We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but some disappointments”
Review of Wayford Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wayford Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stalham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our third stay. We've also eaten in the bar when staying on a boat that we moored there. We booked via Groupon again. When I rang to book there was little availability, even though I paid extra for weekend dates. It looked as if I would have to seek a refund for the voucher. However, as it turned out, we managed to get time off work and go the following weekend, which turned out to be the best weather.

I had argued on the phone about having the 3 course evening meal on the second night of our stay, though once there it wasn't a problem at all. We had a cream tea after arrival as that was the only option still available on Groupon. It was OK but to be honest we wouldn't have bothered and it wasn't that good value.

The room was fine, and it was one we'd been in before, though probably the smallest double with little space around the bed. It did have a bath tub with decent shower above, though water temperature was unstable. The room and inn were clean enough and the staff always seemed busy. I love the view across the river and it's worth getting a room that side of the inn.

Our bar meals the first night were a bit disappointing. My scampi was bland and my wife's cheese salad poor. The cheese came in huge lumps and the leaves had been drowned in dressing. Still, the Woodfordes Wherry was very drinkable!

Breakfast was nice enough with good choices, though service was slow at times.

The room walls were very thin and you could hear other people in their rooms, especially some very noisy kids. The same kids were asleep under a blanket on a sofa in the guests lounge later with the lights off. Cute enough but a bit inconsiderate for other guests and stopped us watching the big TV there.

The 3 course dinner was nice enough, especially as they allowed us to have the excellent Camembert and Sea Bass off the specials board.

Overall it was good, though less value since they've finished doing the place up. We'd go back, but would probably chose another place down the road at Sutton Staithe given the option.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked into the Wayford Bridge Inn on the spur of the moment. We have driven past the place many times but this was our first experience of actually staying there. We managed to secure the last available double room, which was on the corner of the building nearest the road. Notwithstanding the unpromising location of the room, we found it comfortable, well-equipped and did not suffer from excessive traffic noise.

Having seen the menu, we abandoned plans to go out and booked an evening meal in the restaurant. The food lived up to expectations and the atmosphere pleasant. After a very good dinner we retired to bed and spent a comfortable night. We almost missed breakfast through oversleeping, but managed to get there in time. I'm glad we did because it was as good as dinner.

Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and helpful and the service was very good. We will be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller130853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Warm friendly welcome, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, though overbath shower needs to be updated. Food is great with a very good and varied menu both for our evening meals and breakfast. Toilet seat broke and replaced immediately with no fuss whatsoever. By the river and a great location for the Broads and good access to other areas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdandnjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have a boat in the nearby boatyard so perfect when it.s too cold to sleep on the boat or we need to check on it. Excellent staff really good food and clean comfortable rooms. It is a lovely place to stay close to Wroxham and the rest of the Broads. Lovely position overlooking the river. Very reasonably priced,

Room Tip: Try not get a room overlooking the road . Bit noisy ain peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddybear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My family came up and stayed here for a week. They absolutely loved every minute. The staff were friendly, the rooms were nice and the setting was lovely right on the river. They came with dogs too which is nice having a dog friendly hotel. I joined them for food. The food is incredible. I can't 2 valentines ago and the food was terrible but its really gone upmarket. A famous chef has some involvement now (Marco de luco?!) but the menu is amazing. I had cod loin on lemon mash with pesto, it was Devine. Like eating heaven!!! Another night had chilli which was lovely too. Really nice seating area for when you've finished your meal and an open log fire too! For an extra bit of niceness they have a young Canadian waiter- he is so funny!!!!! I laughed so much I hope when you visit he serves you and the hotel give him a pay rise and a half as he is definitely bringing the customers back!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is nicely situated near the River Ant with good access to Norwich and Wroxham. All of the staff are friendly and helpful and we could not fault the service. The evening meals we had during our weekend stay were of a good standard and the breakfast was very good (especially the poached eggs!). The bar area has lots of comfy seating and the environment is very relaxed. The hotel room was of a good size, however the only criticism would be that the bathroom did not have anywhere to put toiletries apart from on the actual sink and the shower was very small and again there was nowhere to put your own toiletries (there were some supplied by the hotel affixed to the wall). Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandykstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A short one night stopover while viewing boats locally,i found this place excellent for a short visit.We booked 2 double rooms.the place was cosy with excellent young staff.The American barman was fantastic,knowledgable about the wines on offer and a great conversationalist.it is a standard small hotel with bar,restaurant and rooms with little else on offer,but it is very clean and tidy. Bathroom a little small,no bath and a compact shower but more than acceptable for a night or a week-end away.food was standard fayre for this type of establishment but plenty of choice well prepared,well cooked and presented very well.Full cooked breakfast was very good,but the continental and cold choice could have been better.One final comment is to say what fantastic value for money we got on the rooms,all round a excellent little place.

Room Tip: if you have anyone with mobility problems the ground floor rooms are excellent,with a slope up to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalham
8.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
225 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
368 reviews
5.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
949 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayford Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayford Bridge Inn

Address: Nr Stalham, Stalham NR12 9LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Stalham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stalham
Price Range: £62 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayford Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated award winning riverside 3* Hotel all roms ensuite, situated in the Norfolk Broads midway between Norwich and Gt Yarmouth. Accommodation on ground floor and first floor levels with disabled facilities. Most rooms riverfacing. Choice of dining in two restaurants or relaxing in our comfortable Lounge Bar with its river facing patio and garden setting. Ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wayford Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayford Bridge Hotel Stalham
Wayford Bridge Norwich
Wayford Bridge Inn Stalham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing