We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

After a cabin rental fell through for our visit during August holiday weekend, we booked the last two rooms at Salzburger Hof Lakeshore Resort, trying to be near other family members at a rental on Harmony Beach.
The view on Highway 17 was magnificent, all the way up the lake. We did drive north and the view gets more spectacular as the altitude increases. The resort provides daily park passes and had some great suggestions for day trips. They provide some brochures and outfitter information in the breakfast/lunch restaurant.
Yes, the cabins are dated, but we chose to be on the lake as opposed to staying in Sault Ste Marie. None of the area north of the city is commercially developed. Our end unit (#1) was clean, comfortable, and fairly spacious-1br and living/kitchen combo. Actually it was a little charming with a little chandelier over the dining table, but it did have the avocado green bathroom fixtures and wood-beam cottage decor.
We also had unit #6 for my mother with 2 double beds and a kitchenette.
We were prepared for the fact is was not upscale from the photos, both rooms smelled fresh and clean. No a/c, ceiling fans and standing fans are provided. The cabins have a heat system we didn't use. After the first night, a cool front came through, and no fan was needed. We opened up the windows and sliding door, and the cool Lake Superior breeze was very refreshing.
After talking to the staff, and telling them we were flying in, they provided towels for us, and refreshed during the week at our request.
I brought travel-size toiletries, and they came in handy, as none were provided, I brought my own hairdryer as I knew ahead of time the cabins were rustic. No outlet in the bathroom, but the bedroom had outlet by the dresser.
It was fairly simple to get closer to the restaurant and sit at the umbrella tables with our ipads/laptops to get some news via internet. I actually enjoyed being away from the electronics --what a vacation is for!
We had a couple of breakfasts that were pleasant, chatted with the owner.
The food was magnificent at dinner. We were attending a family gathering, and I called ahead and ordered a pan of cabbage rolls to take to our pot-luck gathering. They were wonderful. We also had a family dinner at the Austrian restaurant that was authentic and delicious. After that meal, we made reservations for the Friday night fish fry that was also delicious and buffet-style.
The cottages face the lake, but it's not a beach. Every evening we would sit out and enjoy the breeze and sunset. Plenty of chairs and lounge chairs were on the lawn, with horseshoes and shuffleboard available.
We enjoyed our stay, it was a pleasant week. We enjoyed taking the Algoma train ride, checking out the Canadian Carver and other gift shops in the area, enjoying the outdoors--hiking at Chippewa Falls, and visiting/walking at Harmony Beach.
Beware of the Zip Line--husband's shoulder was sore all week from the landing of the primitive Mega Zip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

The resort is family owned and right on Batchawana Bay (Lake Superior.) The view from the room and grounds was fantastic! The motel room was large and clean although old and dated and the bathroom needs some work. The family also owns the restaurant on sight. Good Bavarian food at a fairly reasonable price. WiFi only available in office/clubhouse. If you are up early you will be treated to a beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I were on the circle tour of Lake Superior on our motorcycle and it had been raining most of the morning. When we walked in the front door we were welcomed with a warm smike and towels to dry off with. The view was beautiful even in the rain and the food was outstanding. We hope to go back with our family very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janglin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We wandered into the Salburger Hof for lunch one afternoon during our Lake Superior Circle Tour drive and are already sooo wishing this restaurant and resort were 500 miles closer to home. My husband is always searching for German/Austrian food to match the wonderful meals he remembers from his years in Germany and the Salzburger Hof did it! Weiner Schnitzel and seasoned potatoes, followed by mango cheesecake (the apple struedel hadn't been baked yet) were perfect. We were camping in Provincial parks this trip but would definitely plan to stay at this resort next time around. We wandered the well-kept grounds and admired the beautiful views and lake access before continuing our drive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just returned from a wonderful trip to the Lake Superior Provincial Park Area. We stayed three great nights at the Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort. The rooms were very comfortable with gorgeous lake views. The grounds were extensive and immaculate. Ann and Sylvia made us feel right at home especially with the delicious meals they served. They were terrific tour guides making sure we knew about beautiful sights and interesting stops in the area. Truly a lovely restful place to stay while recharging. We are very much looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms are available for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Back from Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort and once again we had a great time. It was great catching up with Ann, Karen, and Sylvia. We had excellent meals at the restaurant. Try the chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, yummm! The weather was great and it made for excellent star gazing at night and its so easy to do,just walk outside your door and look up, beautiful. My only complaint is that our trip is too short, the days fly by so quickly. I can't wait to go back to Lake Shore and see everyone in the fall. Maybe we'll get lucky and see the otters on the river again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just got back from our stay at Salzburger Hof and despite the weather we had a great time. It's always good to see Ann, Karen, and Sylvia, they are like family. Once again we stuffed ourselves at the restaurant, ask Sylvia about the delicious homemade soup of the day! Thanks for the hot apple strudel Karen! If you're at the resort in mid October and get to sing happy birthday to Sylvia you just might be lucky enough to have the beer fairy come visit your refrigerator. I hear the beer fairy is very intelligent, tricky and,according to my brothers, very attractive. It was really hard to leave our friends but we will be back in May.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing