We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good roadhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wayford Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wayford Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stalham
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good roadhouse”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

A very popular roadhouse type Inn offering good service and good food but decor becoming dated. Reports of dirt and mould are correct but are hard to find. The hotel has had a coat of paint but still lives in the 90's relying on reputation. Little things as it has been reprinted but not carefully so over painting of switches, pictures removed and screws overpainted but not removed and pictures not replaced makes it look tired in part. We arrived for a meal without booking but though told they were full, they still found a table in the bar and were very accommodating. Food was good with nice specials which made up for the tired decor,
A good revamp would get that 5 star rating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    154
    71
    38
    24
See reviews for
82
245
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked in for a meal (not to stay) and had to wait over an hour for our starters, which were disappointing. The main courses were then a further 45 minutes, and again not great. The restaurant wasn't busy at the time either, and the only saving grace was that the manager offered not to charge us for the meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

we stayed here for one night early in August mid-week. Our room was small and being on the ground floor with cars parked outside the window the ventilation was extremely limited! We had an evening meal but found the portion of fish & chips which one of us had was very poor for the price.
The worst thing was being awoken at 01:20 am by noisy residents outside our room. They seemed to be having some sort of altercation.
We had an early start and the best thing of our stay was a delicious breakfast served by very friendly staff.
The next night we slept in our family's tent and had a much more comfortable time.

Room Tip: request a first floor room. We had asked for a quiet room with a river view but had neither!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for five nights. Arrived quite late and the restaurant was very busy but they still managed to squeeze us in. Our room -15- was was large, very clean and light. the road noise did not bother us and we kept windows open all night as it was very hot. The bathroom was a bit dated but the shower was very powerful. No bath but this was not a problem for us. The staff were delightful and the food very good. We ate at the restaurant the first two nights and it was extremely busy. The meals were also a bit too large! It was very nice to have waitress service breakfast so everything was freshly cooked.

My only complaint is that the hotel advertises that there is free wifi in all rooms. In fact it is only in the lounge and reception areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was a busy Thursday and boy was it. There was a lot of people in and around the restaurant so we were told there a bit of a wait. We ordered our drinks and had to wait a few minutes before our food was taken but the buzz around the place was great. Our waitress came over to say there was a delay in the kitchen and to apologise for it. To be honest there were quite a few people not happy about the news they were getting and maybe I was not to bothered due to the fact I worked my way through University in pubs so I understood. As other people were starting to get impatient an American chap started to come around and speak to all the tables and again apologise, no matter what the guests were saying he seemed to stay happy as he was when we came in. Its like nothing could break his spirit. Over all the food came out and was DELICIOUS the service AMAZING! I would recommend anyone make a stop by this place if you are ever in the broads its well worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having stayed a few days in stalham and been out a few times we drove pass this place and decided to try this one evening. Must say that the food was very good and the service was good too. Parking here wasnt the best as not many places near the main entrance. Will definitely try to go back here before we go home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iandh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We ate here one evening, the setting is lovely and there is plenty of seating outside in a garden, away from the main road and overlooking the river. The food was standard pub fare, which was a bit disappointing - we could have been anywhere in the UK. Service was polite but slow, for average food and slow service prices were a bit steep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalham
5.1 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
255 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
783 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayford Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayford Bridge Inn

Property: Wayford Bridge Inn
Address: Nr Stalham, Stalham NR12 9LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Stalham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stalham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayford Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated award winning riverside 3* Hotel all roms ensuite, situated in the Norfolk Broads midway between Norwich and Gt Yarmouth. Accommodation on ground floor and first floor levels with disabled facilities. Most rooms riverfacing. Choice of dining in two restaurants or relaxing in our comfortable Lounge Bar with its river facing patio and garden setting. Ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wayford Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayford Bridge Hotel Stalham
Wayford Bridge Norwich
Wayford Bridge Inn Stalham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing