We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe”

Gabriels Coffee Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Located in the historical Wharf area within Sowerby Bridge. We are very family friendly and welcome everyone, we have a snug and box of toys for the little ones up stairs. There is seating on 2 floors and gardens with outside seating front and rear. We serve freshly made good quality food and great coffee. Ample parking. Baby changing facilities. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon teas and full alcohol license. Private parties welcome, by arrangement.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in at the mid-point of a cycle ride from brighouse and back. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff and lovely pancakes with maple syrup. Would go back(the scones looked excellent)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gsstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I've started with this title as everyone seems hung up on the price, but seriously, if paying a pound less for bacon that has more of the North Sea in it than pig, or coffee that tastes like fag ash, then go ahead. There isn't a single ingredient used in this place that isn't of absolute first class quality. I am never disappointed by my Sunday morning bacon butty and latte. One caveat though, you will be spoiled. Prepare to be disappointed by every other cafe experience you ever have!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SubstanceZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“first visit”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We hadn't been to Sowerby bridge for quite a while and in previous times we have sat in a cafe by the lock. However, things change and we noticed this coffee shop tucked in on the RHS near the top and we went in. We didn't realise that it was close to closing, but nonetheless, we were made very welcome and both had a latte. We checked out the menu for future times and will definitely come back for a bite to it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol61Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This hidden gem on the canalside at Sowerby Bridge is perfect for a breakfast, lunch or anytime snack after a stroll along the canal. The warm potted scones were my absolute favourite! All food is freshly made and in the hot drinks, large means large! A small cafe, but upstairs and outdoor seating are available. You will not be disappointed .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place in a nice handy location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Excellent coffee lounge particularly upstairs where there are comfy leather sofas, where you can have a quiet meeting during the week. Great Lattes and light lunch. Have a bacon sandwich and coffee for just £3.50! Many thanks we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gabriels Coffee Lounge also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Luddenden Foot, Halifax
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Gabriels Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing