We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“le Tour Yorkshire Hotel Tour de France. Thorpe House Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Thorpe House Hotel near Halifax.Sowerby Bridge is a great Hotel in charming surroundings and well decorated tastefully in keeping with its period Mansion House design. Lovely grounds and facilities for cyclists and tourists wanting to watch or participate in the July le Tour Yorkshire bike race like the Tour de France. Thorpe House Hotel is luxury you can afford. Paul Davies MBM

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the spacious lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review we are looking forward to seeing many cyclists this year. We do have secure storage for those very expensive bicycles too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Thorpe House B&B for one night and wished we could have stayed longer!

We were visiting the town to meet with our wedding photographer who lives locally and after a long evening of traveling from London we were greeted by Carol who was extremely welcoming and showed us round despite it being quite late. We stayed in the Peacock room and when I opened the curtains in the morning the view was amazing.

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and all food is sourced from local produce - you can really taste the difference.

We met Pam in the morning who runs the B&B, a real friendly lady who is clearly proud of what they have achieved.

We'll most certainly be back for a visit!

Room Tip: The Peacock room has the most outstanding views and a very comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenna_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We love it when people arrive after dark and then next morning are treated to the fabulous view from their bedroom room windows. Check out the visiting deer if you are around at 7am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

such a friendly place, my train was late into Sowerby station but they came and picked me up and then gave me a lift to an excellent local pub for dinner - the Bridge. had a fine run up to Cottonstone a.m, then perfect full english breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We knew that you had had a torturous journey so we were please to help. A few glasses of excellent beer and supper in an old world pub tends to get things back on track.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Thorpe House is such a beautiful old building with lots of original period features and lovely grounds. The rooms and common areas have been finished to a high standard. The beds are very comfortable and nice and warm even in December. Breakfast was great and Pamela, Carol and Si were most welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peacock room which has two large windows with lots of light and great views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marcusontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Glad to know that Percy and Petal the resident peacocks did not disturb you. We are hopeful that they may have some babies this Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My new husband & I spent our first night here and how lovely it was. The Swan room was huge with a very comfortable (& large) bed, views over the lake and bathroom nearly as big as the bedroom.
We couldn't have had a nicer start to our life together, and highly recommend this hidden gem.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MrsSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

You stayed in the 'Swan' room which is our deluxe with a super king size bed. It is very large though. We are really glad that you enjoyed your night with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I attended a wedding here on 26th and 27th October and was immediately blown away by the grandeur of the house, it is beautifully decorated and oozes quality. The bedrooms are large, I stayed in Songthrush which was a large double aspect room with an ultra modern wet room. The bed was wonderfully comfy. The entire house is SPOTLESS!

Throughout our stay we were pampered and cared for by Pam, Carole and Si and could not have asked for more all topped off with an amazing full english breakfast consisting of great local produce.

Ladies, you are awesome as is your B&B. Thank you for making a special weekend even more special. Greg x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and a B&B owner yourself I ma very touched by your kind words. We continue to give the personal touch and hope to see you again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Thorpe House Hotel is a hidden gem in the Halifax-Hebden Bridge area, handy for visiting Yorkshires beautiful countryside, historic places and bespoke restaurants. It can be used also as background or interior for period tv or film dramas, documentaries and other projects, due to its historical significance. The property is well situated in beautiful extensive grounds, locally situated close to the hotspots of Halifax, Hebden Bridge with its extensive shopping and exclusive restaurants and the historic attractions of Yorkshire. The bedrooms are large, comfortable and newly decorated to a very high standard. You will not find a finer period property with a rich historical background and with such friendly staff. Highly recommended. Paul Davies MBM

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Wherever possible we have gone the extra mile to retain all original features and wall hangings.
The plaster work is amazing now it supports new paint work. The restoration team were brilliant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sowerby Bridge hotels
1.2 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
325 reviews
1 mi away
The Alma Inn
The Alma Inn
#2 of 5 in Sowerby Bridge
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Rushcart Inn
#5 of 5 in Sowerby Bridge
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Halifax Road | Triangle, Sowerby Bridge HX6 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed and breakfast situated in a recently restored 18th-century mill owner's mansion situated in expansive grounds with its own private lake. All bedrooms are en-suite with locally sourced breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing