We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little peace of heaven in God's county”
Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Little peace of heaven in God's county”
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We love Northumberland and my husband's mum was born in Newcastle upon Tyne so we are often in the region. This is the second 5 star B&B we have tried in the area and it is fantastic and totally deserves the 5 stars. Kath and Malcolm welcomed us as soon as we parked and helped with bags and suitcases. Coffee, biscuits and cake were served in the lounge. We were in room 3 upstairs and it is beautiful with its beams and tactile stone wall. The ensuite shower room is perfect with lovely soft towels of various sizes. the local pub is a short walk for a great evening meal. Alnwick is a short drive away. Breakfasts are great and there is a vast choice. The fresh fruit salad was a favourite. The cooked breakfasts are amazing. Our relatives also stayed here and Kath was able to provide for a gluten free diet. We will definately stay again.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

This B&B is simply lovely. We stayed in room 2 which was very clean and had everything we needed. It even had a emergency tin in the drawer including things we might have forgotten ... cotton wool, tweezers etc. A lovely touch. There was fresh coffee available and chilled bottled water. The breakfasts were lovely and the owners lovely and really helpful. I felt like they would have done anything to make our stay more enjoyable. A village pub serving lovely food was only 200 yards away. It was a perfect base to explore the beautiful north east .. . holy island is only half an hour drive away.
We had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. We had room 2 which was the only room available when we booked. It wasn't huge, but nicely funished, and the window looked out onto the lovely garden, so it felt very private. It was very comfortable and clean and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The best thing about the place was the breakfasts, served in a lovely dining room, there were around 10 choices, including eggs benedict, smoked salmon, full english breakfast, and locally smoked haddock or kippers. Malcolm has obviously had professional training as the dishes were very tasty & beautifully presented.

The other major benefit to staying here is the excellent restaurant around 5 minutes walk away, the Cook & Barker Inn. One of the nicest places I have eaten for a long time. Also had a fantastic meal at the Sanctuary in Alnwick, around 10 minutes walk away. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

I've stayed in a lot of B & B's but this place was amazing.

Kath or Malcolm were incredibly nice and welcoming, we arrived on Friday after a 6 hour car ride to Malcom offering to take our bags inside and Kath standing at the door to welcome us.

Our room was immaculate with modern furnishings - and after offering us tea and biscuits, Malcom left us to our own devices... The hosts are always around if you need them, but certainly don't intrude...

Not only is there fresh fruit, milk (skimmed, semi skimmed AND full fat should you wish) in a small fridge outside your room... there is also a Tassimo machine should you like coffee , lots of brochures about the area and different types of tea in your room - so if you're a herbal tea fan.. don't worry, there are lots of different ones to try!

The shower is brilliant, and the bed is very comfy ... no noise at all from anyone else so you can really get a good nights sleep.

Wait.. more good news! They have Wi-Fi totally free of charge... which was brilliant for us as we both work in IT and could (sad but true) check in with work on our laptops and also check the weather reports for that day.

If you're a pet lover you'll no doubt encounter a very contented cat wandering round (She's not pregnant.. she's just a lady of large proportions so apologies to Kath and Malcom for insulting your lovely cat! ;-))

Already planning to go back - this place deserves all the awards it gets.

  • Liked — The room - so comfy!
  • Disliked — The fact we couldn't stay longer due to work!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford uk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2006

our stay at old school house came courtesy of a treat from friends for a 50th birthday otherwise we would never have come across it...fortunately their judgement, having stayed there before, equalled ours and we were treated to a fantastic two day stay.
The guest house itself is in pristine condition and cannot be faulted, excellent gardens, good parking, welcoming hosts who are available when required but also have an ability to allow their guests to enjoy all the facilities at their own pace.....a beautiful lounge with leather settees and tv, a breakfast room, flagstone floored, a sitting area on the first floor level with a french door opening onto a balcony..weather permitting!..and the three rooms are perfection, all facilties in room including bathrobes..don"t think i"ve EVER been in a guest house that gave me that...also a fridge on the first floor for fresh milk/water or fruit available to guests...no plastic milk cartons here and a good reason to use the bathrobe!..the breakfasts were fully satisfying and had everything the gannet in you could ask for but it was possible to be more specific and order smaller portions, all beautifully presented....all in all the OLD SCHOOL HOUSE has all the attributes you would love to have in your own home and set in a lovely village, NEWTON ON THE MOOR, with a great pub, serving excellent food just a short 5 minute walk down the road, although Malcolm can turn his hand to a great evening meal I am told....finally, what can you say about a place where the cat eagerly awaits your return from your day out by sitting by the gate and rolling onto its back for a tickle?...Sorry but we could not find a fault even if we looked !!
check out the website on --------------------

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton on the Moor
5.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
364 reviews
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cook & Barker Inn
The Cook & Barker Inn
#2 of 2 in Newton on the Moor
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 11 in Warkworth
757 reviews
2.9 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Alnwick, Newton on the Moor NE65 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newton on the Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton on the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Newton On The Moor, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing