We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, friendly staff, excellent food”
Review of The Willow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Willow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed here recently for business and will continue to do so on a regular basis. Rooms are excellent. Food in the pub is great and there are a good range of beers. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Norfolk and is a good base if you want to explore further afield.

Free wifi as well is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Willow House last september, as a friend had recommended it to us. We were pleasantly suprised when we walked into our spacious room, with massive bed, flat screen TV and all the other mod cons. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. We ate twice in the evenings, once in the 'traditional pub' side which has an extensive menu of great pub food, and the other time in the a la carte restaurant side which was extremely great food all cooked with local East Anglian produce. All food in the Willow House is freash and cooked on site. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and willing to bend backwards to get you whatever it was you needed. Breakfast was also delightful, we chose the full english on both mornings, which was lovely.

We would highly reccomend staying at the Willow House, especially if you like good food and the warm feeling that a traditional Norfolk pub/restaurant has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraTaylor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have been staying here for nearly 3 mmonths now.A great family run hotel.The staff are really friendly and welcoming, the food is of a very high standard, the rooms are very spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in fact I already have, I will definatly come back to stay here again but hopefully on a leisure trip next time

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norwich, United Kingdom
2
Reviewed 9 March 2011

From the moment I turned I was greeted by courteous friendly staff. The room was exceptionally clean and a nice size, with modern facilities and a nice bathroom. Food was superb and the atmosphere was jolly and friendly. I would imediatley recommend to friends and family 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The hotel / pub looked traditional and beautiful, I stayed with my 3 children, twins aged 5 and a 10 year old. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. The food in the pub was excelent and they were very helpful when it came to catering for the children. They loved the cooked breakfast.

The owners and staff were fantastic and so helpful when it came to finding my way around and suggesting places to visit.

The hotel / pub was very central for visiting around Norfolk and we had some fantastic days out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

first impressions were very good, the room was lovely. During check-in we were told a table for the evening would be available. When we queried if we needed to book and would 7.30 be ok, we were told yes and not to worry. Then the problems started - we were shown to a table in the evening, then the staff member whom earlier had advised we wouldn't need to book, told us we couldn't sit in the restaurant as they were full and would have to move, also totally denying saying that we wouldn't need to book earlier (then a few minutes later she did a u-turn and confirmed she had been wrong!) When we asked to speak to a manager we were greeted by another staff member with total derision and an almost total shock that we would dare ask if we could speak to "a manager" . We told them we were thinking of leaving, as the stay had been ruined by their lack of any form of customer service skills, only to be told the manager was cooking and refused to be disturbed! When a chef (who we can only assume to also be the manager) finally came out (not even introducing himself, simply came out shouting across the bar!), his customer service skills were little short of embarrassing, patronising us with "can you read the big sign that says you need to book?", stating we had "barged our way" into the restaurant (even though we were told where to sit by a waitress!) and continued to show himself up by talking over every point which was attempted to be explained to him, working himself up into what could only be described as a frenzy. We checked out immediately, ruining the evening (which even then was greeted by a "lovely, thankyou" as the key was handed over). This episode gives you the impression that to try and take it further would be a complete waste of time, the attitude appears to be of little more than contempt. It is no wonder that the staff treat you with tantamount to little (if any) respect, if the chef/head/"manager" (if that is what the gentlemen was) certainly does not. Very very dissapointing. Approach a booking with caution, and ensure you get the table booking in writing!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stepheneaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewillowhouse, Owner at The Willow House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

We were extremely disappointed to read the review submitted by stephenandmichelle.
Not least, because the description of events are in our view, are duplicitous and erroneous.

We welcome constructive reviews and work hard to improve the way we operate constantly.

We accept, after our own investigation into this matter, we should have been clearer of our restaurant booking policy, this is possibly where any misunderstanding took place. The customer possibly confused this information with the information that was given for the breakfast sitting.

This has now been flagged and appropriate measures have now been put in place.
The review also makes no reference to the fact that despite the customer being far from cordial to all the members of staff, we still tried to resolve the situation which occurred due to this unfortunate misunderstanding.

We pride ourselves on being an independent, family run business and provide a high level of customer service as proven by 99.9% of reviews and feedback from our customers.

Please visit our on line booking review pages.


Madeleine Cashley
Proprietor/Owner
The Willow House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Great historic hotel, the rooms are more like chalets, plenty of room, comfortable, clean beds. Unfortunately my room (4) must have the water tank in the loft so every time somebody used water the tank had a noisy refill.

Food quality is good and good value for money. Staff are friendly and very efficient.

The only negative is that Watton itself should carry a government health warning at night.

2 pubs that should be boarded up like the third.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowlovebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
1.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
130 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
290 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
170 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow House

Address: 2 High Street, Watton IP25 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range: £74 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Willow House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow House, a beautiful sixteenth century thatched grade two listed building. Located in Norfolk, Breakland. The villages of Griston, Thompson, Sayham Toney, Hingham, Ashill, shipdam, Brandon, Mundford, Bodney and Towns of Thetford, Dereham, & Swafham surround the market town of Watton. Norwich 20 miles away. Our food varies from traditional bar snacks and daily specials, full A La Carte and Table D'hote menus. We offer a large selection of 'Real Ale'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Willow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow House Hotel Watton
The Willow House Watton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing