We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ampthill Tandoori

Ampthill Tandoori
Ranked #16 of 23 Restaurants in Ampthill
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We believe we have created a restaurant for tomorrow which is traditional yet modern, authentic, yet innovative. Ampthill Tandoori Restaurant offers a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate with you, whatever the occasion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Ampthill Tandoori. We do not buy frozen meat like many other establishments in the area but only use fresh meat bought from a family run butchers. All our chicken dishes are prepared from breast meat. Any dish not on the menu can be prepared on request provided we have the ingredients.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times, food consistently excellent, and whether we sit in with family and friends or get a takeaway the food is always good. It is one of the better indian restaurants in the area, and has a good atmosphere.
Staff are always helpful and polite, the restaurant itself is a listed buliding so has low ceilings and beams but this adds to the ambience. Children are welcome at the restaurant and the waiters are very good with them. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys good indian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came here for a meal on a saturday night, the food was excellent, probably the best curry in the area, and the service was friendly and efficient, would definitely go again :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Went in on sat night with a group of friends the staff in this place was so so good they recommend few dish's for us and got to say was amazing. I would recommend this place to any1 I been to a lot of these restaurant that are near by but not as good as this one. It's value for money aswell.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not the best I had but do recommend for consistency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have tried this restaurant on several occasions and food is better than most Indian restaurants in the area. Portions are very generous and did not look/feel like meat was precooked. The consistency of the food ordered has been good but again another restaurant that is catering for the local palette which takes away the authenticity of Indian food.
Have to mention it but I found the staff a bit arrogant towards fellow a asian. What? Don’t asian’s eat in an Indian restaurant? A good Indian restaurant WILL HAVE asian’s eating there. By the way that’s a minor compliment :-).
I would not say the food is fantastic but definitely better than others in the area. Price seems to be similar to others but don’t forget this restaurant portions are larger and better value for money.
If the Ampthill Tandoori takes this review constructively and improves, I will update my review and feedback.
My philosophy is that everyone should be given a chance to improve or rectify any shortfalls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whokickmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh food & lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Was initially sad to see Earls restaurant close & couldn't understand
The need for another Indian restaurant as have quite a few in Ampthill - but the food
Here is lovely & fresh tasting. Thoroughly enjoyable dining and prices are good too.
Staff always lovely & our favourite Indian in Ampthill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank met9013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ampthill Tandoori also viewed

Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Ampthill Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing