We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willow House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Willow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hearty and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

An exceptional meal. Great value for money and the staff were so helpful as we were late and the kitchen had closed. Great Ales and guests, accommodation too. We will definitely be returning customers.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RtRev-McShouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    42
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
57
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and had a short break in norfork ton see family we boooked to stay at the willow house when we arrived we had a very warm welcome, the room was nice and clean . Breakfast was frist class and the service was very good we eat in the bar on our last night and the food and service again was frist class . As a chef myself I found the whole stay very relaxing I whould visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drabblesiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The willow house is a very nice place for a few days or longer break. The room was large bright and well furnished.Food was very good in the bar or restaurant , Breakfast was tasty always freshly cooked and a good choice.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would visit again

Room Tip: The rooms are a row of bungalows at the back of the pub so as far as we could tell they are all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at Willow House 22nd-23rd October.The room was basic but comfortable.
The food in the restaurant was wonderfull.Saff were frindly and helpfull at all times.Will visit
again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

While looking for a place to stay to do a job at East Dereham, I found this place.

I was greeted by a couple of phone calls from the staff the day before and the owner on the day (whose name I forgot, apologies) because I was arriving on a Sunday and failed to observe the extra info about checking in on a Sunday - shame on me. But they tackled this themselves and that was very thoughtful, especially given the time I arrived...

Bar and restaurant staff were very efficient and friendly, the food was outstanding, both dinner and breakfast. There is a very nice atmosphere in the place too.

The room was large and clean and tidy and had everything I needed. WiFi was available (for free) and working. Only slight issue I detected in the room was that the furniture was outdated and the bathroom was also in need of refurbishment, although everything was perfectly functional.

Being in a business trip, I didn't explore the surroundings (except for the A1075 up to East Dereham), however there are good roads in a beautiful scenery which I would absolutely recommend to fellow bikers and drivers who enjoy their rides/drives as something more than the means to get somewhere.

I would definitely go back to the Willow house either on business or with my wife and/or with friends and would recommend it to others who wish to visit the area.

Pedro.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here almost 12 months ago to the day. The hotel has kept up its high standards, the rooms have been updated slightly and are very comfortable and isolated from traffic and normal pub noise by being in chalet style building at rear of premises. Breakfasts are of normal high standard and the dining room is really worth a visit. Bar serves guest real ales as well as regular fare.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from traffic & bar noise so choose double or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Staff Charming & Delightful, service and food excellent, room very comfortable........what more could you want?!!!

Room Tip: Chalet syle rooms. Both No 2 & 7 rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpminsterSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
1.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow House

Property: The Willow House
Address: 2 High Street, Watton IP25 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Willow House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow House, a beautiful sixteenth century thatched grade two listed building. Located in Norfolk, Breakland. The villages of Griston, Thompson, Sayham Toney, Hingham, Ashill, shipdam, Brandon, Mundford, Bodney and Towns of Thetford, Dereham, & Swafham surround the market town of Watton. Norwich 20 miles away. Our food varies from traditional bar snacks and daily specials, full A La Carte and Table D'hote menus. We offer a large selection of 'Real Ale'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Willow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow House Hotel Watton
The Willow House Watton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing