We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B”
Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Delighted to recommend The Old School. Rooms were warm, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast delicious and the choice was terrific. Proprietors were very welcoming and friendly. Attention to detail was amazing even down to the torch on the keyring for dark walk back from the local pub!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The Old School is a beautiful B&B and you can see why it has won so many awards including the best B&B in England. The building is a 18th century former school and the views are breath-taking. The owners Kath and Malcolm made us feel so welcome from when we first drove into the driveway. They helped us with bags and tea and coffee was provided in the guest lounge – which was great after a long journey. We felt instantly relaxed and stress free. The rooms are very welcoming and there are lots of extra special touches.

The breakfasts were amazing using really fresh produce. The B&B is well located, there is a very good pub/restaurant just a short stroll through the village. The b&b is also ideally placed for exploring the coastline (Bamburgh castle is really impressive) and Alnwick and other market towns are only a short drive away. Kath and Malcolm know so much about the region. I can’t find fault – this place genuinely deserves the award Best B&B in England !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJOx4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We throughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and have already booked a return visit.The high quality breakfast is delicious and we can recommend the village pub for your evening meals - The Cook & Barker .Kath & Malcolm are very helpful hosts at the Old School and they have created a high standard environment which is very relaxing . The location is ideal for visiting all local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateTandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Peaceful location and within a good distance to coastal and National Park attractions. We were expecting a much grander place given the website which describes it as "distinctive, luxury, 5 star accommodation". Our room was very small and the pine furniture did not exude luxury as we were led to believe. I believe our room (room 2) was the smallest, yet the room rate per night does not take this into consideration. All rooms are priced the same, which we felt was unfair.The bathroom was incredibly compact and in need of some maintenance. There was very little water pressure from the shower and the seal and grouting around the shower was in need of a thorough clean and/or replacement. The paintwork and the entire bathroom was in need of an update. We could not fault the breakfasts at all. More sophisticated than the ordinary B&B fare. However, in general, an establishment claiming to offer luxury accommodation should be immaculate and although it was reasonable, it certainly was not perfect. I would expect "luxury" accommodation to pay greater attention for example to the paintwork, tatty wallpaper and dirty skirting boards. Maybe minor points to some, but it certainly does not meet the definition of "luxury". Also, we were made to feel very aware that we were not welcome even one minute before 4pm. Whilst we understand the owners need for privacy, we didn't feel completely relaxed knowing we were in someone else's home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwichickcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

we have just recently had three nights at the old school we had a warm welcome from kath & malcolm who advised us of the best ways to go from a to b the rooms were lovely & comfy the whole place oozes class inside & out the cook & barker inn a short stroll down the road is also a gem of a pub & lovely food bar meals or restaurant fantastic stay will return i have stayed in five star hotels all over the world and this b&b is right up there with them so book it & go big thanks to kath & malcolm best wishes peter & gloria west yorkshire

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We made the mistake of arriving 20 mins earlier than the official check in of 4 pm. We were met with a most unwelcome and rude welcome from the lady owner who called us intrusive. If we had not paid in advance we would have left. House rules are that guests are not allowed in their rooms between 11am and 4 pm; the gate is locked.
Our room was pleasant but tiny bathroom and cheap furniture. Sour milk in the guest fridge. Stay clear of this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TRAVELLERS029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Comfortable and stylish high-quality guesthouse, well located for visits to Alnwick, Berwick, Bamburgh, Cragside and other places of interest. Attractive garden and sitting area for guests. Wholesome breakfast menu, using locally-sourced food

Location is about 5 miles south of Alnwick and on the edge of the small village of Newton-on-the-Moor. The guesthouse is 10 minutes walk from the Cook & Barker Inn, the village pub, which has real ale, good quality bar meals and an A la Carte Restaurant.
On a 3-night stay we had evening bar meals at the Cook & Barker twice and one meal at Louis Steakhouse in Alnwick town centre. All three meals were very good. After the Old School breakfast you are unlikely to need much food (if any) during the day.
Malcolm and Kath are friendly hosts with helpful tips on places to eat and things to do. Useful information leaflets and booklets are available.

It is hard to find any negatives with this guesthouse. A minor one would be that Room 2 is small but cosy. The ensuite bathroom is a touch cramped. This did not significantly detract from the quality of stay at the Old School.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton on the Moor
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cook & Barker Inn
The Cook & Barker Inn
#2 of 2 in Newton on the Moor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.9 mi away
Birchwood House
Birchwood House
#2 of 30 in Morpeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Alnwick, Newton on the Moor NE65 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newton on the Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton on the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Newton On The Moor, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing