We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old School
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were a party of five staying for three nights a few days before Christmas. We cannot thank Steve and Yvonne enough for their kindness and hospitality. The accomodation was very clean and cosy. The breakfasts were excellent and more than enough if you wanted. Steve and Yvonne were as much like family as one can be having just met, they could not do enough for us and Steve even offered and gave us a lift to the local Pub when it was raining. The pub is the Cook and Barker and is just five minutes walk from the Old School so it is ideal for an evening out and a meal.
A great place to stay if you want to see some of the best sights in Northumberland.

Room Tip: They are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We brought the snow and cold weather with us from South Yorkshire, but the welcome at The Old School House could not have been warmer. Yvonne and Steve are perfect hosts and cannot do enough to make you feel right at home. The rooms are lovely and breakfast is fantastic. There is also a great pub for evening meals just a few minutes walk away, and the B&B is well-placed to get to lots of different places for day trips with our hosts only too happy to offer recommendations. We had stayed before under different ownership when the B&B had won many awards, but if anything it is even better now. Can't wait to stay again and enjoy Steve and Yvonne's wonderful hospitality in this beautiful part of the world.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njf_sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a relaxing and romantic weekend away; and a weekend escape from the kids. After reading some great reviews on trip advisor we booked up and were not dissapointed. We were greeted with a warm reception, and were offered cake and beverages which we enjoyed outside our bedroom over looking the gardens. I couldn't fault the bedroom it was clean, comfortable and the ensuite was spotless. I felt there was the right balance between being friendly and not intruding on your holiday. We enjoyed a lovely day out at cragside and alnwick and finished off with a sumptuous meal at the 'Cook and Barker' which is just walking distance from the b&b. This B&B is ideally located in the heart of northumberland one of englands true hidden secrets.

Gary and Liz

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary-Higgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a find this delightful small hotel was. The place is situated in beautiful grounds. The rooms newly decorated and breakfast was delicious. This was all topped of by the warmth and hospitality offered by Yvonne and Steve who made you so welcome you just felt at home. We would highly recommend The Old School and will definitely be booking again.

Room Tip: All lovely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msox106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful two night stay at The Old School. From the lovely warm welcome on arrival, to a fond farewell (and promise to return), it was like home from home. Steve and Yvonne are the perfect hosts, friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble! The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was pristine and gleaming! We enjoyed an unexpected bonus of coffee and cake, overlooking the gorgeous garden, on our arrival ( lovely touch, not experienced elsewhere!)
The fresh fruit salad and choice of yoghurts were delightful and the cooked breakfasts were delicious, home sourced and plentiful. I could go on and on about this perfect place, I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay with Steve and Yvonne to anyone, they deserve every success! This won't be our only visit! PERFECT!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Schoolhouse. What a great experience. Steve and Yvonne are perfect hosts - they work really hard to to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic and our room (no. 3) was lovely.
Situated in the heart of beautiful Northumberland, it's ideally placed for both seaside and countryside. Steve and Yvonne should be truly proud of what they have achieved - I can't believe there are better B&B's in the County.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hosts of the The Old School at Newton on the Moor Northumberland, the breakfast and choices were excellent. The coffee was 1st rated ( I personally don't drink tea,but Gerry did), the bedroom were lovely the bed was lovely and comfortable. The gardens were well maintained and there was an area of beauty, hearing all the nightingales, woodpeckers, owls, doves, and occasionally there was small plane preparing to land near by. The b&b is a 5 star rating we feel it should be ten star because Steve & Yvonne r the best & the entertainer "Winston"...... Love Gerry & Gayle

Room Tip: Location is beautiful and well maintain we give it 10 star rating..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton on the Moor
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,164 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cook & Barker Inn
The Cook & Barker Inn
#2 of 2 in Newton on the Moor
211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#1 of 32 in Morpeth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Alnwick, Newton on the Moor NE65 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newton on the Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton on the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Newton On The Moor, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing