We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“How we Enjoyed our stay at the Common Room...”
other travellers have booked this property
House of Gryffindor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House of Gryffindor
View from cottage at night Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
House of Gryffindor
View from cottage at night
Bedroom
Bathroom
View from the terrace
Kitchen
Lounge
view from the layout gate
circular bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Yercaud, Salem District, Tamil Nadu

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vinomashw...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“How we Enjoyed our stay at the Common Room Gryffindor Tower”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

One word to define - Awesome

As a Potterhead myself and my wife were excited to see the cottage name in the Internet even before booking it. When we went there we were not disappointed. We thought they named it just to attract tourists. But after getting in we were amazed to see the Gryffindor's symbol on each door. We felt like being in the gryffindor common room.

For non Potterheads:
The stay was very comfortable, The view from the top of the cottage was amazing. I would rate this view second to the the view from sterling resorts in Yercard. For the price that they charge, this is a very good deal. Kitchen was clean and had required utensils.

We must have a CAR to stay in this cottage since its a bit interior and walk in the night may bring nightmares to children and if you compare it to forbidden forest then it wont be a problem ;-)

Must stay for potterheads. Sure I will book it once more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View from the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arun_minn...
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little cottage to spend a few days”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is nice and clean which is a plus. It is well located and the town is with in easy reach in terms of restaurants and the lake.

The housekeeping is reasonably good, if the party is large expect to eat outside as the kitchen is not big enough to support a party of more than 6.

Firstly the pluses, There are clean towels available, the beds are wide and extra beds are available. The couch can double up as a bed at night. There are 3 rooms one at each level. Kids can enjoy the place and the view is pretty from the top most room.

Some suggestions for improvement, small soap and hand wash in each bathroom will help improve the stay experience. The towels are all placed in the room below and we did not know until a day later that there are towels available. If they can be placed in all the rooms it helps.

The caretaker needs some training on how to treat guests. Would have been nice if he had been proactive in addressing the needs of the guests.

Like all places it has positives and negatives. Overall experience was nice and we would suggest the place to our relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view of the hills
Liked least: Service of the caretaker
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2014
Thank you for the review. You comments regarding housekeeping noted. I will look into it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamil Nadu
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you. The heater issue has been resolved. We look forward to your return visit to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing