We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Got Back”
Review of The New Hobbit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Hobbit
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just Got Back”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visited the New Hobbit last night (26th March) with my partner for a wedding anniversary meal for my parents who live in Greetland and were joined by their friends who also live local. Partner and I live 60 mile away so booked a room for us so we could have a drink or 2.
1. Without asking we were given free upgrade to Bridal suite which was a very nice touch.
2. Nice young lady that dealt with us was lovely and so helpful
3. It was quiet - ish being midweek so we only saw 2 staff working front of house, the lady we first met (supervisor ?) and another young lady doing mainly food service. Both were busy with the bar and the meals but both gave excellent, friendly and polite service. Previous comments remark on poor service but we witnessed nothing that resembled that. Well done both of you.
4. Food ? Fantastic !! We all had starters and mains but boy were we stuffed. Between us we had soup (carrot & Coriander), Spare ribs, pate, tempura prawns & garlic mushrooms to start. ALL brilliant especially those ribs ! so tender, tasty and plenty of meat. Mains included lamb henry, MORE ribs, turf n surf and Hobbit burger. Again ALL brilliant. However (and be warned !) the burger is massive and if you want to go for it don't have a starter it will stuff you (I speak from experience, I had it !).
5. Drinks were reasonably priced
6. Room was clean and well appointed
7. Breakfast (albeit I was still a bit full) was very good indeed
All in all we had a great evening and our little group were the last to leave but the staff let us finish off in our own time without clock watching.
We all hope to have a re-visit soon.
Big thanks to all staff and well done Chef.
Andy & Alison from York

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    73
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
80
101
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Once again , we had a wonderful night here. This was our third visit and again the Hotel was excellent value for money. We only stayed the one night (Saturday). Slightly disappointed to see that you only had two real ales on, usually four!
Eating in the restaurant was as good as before with the exception of the fish that my partner had. Was it frozen? Last time she had it, it was lovely.
Nice to see the new lay out of the tables, more of a cosy atmosphere around the fire.
Your staff work very hard and are always smiling, nice to see.
Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the New Hobbit a couple of monthsago and the room we were given was lovely. It was really spacious and had a great feel to it. Although we didnt eat in the resteraunt we did have drinks and there was a nice atmosphere. It was really quite, clean and tidy so if you looking for a nice hotel and dont mind the steep hill then i would reccomend the New Hobit and id like tot hink we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Myself and my fiancé went here for a meal and were stunned at how well the place had been done up . It's a credit to the owners and staff !! We were so impressed with the hotel and good that we are in the process of booking our wedding here for May 2015 ! I hope they keep up the excellent standards as we know our guests are going oh love it as much as we do !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynelouise99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My partner booked this meal after seeing the impressive menu on Facebook for our Valentines meal. We were greeted with champagne and seated next to a lovely chap playing the piano for the diners, a lovely idea. Our food was just outstanding, we both ordered the duck pate to start which came with a celeriac coleslaw which was an interesting accompaniment and worked well. I then went on to have the 3 types of pork, normal, belly and cheek. It was definitely the best pork I have ever tasted. My partner had the steak and was extremely impressed by how well it was cooked. For desert we had shared the chocolate platter which was beautiful, I couldn't even begin to name what was on there but we were very happy with it! The hotel manager very politely came over to our table to introduce himself and talk to us, which I appreciated. All the staff were so friendly and chatty and made our night without fault. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to anybody interested in fine dining and will be coming back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotti191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Four gleaming hand pumps. Only one beer which went off after one pint. "Will it be back on today?" "Probably not". OK, so playing at real ale, then. Limited drinks choice overall - I mean one double fridge?!!! Dark room, low ceilings, light bulbs not working. Food pretty good, though a bit short on the gravy. Hand Drier not switched on in the toilets. Repeated use of the word 'guys' to address a party of 9 including 2 octagenerians. The annoying thing with the Hobbit - New or otherwise - is that with all its aspirations it falls well short in attention to detail and seems to assume that food alone will bring people back. Would I recommend it? Only after pointing out the above facts. Get the full package working, guys....

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNewHobbit, Owner at The New Hobbit, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for review , Whilst Trip Advisor is a tool to help people make an informed choice about where to stay or dine it does also allow people to to say what they like accurate or not . This then requires businesses like ours to have to correct certain inaccurate claims.

We stock 4 different draught lagers,

Carlsberg
San Miguel
Mahou
Tuborg

We rotate real ale because it has short shelf life and we are a food led establishment.

Still we stock ,

Slightly foxed ( local pale ale )

Timothy Taylor's Landlord ( legendary medium strength ale )

Black Sheep , Golden Sheep ( lovely strong pale ale )

Bishops Finger ( strong dark copper coloured rich in flavour )

Ciders,

Draught,

Somersby

Bottled ,

Magners original
Kopparberg lime
Kopparberg mixed fruits


Wines,

We have 15 wines from different regions of the world with various prices to suit all occasions.

We also have 3 double fridges stocking even more bottled lagers, fruit juices and champagne.

Not a bad choice of drinks I'm sure you will agree.

It seems strange that you gloss over the food being good but yet focus on items almost inconsequential to the dining experience .
We have 127 lights downstairs if any bulbs were out they will be replaced after food service.

The hand dryer's have a switch next to them , they work if you press that switch. We apologise if this caused you any inconvenience .

Our staff are renowned for being very polite and helpful .The use of the word " guys " referring to a group of customers is both relaxed and friendly .


Our ceilings are 2.4 meters high ( 7ft 10 inches ) in the lowest area . We apologise if these ceilings are too low and affected your dining experience .

We take our reviews very seriously and where at all possible we will make changes and aim to improve.

This review however is inaccurate and not helpful to anyone looking for a review.

It is also worth mentioning that this reviewer did not feel strongly enough to raise any of their points with a member of staff or management but did feel it appropriate to hide behind the anonymous cloak of the Internet .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Some of our family members travelled from as far as Skipton and Bingley to meet at the Hobbit. Certainly a long way for a get together. On our arrival we were greeted by really friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. We first had a drink in the beautiful and comfortable lounge area and then shown to our table, bearing in mind this was a table for 12 people so we feared we could be squeezed together and struggle for room, but not at all. During our meal we were asked by several members of staff if everything was to our satisfaction which it certainly was.
In brief the service was second to none, the food was absolutely superb and of course the staff were wonderful. Well worth the long drive.
I would recommend the Hobbit to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonbeau21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sowerby Bridge
4.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hobbit

Property: The New Hobbit
Address: The Hobbit Hob Lane, Sowerby Bridge HX6 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Hobbit 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The New Hobbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hobbit Hotel Sowerby Bridge
The New Hobbit Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing