We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home from Home...”
Review of The Willow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Willow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Home from Home...”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I travel around this country a lot. No - I mean..a lot! At the end of a long day, I need to relax, unwind, chill out, be comfortable in my surroundings, get some good food, have a drink in a warm atmosphere and have a great nights sleep.

Out of all the places I stay at, the Willow House is by far my favourite because it gives me all of the things I've just listed. In fact, when in that area, I ONLY stay there. (11 times in the last 12 months actually).

The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and have all those little extra things that so many of the big hotel chains simply get wrong. From the moment you arrive, you're made to feel welcome - there is a really nice personal touch. (Again, something that larger hotel chains just haven't got yet..)

The food is excellent. Whether eating from the varied bar menu or in the bigger restaurant. Always freshly prepared and home-cooked. The beers are excellent! Always some good real ales to try. The atmosphere is warm and homely and is to be expected as it is a 16th century inn! Low beams and real fires. Just perfect.

Breakfast is excellent and always sets me up for the day! You have to try it!

Yes - I travel here on business, but if I were to look for anywhere to go for a short stay outside of work in Norfolk, I would be looking here and would have no hesitation in booking myself a room.

You are a gem, Willow House. Glad I found you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review Brian, and for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the food and the real ales, we hope to get Summer Lightening again and time it for when you’re up!
We look forward to seeing you again, when work brings you back up this way!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    42
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
58
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed at the willow house several times now for different reasons, the rooms have always been clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable. The staff are always friendly and helpful and know the area well so can give advice on where to go. The food has always been great,plenty of choice for breakfast,not always had dinner but when we have it has been cooked to a very high standard.
I would recommend anyone to stay here on business or pleasure

Room Tip: All rooms are good some holding families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the food both for breakfast and when you have eaten here in the evenings.
We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really tasty food and friendly staff, comfy clean rooms and loads of character. A proper homely pub with a diverse menu and no snootiness. A gem, will definitely visit again and recommend to friends, especially those with dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are please to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit, especially if you bring your lovely dog, George!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Year and a half since last visiting and it's still great. Nothing grand or pretentious, not a city smart setup, but cosy and friendly where nothing is a problem and everything works or can be accommodated. Main thing for me is the food is superb, by any standard, and like everything else it comes with a smile. Such an refresher from corporate hotels if work keeps you on the road.
Watton is not exactly a prime business or holiday destination - middle of nowhere springs to mind - but it has good access to an awful lot if you need a hub within 1 hr of just about everywhere in Norfolk. If you have countryside interests, it's a fabulous location. Willow House couldn't be better situated in the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House, Rupert.
We are please to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us again and loved the food, you were a pleasure to serve.
We look forward to your next visit, maybe in another year and a half!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a chalet out the back of the pub. Very spacious, warm family room. Clean and tidy. Had all the little extras that make a stay more enjoyable i.e. shampoo, hair dryer, biscuits. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Would recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rough3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Cannot find anything to say about The Willow House, except that nothing is too much trouble with excellent food and service and comfortable beds in a well appointed room.
Recently celebrated our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with balloons on our table.

Room Tip: Room 2 has been perfect for us on all occasions we have visited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October. We received a very friendly welcome and good advice where to eat as The Willow House does not serve food Sunday evenings. A lovely large room which was clean and well equipped, in an annexe behind the pub. A good supply of tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits. The en suite was not big but adequate with a good supply of toiletries. The light was not very good in the en suite but good in the room itself. The hotel advertises free wi fi. Whilst we were there it was very intermittent and not good in our room. The breakfasts were nice, freshly cooked with a fair choice. We ate in the pub Monday evening. The meal was good but spoilt by the attitude of the barmaid - very different to the other staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
1.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
124 reviews
8.3 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
293 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
19.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,600 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow House

Property: The Willow House
Address: 2 High Street, Watton IP25 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Willow House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow House, a beautiful sixteenth century thatched grade two listed building. Located in Norfolk, Breakland. The villages of Griston, Thompson, Sayham Toney, Hingham, Ashill, shipdam, Brandon, Mundford, Bodney and Towns of Thetford, Dereham, & Swafham surround the market town of Watton. Norwich 20 miles away. Our food varies from traditional bar snacks and daily specials, full A La Carte and Table D'hote menus. We offer a large selection of 'Real Ale'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Willow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow House Hotel Watton
The Willow House Watton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing