We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We chose to stay in The Willow House Hotel for two nights 9th/10th April. The rooms are very conveniently situated just behind the main pub/restaurant and are quite private and quiet. We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and thought that every comfort was to hand for our two night stay. The shower room was not very large but was adequate and was well supplied with toiletries. The bedroom was well furnished and the bed large and comfortable. A bonus for me was having free Wi-Fi too! We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival and were sorry that we had made other plans for our second evening as we thought that the food was excellent. Breakfast too was very good, lots of choices and freshly cooked to order, so much better than buffet style. The staff throughout our stay were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    42
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
57
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Willow House at Easter. Despite the cold weather our room was warm and comfortable. The rooms are behind the main pub and very quiet. The welcome was warm and friendly and all the staff were very attentive.
We ate in both the bar and restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangentwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Pub is very nice,a local Pub.but the rooms are at the back of the pub,old out houses.The room was large with a double and single bed,a good supply of beverages and biscuits.The 'bathroom'was very small,not very clean,I didn't even shower as it was so unpleaseant in the room.there was no lock on the inside of the door.Breakfast was good

Helpful?
2 Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, but we think the 'terrible' rating is slightly unfair.

The rooms don't have locks on the inside of the door as they are Yale style locks, and are self locking. The door locks by closing them, you only need a key to open/unlock the door. We use these style locks as a fire safety precaution.

We try to resolve any customer issues if and whenever they arise and we pride ourselves on our customer service. Therefore we are sorry to discover you found the bathroom 'not very clean' and are sorry this was not bought up upon your visit, and consequently not allowing us the chance to investigate and remedy any issues you might of felt.

We hope all our guests find our rooms are cleaned to the high standard we set ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Overall experience was great.
The room was spacious & very comfortable.
The hotel was very nice.
The food outstanding.
The staff were amazing. Nothing any trouble & very friendly.
Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in this pleasant and welcoming hotel at the end of January. The building was beautiful and the inside had a beautiful decor with lots of exposed beams. Very nice staff. The room was large and clean and located in the modern annex, the bed very comfortable. The decor in the bedroom was very refined. I would recommend it and I will certainly go back. Breakfast offered very good food and included fresh croissants

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 722Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The willow house has very nice rooms, almost like having a home from home they are maintained very well the meals are outstanding and the staff are very nice. I like the surrounding area as it is not far from the shops yet still quiet in the hotel. i would come here again and recommend this to people with dogs as they are very dog friendly and fairly large rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have stayed it here multiple times finding it a convenient and friendly place when visiting relatives up in Norfolk. The rooms are clean tidy spacious and comfy, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is to die for it makes our trip 100x better. Would recommend it to anyone and will more than likely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryD31101959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
0.9 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow House

Property: The Willow House
Address: 2 High Street, Watton IP25 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Willow House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow House, a beautiful sixteenth century thatched grade two listed building. Located in Norfolk, Breakland. The villages of Griston, Thompson, Sayham Toney, Hingham, Ashill, shipdam, Brandon, Mundford, Bodney and Towns of Thetford, Dereham, & Swafham surround the market town of Watton. Norwich 20 miles away. Our food varies from traditional bar snacks and daily specials, full A La Carte and Table D'hote menus. We offer a large selection of 'Real Ale'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Willow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow House Hotel Watton
The Willow House Watton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing