We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cook & Barker Inn
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Years Eve.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My son found this Inn for a family meal with 3 children on New year's eve during our break in Northumberland. Although they had bookings in the the restaurant for dinner the bar was still serving and the 7 of us all enjoyed a great meal with good service and very friendly and efficient staff. Prices very fair and food quality excellent. Thanks to the team for making it a place to remember

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    63
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
108
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been coming to The Cook & Barker in a large group of friends for nearly 10 years now. We kick start the Christmas festivities off with a night's stay and a meal in the restaurant. The food/service/rooms etc have varied over the years but having been again last night I have to say the the Cook & Barker has it's mojo back. The pub was warm, extremely friendly and vibrant when we got there yesterday afternoon. The atmosphere was everything you want in a country pub. The rooms look like they are being refurbished - they had become a little tired and dated. Some of our party had the newly refurbished rooms, some didn't, but the stay was still fine and to be honest for the price which is £125 for dinner bed and breakfast - you can't really go wrong. Back down to the bar for pre dinner drinks and then to our table. The restaurant was done out lovely, the table set to a high standard and the food superb. Although we did have a giggle as one of our party (Anth you know it's you) ordered the Lamb Patties as a starter and they were the smallest things, basically like having 5 malteasers on your plate. Very funny to see his face. Apart from that the food was lovely. A great night was had by all and I can definitely recommend this to anyone who fancies a lovely night away, great atmosphere, lovely, helpful staff for such a good price. Booked already for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our way between Newcastle and Edinburgh. We were amazed at the excellent food which was served - fresh, good quality, piping hot and very generous portions. A 2 course lunch was £10 as a Monday special. We have no idea how they make money on that price as the food was delicious. Shredded duck and salmon parcel as starters and then lamb shank and beef & onion pie. We will definitely stop here again and hope others do to!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelandbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I met friends for a drink here, I ordered a couple of malt whiskeys at the bar. The barman, who had an abrupt and unfriendly demeanour, served us our drinks in a tall glass. I asked if we could actually have them in a tumbler and he simply responded "No"! When I asked again he said extremely curtly "No", this time his body language suggested he did not want to be asked again!
This was all very disappointing, not only because we would have enjoyed our, really quite expensive, drink much more in the correct glass but his unhelpful attitude and abruptness made us feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable. You don't expect to be put in a position like this in a country pub, especially not one with a supposed good reputation. If he didn't have the desired glass, he could have just politely said so instead of actually ruining our drink. I could not recommend this pub to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Moon1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we arrived late afternoon to warm welcome and given our keys to our rooms which I have to say were lovely,we changed and went down for the party although it was very busy we were served our drinks without to much delay then to the dining room there was 14 of us for diner,the service was second to none I could not compliment the girls enough a great choice on the menu great beer and wine we had an excellent time.We also had a very nice breakfast great choice with loads of tea coffee and toast we could not have asked for a better end to our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyd3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Invited to a wedding near by and stayed over night. We needed to book in early and phoned to see if this was possible, the lady was very helpful and said it would not be a problem. Our room was a twin, clean, bright and everything was spot on. We needed to book a taxi at 1.15 but unfortunately there wasn't any available. I spoke to Lewis and asked if he knew of any other taxis we could try. He said he would take us there no problem, that is what I call going above and beyond, he really was a knight is shining amour, he is a credit to his employers. The breakfast was very nice, good service with a smile. I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B, and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed whilst on business and hosted a small dinner here.

Food, excellent. Good quality, excellent ingredients, well cooked and very tasty. My party of 9 ate everything and enjoyed it all. Breakfast was from a wide selection and the hot food freshly cooked. I had French Toast and crispy bacon for the first time in years...Yum.

Staff, brilliant. Tried to do everything they could to help with the group and as individuals. Bit of a gripe that at quiet times (in between lunch and evening service), you have to keep dinging the bell on the bar to get service, but not a massive issue.

Rooms, good. They feel a little sanitised. Could do with making a little more homely and relaxing. Everything works as it should and they're well appointed, but it's just TOO functional.

All in all. I would be happy to stay again. It's more than value for money. It's nice that a local business is doing it right!! Well done.

Room Tip: I had a downstairs room. I would think the upstairs would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDavidRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton on the Moor
5.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
11.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#25 of 67 in Alnwick
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cook & Barker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cook & Barker Inn

Property: The Cook & Barker Inn
Address: Nr Felton, Newton on the Moor NE65 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newton on the Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton on the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cook & Barker Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cook & Barker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cook & Barker Hotel Newton On The Moor
The Cook And Barker Inn
The Cook & Barker Inn Newton On The Moor, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing