We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drury Homestead
Ranked #1 of 2 Drury B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Drury Homestead is a lovely place to stay and relax in. Ron and Carolyn made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and very comfortable with views overlooking the garden and fields. It felt like we had stepped back in time, the home was tastefully decorated and filled with antiques. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. Whenever we visit Auckland, we will be sure to return. It is a little piece of paradise.Thank you so much for a great stay. Janet & Alan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Many thanks to Ron and Carolyn for their warm hospitality. Their home has so much history and character that it was worth the drive to Drury to stay there. As Carolyn said to us, "The best vacations I remember have all been associated with the people I've met, rather than the place." We couldn't agree with you more, although your place was memorable also!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable rural home with a lot of character and excellent hospitality & early breakfast. Helpful advice and information about the area. Caroline especially helpful in posting on a pacamac, which was left behind, onto our next stay -Thank you. Fully recommended. Jane & Mike Willis

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
470 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hard to leave this elegant, charming, restful homestead. Ron and Carolyn provide warm conversation or will let you be, depending on what you prefer. As life long residents of NZ, they know everything you need to know and more. The birdsongs, peaceful music of the nearby creek and the presence of many animals, including dog, cat, chickens, sheep, and goats made this a place of renewal after our long flight in. Carolyn's cooking is divine and she is happy to share her recipes. Since there is a huge organic garden and fruit trees, the meals are primarily made of food picked only hours before.

Did I mention that most of the time all you can hear is the creek and the birds? It bears repeating. And the cost of this little heaven was one of the lowest rates of the six places we stayed in NZ.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, but all the same price. It depends on what you like and need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Drury Homestead was one of our favourite stays in New Zealand. It's location is perfect for those looking to stay just outside Auckland whether on your way south to enjoy different attractions or north to go back to the airport. Plus it's found in a quiet spot three minutes away from the main highway.

The grounds are beautiful! Pulling your car up to the house may take a few minutes as they literally have sheep in front of the property and some might be lying on the car path. The room my wife and I had reminded us of our trip to Ireland. It was very clean with our own bathroom and beautifully decorated with such a homey feel. We peeked in on the other rooms the next morning and you can't go wrong with any of them.

Our hosts Carolyn and Ron are such wonderful people. We spent an extra hour at breakfast (which was delicious) talking to them. Their story of how they bought the house and turned it into what it is today makes you believe in fate.

The Drury Homestead wasn't just a great place to stay for a night, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Carolyn and Ron will make you feel at home as soon as you step onto their property. Their pets, Rufus the cat and Tip the dog, will make your stay even more meaningful if you are an animal lover. Carolyn even took out a go kart to keep the children occupied. Had to check out at 9 pm since we had a 1 am flight to catch from Auckland airport and this was no trouble at all for Carolyn and Ron.
Stayed at the studio downstairs and slept well.
Cooked breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here on the way from the Northland to Coromandel, it was just a night to break the long travelling, but if we did know about the place we might have taken two nights here. The house looks very authentic (as far as I can say something about it), very nicely decorated and a nice garden around it. When we came back from our evening walk we met Ron in the meadow in front of the house, we started chatting and did not stop for the next 2 1/2 hours. And in the morning we had a lovely breakfast, with lots of healthy fruit and a bit less healthy (but very tasty) bacon and eggs. For sure a place where we would stay again if we ware close.

Room Tip: We had the room downstairs, was nice, easy acces to the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanHagendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drury
10.5 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
139 reviews
13.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Papakura Motor Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Drury Motor Lodge
Drury Motor Lodge
#15 of 58 in Auckland
18 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Bycroft Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#72 of 254 in Auckland Region
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rosebrook Country Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drury Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drury Homestead

Property: The Drury Homestead
Address: 349 Drury Hills Road | Drury, Drury 2577, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Drury
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Drury
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing