We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in superb setting”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Lake to cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lake to cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
View from Lake to cottage
Kitchen
Dining
Lakeside walk
Sea Palling Beach
cromer beach
cromer pier
Norwich Cathedral
Norwich Streets
Norwich River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stalham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: As non smokers we did notice the smell of smoke throughout the cottage but it was clearly stated on property details that smoking was permitted inside the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2013
Hi Colin

Thank you so much for your lovely response I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and hope to see you again.

Regards Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anita W
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to have a relaxing holiday, Swallowtail is the place to go”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This lovely ( clean ) cottage is set in the most beautiful location, the view of the lake from the living room is breathtaking. There are plenty of places near by to visit and you are only a couple of miles from the amazing coastline. I highly recommend this cottage. Also the owners John and Julie make you feel really welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Thank you so much Elaine for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and hope to see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMSC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place - shame about the smoke smell”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This place has a lot going for it. It's a nice, clean property; it has nice grounds and is well located - with a lot of attractions for families within a 45 minute drive. Unfortunately it has a very strong smell of stale smoke throughout. It really undermined the house for us. Our clothes smelled of smoke when we were out for the day and it was striking every time we returned. It is mentioned in the advert that smokers are welcome, but you should know that they clearly take up the offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The smell
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy your holiday. We do say in the advert that the cottage allows smoking. The cottage was thoroughly cleaned the morning of your arrival. We also use plug in air freshners, we like to cater for everyone and this does include smokers. We have never received any complaints on the smell of the cottage indeed if you read other comments they all say how clean the cottage is and what an enjoyable stay they had. Sorry again you didn’t enjoy yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$605
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing