We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Lunch”
Review of Assaggi Italiani

Assaggi Italiani
Ranked #7 of 195 Restaurants in Malvern
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 June 2018

walking up Glenferrie Road on a whim, we came across this attractive aitalian Restaurant. Looking in you can see White tablecloths and a welcoming atmosphere. The waiters were mist attentive and music Italian. We were transported to aitaly for lunch without the jet lag. So food was excellent. Serving us was Dallas who was informative on wine choises. We had an excellent lunch. Back to try dinner soon

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

A very disappointing evening for our party of 6. The food was average and the management and service staff were obviously overwhelmed and unable to accomodate the demand.

Having waited for our Pre booked table to be made available we were shuffled from one designated table to another. We eventually were seated upstairs in a hallway area where the main focus of attention was the large group in an adjoining private room.

As stated our food was average steak tough, fish uneaten (management deducted $ from the account for the fish without being asked realising that the dish was ‘dry and should not have been served’) pasta was nothing special but was eatable.

Deserts and coffee were not offered. We were forgotten. We paid and left. Can not recommend this restaurant. We did attend on a Saturday evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CGira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Our business group had an excellent night with outstanding food and staff who knew what they were doing and engraved our group. Well done Assaggi! Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank annieherbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

It looked authentic Italian as soon as you walked in the door. There were young men making pizza in the centre of the room. They were all smiling and welcoming. We were taken upstairs and seated in a cramped position but cosy. Our waiter was sensational. He was funny, friendly & helpful. We all had a great time. We were quickly given drinks and complimentary bread and olives. The children had Carbonara which smelt delicious. We had Charcuterie, Caprese salad and bruschetta between us - all very tasty, followed by the Flounder served with vegetables. All very nicely cooked, Fritto Misto and Marinara Pasta. We had very nice wine. The waiter was able to recommend and describe it to us.
We opted out of desserts. I think $15.90 for ice-cream and six of us nearly $96 is a bit much. Otherwise prices are average for a decent establishment. We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Most authentic Italian pizzas on the south side of the Yarra! Great service and the place was full which is always a good guide in terms of how good the takeaway is. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MickeyH3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assaggi Italiani also viewed

 
Malvern, Stonnington
Malvern, Stonnington
 
Malvern, Stonnington
 

Been to Assaggi Italiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing