We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views and location,sad and forlorn resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great views and location,sad and forlorn resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had stayed at the Salzburgerhof 20 years ago, and I had a good memory of itso while driving the North of Superior road, I planned a night here again. Arriving around 4pm,I could not recall anything about the place.
The room ( #4) was a sad and tired old motel style room.The walls and ceiling were old wood of decent quality, but the room had old and inappropriate furniture,and was very dark. The decrepit bathroom would have made Basil Fawlty proud! It was tiny(really!) and the walls around the ancient and uninviting tub looked as if they were made from old car body panels. In short, it was not a room in which one wanted to linger.

The restaurant, vaunting Austrian/Bavarian cuisine, was in a separate building from the motel rooms. The inside of this restaurant was clean but almost totally lacking in any genuine Austrian decor or atmosphere. It was well patronised,and we had made arrangements to dine at 7pm. We were given what I would consider the best table ( in the corner by the windows). Things soon went downhill. We waited a full half hour to be given the chance to order anything,at which time we were told we would still wait another hour (!) before we got any food! This was clearly unacceptable! After remonstrating with staff, this issue was resolved and our dinner did arrive within a reasonable time thereafter. I had the Wienerschnitzel. It was adequate (if abundant!) but somewhat disappointing. The choice of wines was very sad and limited. We were not impressed!(Having been MANY times in Salzburg and throughout Austria!).

The mitigating aspects of staying here are the view over Lake Superior from the gardens adjacent to the motel rooms, and the fact that the owners/personnel are genuinely nice people who are trying to make the best of a bad job. In all honesty, I could would never recommend anyone to stay here,unless your taste is just one up from camping.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    24
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

After a cabin rental fell through for our visit during August holiday weekend, we booked the last two rooms at Salzburger Hof Lakeshore Resort, trying to be near other family members at a rental on Harmony Beach.
The view on Highway 17 was magnificent, all the way up the lake. We did drive north and the view gets more spectacular as the altitude increases. The resort provides daily park passes and had some great suggestions for day trips. They provide some brochures and outfitter information in the breakfast/lunch restaurant.
Yes, the cabins are dated, but we chose to be on the lake as opposed to staying in Sault Ste Marie. None of the area north of the city is commercially developed. Our end unit (#1) was clean, comfortable, and fairly spacious-1br and living/kitchen combo. Actually it was a little charming with a little chandelier over the dining table, but it did have the avocado green bathroom fixtures and wood-beam cottage decor.
We also had unit #6 for my mother with 2 double beds and a kitchenette.
We were prepared for the fact is was not upscale from the photos, both rooms smelled fresh and clean. No a/c, ceiling fans and standing fans are provided. The cabins have a heat system we didn't use. After the first night, a cool front came through, and no fan was needed. We opened up the windows and sliding door, and the cool Lake Superior breeze was very refreshing.
After talking to the staff, and telling them we were flying in, they provided towels for us, and refreshed during the week at our request.
I brought travel-size toiletries, and they came in handy, as none were provided, I brought my own hairdryer as I knew ahead of time the cabins were rustic. No outlet in the bathroom, but the bedroom had outlet by the dresser.
It was fairly simple to get closer to the restaurant and sit at the umbrella tables with our ipads/laptops to get some news via internet. I actually enjoyed being away from the electronics --what a vacation is for!
We had a couple of breakfasts that were pleasant, chatted with the owner.
The food was magnificent at dinner. We were attending a family gathering, and I called ahead and ordered a pan of cabbage rolls to take to our pot-luck gathering. They were wonderful. We also had a family dinner at the Austrian restaurant that was authentic and delicious. After that meal, we made reservations for the Friday night fish fry that was also delicious and buffet-style.
The cottages face the lake, but it's not a beach. Every evening we would sit out and enjoy the breeze and sunset. Plenty of chairs and lounge chairs were on the lawn, with horseshoes and shuffleboard available.
We enjoyed our stay, it was a pleasant week. We enjoyed taking the Algoma train ride, checking out the Canadian Carver and other gift shops in the area, enjoying the outdoors--hiking at Chippewa Falls, and visiting/walking at Harmony Beach.
Beware of the Zip Line--husband's shoulder was sore all week from the landing of the primitive Mega Zip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The resort is family owned and right on Batchawana Bay (Lake Superior.) The view from the room and grounds was fantastic! The motel room was large and clean although old and dated and the bathroom needs some work. The family also owns the restaurant on sight. Good Bavarian food at a fairly reasonable price. WiFi only available in office/clubhouse. If you are up early you will be treated to a beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I were on the circle tour of Lake Superior on our motorcycle and it had been raining most of the morning. When we walked in the front door we were welcomed with a warm smike and towels to dry off with. The view was beautiful even in the rain and the food was outstanding. We hope to go back with our family very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janglin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We wandered into the Salburger Hof for lunch one afternoon during our Lake Superior Circle Tour drive and are already sooo wishing this restaurant and resort were 500 miles closer to home. My husband is always searching for German/Austrian food to match the wonderful meals he remembers from his years in Germany and the Salzburger Hof did it! Weiner Schnitzel and seasoned potatoes, followed by mango cheesecake (the apple struedel hadn't been baked yet) were perfect. We were camping in Provincial parks this trip but would definitely plan to stay at this resort next time around. We wandered the well-kept grounds and admired the beautiful views and lake access before continuing our drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just returned from a wonderful trip to the Lake Superior Provincial Park Area. We stayed three great nights at the Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort. The rooms were very comfortable with gorgeous lake views. The grounds were extensive and immaculate. Ann and Sylvia made us feel right at home especially with the delicious meals they served. They were terrific tour guides making sure we knew about beautiful sights and interesting stops in the area. Truly a lovely restful place to stay while recharging. We are very much looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms are available for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Back from Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort and once again we had a great time. It was great catching up with Ann, Karen, and Sylvia. We had excellent meals at the restaurant. Try the chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, yummm! The weather was great and it made for excellent star gazing at night and its so easy to do,just walk outside your door and look up, beautiful. My only complaint is that our trip is too short, the days fly by so quickly. I can't wait to go back to Lake Shore and see everyone in the fall. Maybe we'll get lucky and see the otters on the river again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batchawana Bay
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
72.1 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
288.9 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Property: Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing