We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the best campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isigny-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Monfreville
Reviewed 23 August 2014

carlsberg dont do camping but if they did this would be it ! there are not enough superlatives to try to say how good this site is.you are more like a friend than a holidaymaker. everything is perfect from the fascilities , the location and the quirkyness all adding to the overall expierience.it must be good because we booked to go back next year before we had even left

Room Tip: no set pitches so just pick your perfect spot to pitch your tent
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank markgreenwood31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

The weather was 'engaging' but the atmosphere of this WONDERFUL site compensated. Sunny fellow campers and generous owners minimised the impact of gale force winds and heavy torrential rain! Campers arriving at the height of the storms were helped to erect tents and soon settled in. Sunnier days saw lots of friendly interaction going on and beautiful to see children playing, exploring, mingling and making new friends. Adults enjoyed moules frites evening... very sociable.This place really does deliver a quality camping experience and Paul and Zoe go the extra kilometer! We had a very memorable holiday full of rich experiences. We took advice to pitch away from the pond and escaped midges/mosquitoes. Starry nights with plenty of owls. Lovely too to be close to domestic wildlife.Good quality pitches and lots of helpful extras... safe to leave items charging up at the shower area, freezer/freezies available. Honesty box shop worked very well. Home made Blackcurrant jam superb, went well with the delicious fresh bread delivery and with creme fraiche from nearby Isigny.
Great location for exploring/shopping... best trip...twice into Bayeux.. a cheaper ticket (€15) to see 3 museums. Highly recommended. tapestry/ battle of Normandy/ MAHB...art & history... allow a couple of hours for each one. We parked for free at Battle museum then walked into the town. Enjoyed Grand Camp Maisie too..watch out for amazing peace sculpture on road to Pointe du Hoc.
Thoroughly approve of leaving car in car park...very efficient tractor service for transporting belongings...happy to arrive but sad to leave this extra special place but very thankful to have made it our home for a week. Thank you Paul and Zoe and helpers... FIRST CLASS FIVE STAR time! :-)

Room Tip: Pitches away from Pond have less mozzies... but pool makes for lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annieyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time camping here & again we were in love with this campsite. Extremely family friendly & the owners always attentive to the campers needs. Kids can play safely as no vehicles allowed on site so parents can have a relaxing time. So sad to go home after our stay & look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is one of the best places to holiday if you like camping. Extremely family orientated, engaging and interactive owners and the friendliest dog you'll ever meet. Perfectly situated for lots of attractions, especially if you want to go to the Normandy D-Day beaches, as well as Bayeaux and lots more. The owners Paul and Zoe are really lovely people who are friendly and helpful and the Moules Frites night on a Thursday is something I'd been dreaming about since our stay last year. There is so much I could say that is wonderful about this place but I'm not sure there is enough space or that you would believe me, but trust me, you'll never have a better family camping experience

Room Tip: Although this review is treating it as a hotel it isn't. It's a château but it's used f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've just returned from a fantastic week camping at Chateau Monfreville. Everything about the site has been extremely well thought out, there's fridge and freezer space, charging points, fire pits/BBQs to borrow and nice touches like a vase of flowers in the ladies washroom make it an extremely pleasant place to stay. The swimming pond is a unique feature and we really recommend the Thursday moules frites night, which was excellent value and a really pleasant social experience. Paul and Zoe go out of their way to accommodate everyone's needs, and they really give you a warm and welcoming experience. Paul was often spotted giving tractor rides to some very happy kids! Location wise, the site is a short drive from quite a lot of Normandy's main tourist attractions, and the local supermarket is only a few kilometres away so very handy for supplies. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We found this site purely by accident, but thank the heavens that we did, the Chateau is the nicest site I have ever stayed on. Paul and Zoe are the most wackiest fun loving people I have met in a long time and are great hosts.
The site is clean, well equipped and nicely set out and well off the beaten track if you are looking for peace and quiet, the natural pool and hot tub was a nice surprize as was the superb atmosphere that this site has.
I will be making this site a regular holiday site and look forward to seeing Paul and Zoe very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel_829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent a great week at the Chateau, could not have asked for a better experience! Paul and Zoe make it memorable...fun and welcoming, silly and informative, hardworking and wonderful hosts. I didnt want to leave, and will be back at the first chance I get! If for no other reason then Pauls cooking! Whether taking the family or just getting away for a couples weekend, this is the place to be. I would be remiss if I also did not credit the fantastic crowd of fellow campers we had with us...they added to the insanity and fun!

I would almost want to keep the Chateau a secret, but that would do a disservice to Paul and Zoe...only go if you want to have a good, laid back time. Definitely not a boutique type hotel...go to hang out and have fun, not to be pampered and leave your attitudes at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isigny-sur-Mer hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
110 reviews
2.5 mi away
B&B les Oiseaux de Passage
B&B les Oiseaux de Passage
#1 of 3 in Isigny-sur-Mer
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ferme du Rupalley
#3 of 3 in Isigny-sur-Mer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
La Ferme d'Ervee de Saint-Roch
#2 of 3 in Isigny-sur-Mer
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monfreville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monfreville

Address: 14230 Isigny-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Isigny-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isigny-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing