We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Hobbit
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
188
96
30
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
96
30
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridal suitesunday carverycalder valleylovely decorsmall hotelstayed longerfish and chipssat navnight breakfamily weddingan evening mealfull english breakfastfront of housea lovely staythe pubtea coffeean overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Was put up here for a business trip.

Bar was great.
Breakfast was to order.
Room was clean, large with comfortable bed

Staff was exceptional! Went beyond the call of duty.

A charming inn up on the side of a hill with a lovely view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMEIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

The hobbit was always excellent and over the years used it many times. Changed hands a couple of times and the food standards dropped dramatically. Now under new ownership and I have to say that it has been returned to its former good standards. Varied reasonably priced menu with a good ambience and prompt service. Good for family meal

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank tonyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at The New Hobbit for the last two nights and we were both extremely impressed with the high standard of decor, the quality of the food but most importantly the outstanding service and all round friendliness of the staff.
There has clearly been a lot of thought, effort and time put into the New Hobbit and this really shows from the very comfortable beds and 100% wool throws to the sawn wood desk/shelves (very nice touch).
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and were again impressed with the food, not to mention portion size. Breakfast was equally good. But if there would be any recommendation about food I would suggest that a vegetarian option (quorn sausages, hash browns etc) be made available in the morning.
On a personal note every member of staff we spoke with were extremely helpful and professional and are a credit to the hotel. Be this in terms of places to go, to general chats about the log fire and pea soup fog we encountered on our first day!
Overall we would definitely look to book again in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nivag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at The New Hobbit last night and had the most amazing time! We had last stayed here 4 years ago for our 1st date and could not believe the transformation. The food was brill especially the tempura prawns and my incredibly fussy with food fiance said the steak was the best he ever tasted! Our room was lovely and spacious and we slept like logs in the huge bed! We are getting married in 2015 and this is our first choice for our wedding the staff were also lovely and welcoming. Can't wait to go back x x thanks for a lovely stay Ellen & Luke x x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Went last Sunday for Sunday Lunch.

Great atmosphere and surroundings and good food. We had no booking but the staff were very accomodating as the restaurant was quite full. Only slightly slow service stopped a five star review.

Recommended

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MarkHalifaxU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews