We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous and excellent value”
Review of The New Hobbit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Hobbit
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at The New Hobbit last night and had the most amazing time! We had last stayed here 4 years ago for our 1st date and could not believe the transformation. The food was brill especially the tempura prawns and my incredibly fussy with food fiance said the steak was the best he ever tasted! Our room was lovely and spacious and we slept like logs in the huge bed! We are getting married in 2015 and this is our first choice for our wedding the staff were also lovely and welcoming. Can't wait to go back x x thanks for a lovely stay Ellen & Luke x x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Went last Sunday for Sunday Lunch.

Great atmosphere and surroundings and good food. We had no booking but the staff were very accomodating as the restaurant was quite full. Only slightly slow service stopped a five star review.

Recommended

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MarkHalifaxU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have eaten at the restaurant on three previous occasions and are local people. Tonight we ordered a familiar starter which was tempura prawns. To our surprise this now consists of only three tempura prawns, in the past this has been six. Clearly the hobbit is reducing portions. This is very poor value for money and will stop us from eating there again. Three prawns are not value for money and left us hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 77AndreaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewHobbit, Owner at The New Hobbit, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for joining us on Saturday ,

The starter of tempura king prawns may vary in qty simply because sometimes the prawns vary in size. Our main course portions are huge so it is important our starters remain as an appetiser to the whole meal.

If you look at our customer pictures on trip advisor you will see the size of our portions. They are very large by any standards.

In terms of value midweek we offer an early bird menu which is 2 courses for £10 6-8pm Monday to Thursday.

Fridays is steak night which is another exceptional value of 2 10oz sirloins with field mushrooms,cherry vine tomatoes and chunky chips plus a bottle of house wine for only £25 per couple.

Sundays also has yet another great value 2 courses for £12,95 which includes our very popular roast dinner and seasonal veg.

I do hope we have the oppourtuity in future to have another attempt at filling you up :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband, myself and our 4 year old daughter visited here for the first time on weds evening. The decor, food and service are all fantastic. Massive portion sizes, excellent value for money, my daughter had a childrens meal of chicken nuggets chips and beans which was presented lovely and the chicken nuggets were 100% chicken breast made fresh in batter, hand cut chips and a seperate pot of beans... she loved it. Both mine and my husbands starter and mains were spot on, so tasty. Will definatly be returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomishutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here on the 25th to the 27th of Sep to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted to a warm friendly welcome, and on hearing it was our anniversary upgraded us to the bridle suite- which blew us away! The room itself was huge,very romantic with a separate dressing room and a BIG bath. The views from the room were fab over looking the valley.
Although the hotel is small it is nicely decorated through out. We found the food to die for so be ready to loosen your belts,with well cooked and a well presented menu and perfect portions. We found the early bird menu especially great value for money.
Breakfast each morning was lovely, with both hot and cold options which went down a treat.
There is full and fast wifi downstairs but sadly none at all upstairs - which we know is being addressed. The hotel itself went quite after the diners had left, but this didn't bother us as we chilled out on the comfy sofas and had a couple of more drinks before bed.
Staff were very polite, attentive and certainly customer friendly. Thumbs up and a big thank you to everyone at the New Hobbit Inn!
Would we stay here again....IN A SHOT!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel has fantastic views overlooking Calder Valley. The decor is lovely and the food is fantastic and reasonably priced.

Our room had nice decor but the bathroom was tiny.

The roads leading to the hotel are steep and narrow and a car is essential.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Degustibus4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights on a Wowcher offer. I decided upon this location due to the very good ratings on Tripadvisor and we were both very much satisfied all round with our stay. It is a smallish but not too small hotel with friendly and informal and very easy going staff. The room in which we stayed was clean and of reasonable size with all the usual trimmings such as kettle, a selection of hot drinks, and toiletries. On the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant as they have an Early bird menu which consists of two courses for £10 and I must say that the portion sizes were enourmous and cooked to a very good standard. It looked like the chef took care with the quality and presentation although the onion rings were on the greasy side. The Grand Hobbit Burger was lovely and the chips were good.

The breakfast service in the morning was very easy going again and the food very good with large portions.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others for the good quality and friendly local service. The location is excellent and the views from the hotel are fabulous. The only thing that I would warn people of is the extremely steep, narrow and winding hill that you have to drive up to get to the hotel. Its very scary if you're not used to that kind of thing. I tried walking up and down the hill which was fun but trust me when I say its not for the unfit.

Close by is a lovely town called Hebden Bridge which was really nice and worth a day's visit as you can go back train, drive or cycle there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kietfila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sowerby Bridge
4.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
387 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hobbit

Address: The Hobbit Hob Lane, Sowerby Bridge HX6 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range: £53 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Hobbit 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The New Hobbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hobbit Hotel Sowerby Bridge
The New Hobbit Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing