egg and bacon, and the fried egg breakfast. I requested extra bacon. What we received was one plate with two pieces of bacon and scrambled egg. On the other plate was one fried egg, one sausage, two pieces of bacon and one white and black pudding and a tomato. The toast felt as though it had been left out over night. It was soft and barely edible.

The following morning, we went down for breakfast and couldn't believe the difference! It was a buffet like most hotel breakfasts but the selection was endless. There was fruit and yogurt as well as nuts, rolls, mushrooms, cooked porridge and then the usual bacon, eggs FRESH toast, and sausages etc. And we could take as many as we liked. I couldn't believe the difference. We paid just under a fiver each to have the food delivered to our rooms, and it was horrible.

The advice I would give is, allow the patrons to choose what they would like for breakfast and let them give the option of how many toast, bacon sausage etc they would like as well as giving them the option to have yogurt and fruit and rolls as well for room service. I get that option at most hotels. I'll be honest in saying that this is the one thing that would put me off from staying there again. We normally do room service, especially when we have the kids, but if that doesn't improve I don't think we'd stay there again in a hurry. Other than that small issue, this hotel is an ideal place to go for a break and the staff, food (when it's not room service) and service is exceptional!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluffGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The extremely friendly and helpful staff supplement the spacious rooms, clean environment, nice bar with food, excellent breakfast and swimming pool (which made our 1-year olds weekend!).

A short stroll from the lovely village and slightly longer (but nice) stroll to the beach.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mlane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I was bridesmaid for a friends wedding in the Celtic Ross Hotel recently and my epxerience was so good that I wanted to share. I have been to many weddings at this stage and I was so impressed by the staff, the organisation, the food and the hotel as a whole.Teresa, the wedding coordinator made everything so easy for the bride as the day just flowed. The staff could not have been more helpful and always willing to do anything for you. There was even a pool and sauna to chill out in the next day after it all - the kids who stayed in the hotel loved it! I couldn't recommend the Celtic Ross enough if you are a bride to be. I'll be back for a weekend break to get away from it all soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphnelevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Perfect hotel for families. I can't praise the staff highly enough. They were brill with the kids. Food ab delicious and our kids loved theirs too. Empty plates allround. Beautiful location. Fine sized rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids. Lovely pool.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natashalynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
461 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
245 reviews
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,127 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Property: Celtic Ross Hotel
Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing