We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call......”
Review of Hotel de France

Hotel de France
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isigny-sur-Mer
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beyond the call......”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A comfy and clean motel style hotel located very centrally in Isigny with its own parking at the rear. The management are extremely welcoming and helpful. When we (four friends) fell out with the driver of the taxi we had ordered, the manageress drove us 9km to Grandcamp Maisy in her own car for a prearranged dinner and arranged for the hotel to pick us up later that night. Petrol money was refused; truly beyond the call of duty. CARE: Do not order taxis in Isigny; they come from Carentan and there is Euro 37 on the clock before you get in the car!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    45
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
21
39
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waalwijk, Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've had a great stay in this hotel. The rooms are "motel-like" situated on a court-yard and look almost cottagelike. Rooms are reasonable clean except for some stains on the carpet that probably are very difficult to remove. Breakfast was complete and of good quality with boiled eggs, ham, cheese and a choice of jams and cereal. Off cours also with vienoises and baguette's.
We specially liked the bathroom. A large showerroom clean and fresh. The landlady (who is the lead-singer of a local "Andrew Sisters" immitation act speaks English and is very helpfull. When we visit Isigny sur Mer again we'll surely try to book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Centrally located and we stayed here on a weekend cycling trip in Normandy. Check-in was painful as they couldn't find the booking and required us to dig out our written confirmation. Once shown the room magically appeared so we couldn't understand what the problem was. We were able to leave our bikes in a locked garage which was helpful. We had a family room just big enough for 3 single beds. Whilst it was fairly basic it was good value for what we paid. Bathroom was a good size but shower only and a strange electric toilet that didn't seem to work well. Restaurant was OK for dinner but nothing special and the waitress had an unfortunate cough. Fairly limited choice of places to eat in Isigny so this looked like the best bet. Breakfast was good with generous croissant and bread plus cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were traveling in a small group, with one member of our party who is handicapped. The hotel made special efforts to accommodate him, removing a bed from his room so that he had enough space to move around. The rooms are quite roomy anyway, and the beds very comfortable. Clean and quiet--our rooms were all on a courtyard where we left our car. The food is excellent, and the proprietor wonderfully warm and friendly, great sense of humor! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 4 who called in rather late for lunch about 1.30 pm.I mention the time because I think it must have affected the quality of the meals.The staff were very pleasant and the service prompt ,but a lack of forethought was very evident. The salad served with the starter had no dressing added,there were no finger wipes for two people having seafood platters,no extra bread was brought when we finished the basket supplied and worst of all 2 of us had the limpest,soggiest and cold chips served with a lump of extra tough steaks.Very disappointing we will not call again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay in Hotel de France. We found the rooms to very clean and roomy enough. The owner was very helpful and happy and could not do enough for us. Location was great. The food was amazing. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLO59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We went to Normandy in June for the liberation festivities. The hotel is in a good location, near all comercial shop of the little town, the staff attention is great. The site is very clean and the beds comfortable. They have free-wifi in the rooms.
I recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isigny-sur-Mer
5.5 mi away
Hotel Le Duguesclin
Hotel Le Duguesclin
#1 of 2 in Grandcamp-Maisy
115 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
109 reviews
11.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
110 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
156 reviews
11.2 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: rue Emile Demagny, 14230 Isigny-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Isigny-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isigny-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing