We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.”
Review of Hatton Locks

Hatton Locks
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State of the art locks were built at Hatton to flight off stiff competition from the roads and railways in the 1930's. When the locks were completed bands played and crowds gathered to watch the Duke of Kent arrive by boat and cut the ribbon. Today Hatton Locks is a lovely peaceful location to watch the colourful narrowboats as they move through the flight and if thats too much excitement why not enjoy a picnic or bite to eat in the cafe.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Visited on a whim, and loved the beauty of the place, great for an easy walk along the water and seeing the locks in use. There's a great cafe on sight with plenty of seating. Would love to visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharCharx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    80
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing watching the canal boats going through the locks.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A must to see 21 locks in total. Excellent cafe on the lock side and scrummy food. Sometimes two canal boats going through together. I think you must have to be quite fit to open the 21 lock gates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiggy4147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Exercise”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I park at the free car park adjacent to the bottom lock, off Old Budbrooke Road and walk up the locks to the cafe at the top (2 miles). It is a very pleasant walk and you feel like you have earned the cup of tea at the top. Sitting outside the cafe on a sunny day, watching the boats, is a lovely way to spend some time. The food and drink at the cafe is good value (especially the full English) and good quality. Alternatively, the Hatton Arms is reached by a footpath going across their grounds from the car park. The walk back is down hill, which is the right way round. An alternative walk is from Hatton Station to the cafe. This is shorter and tends to be in the shade.

One note of caution: the car park at the bottom lock is owned by the Canals and Rivers Trust and at one point last year they were locking it at around 4-5pm so if you are going to be later than that best check.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobalong_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good opportunity for a walk and beautiful pictures”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Hatton locks are a series of locks at a very short distance from each other. If you decide to park around the Hatton village and go for a walk along the canal, you will see them aligned to each other. They look nice as they all have the same design and colour scheme. A perk of this location is the wonderful Hatton Arms pub which offers good food and a vast selection of drinks whilst overlooking the locks.

We actually walked from Leamington to Hatton and back. It took two hours each way despite our decent pace. I personally did not enjoy the fact that the path was quite narrow, forcing us to stop to let bikes and joggers pass us. The path was made of dirt which was flying around on the sunny day of our walk, and we got some all over our shoes and pants. The final downside is that being a popular walk, many dogs leave traces which are not picked up. It ends up stinking up the area around which is not pleasant.

I would still recommend this walk, as there are a few wildlife to see (the ducks were not shy at all). It also is a lovely path for bicyclists and runners. I would however like to warn people that around the locks there are a few 'steep' sections of a dozen feet each, which may be a bit of an obstacle for some, and also there are not a lot of benches / toilets if you are making your way from Leamington or Warwick.

Other than that, parking at Hatton is not free, but quite affordable, and there are a couple of places where to sit and have a drink or some food. I will definitely go there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hatton Locks canal walk”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A lovely way to spend a couple of hours. Easy walking along the towpath and as others have said, cheap car parking and a nice little cafe. On a sunny day, what more can you ask for - highly recommended / Don't miss Hatton country world just around the corner with outlet shops and a 'hands on' farm. (see http://www.hattonworld.com/)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Readybrek7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hatton Locks also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hatton Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing