We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here with my sister and nephews on our way from southern Ontario to Thunder Bay. My sister booked it because they had passed by it before and always wondered what it was like. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised.

We knew we would be arriving late and the owners happily offered to leave the lights on for us and make sure our rooms were unlocked. It was great to just pull in and unload the kids into waiting beds.

The rooms were clean, and well appointed with a small fridge and microwave in each room. The furniture and decor were charming and totally in keeping with the voyageur theme as most of it is of log construction.

The views from the large picture window couldn't be beat as I fell asleep looking at the blue moon reflecting perfectly over the bay and woke to the waves washing up on the shore just across the highway.

This lodge is located right on the highway so you should expect some traffic noise. I am a light sleeper but, with the windows closed, the traffic sounds never woke me.

I would definitely look forward to another stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank switr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

You have to love what Frank and Gail are trying to do with this place. They bought a few old motels are constantly trying to improve them and make them something of a destination.

While work on the physical facilities continues, their genuine hospitality makes up for any short comings. We stayed here on the third day of our Lake Superior Circle tour, and it was by far our longest day of driving -- we had come from Thunder Bay that morning. When we checked in around 5:30, Frank checked us in quickly, put us on the dinner waiting list, and after a short wait, he walked over to our room to make sure we were settled in and to tell us that our table in the cookhouse was ready. Later that night, after an evening of finding "cool" rocks in the bay across the street from the motel, we were sitting on the bench in front of our room taking in the view. Gail came up to make sure we were comfortable and that we had enough linens, etc.

Please see my review of the cookhouse to understand what a treat you are in for there.

Room Tip: We had room 3 in the south part of the motel. It had two double beds with a futon that was also a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My title sums it up. If you can tolerate a rustic cabin feel in order to access beautiful Batchawana Bay and Lake Superior Provincial Park, then you will be very pleased with Voyageur's. The rooms were clean, they had satellite TV, and our room had a couch and fridge. The only downside was that the bathroom was a little questionable but you need to expect that at a roadside motel. My observation was that the Voyageur was the best motel in the area and I would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms with sitting areas. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Upon arriving at Voyageurs lodge and cookhouse, every person on staff was extremely friendly. This past weekend was the first time there for ice climbing and because of the season, we were the only out-of-towners there. Despite coming back from climbs towards the end of their business hours, the staff stayed late to make sure we had a nice hearty meal. They even had the table set for us once we got back from a good day of climbing! The rooms are extremely well kept (despite our particular room not having a main room light). The larger rooms with kitchens are great. The view of the bay is great. Great location to stay for climbers.
Frank and Gail (and their whole staff) have an excellent thing going for them. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a nice place to just lay your head down for the night, if you plan on hosting a group to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed only 2 days but we were thrilled to have found this place. The rooms are cozy, clean and well layed out with nice beds. The view is to die for being across the road from Batchwana bay and the beach.
The restaurant was superb and made some of the best whitefish I have ever eaten. Every single staff person we spoke to could not do enough for us. The customer service here is second to none. And to top it off if you are in need of something else there is an on site variety store.
If you are in this area and do not stay here you have just settled for second best. I am not giving this place high praise, they earned it !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We've been here for ATV trips several times. This year (2011) was exceptional. Return late, after the restaurant was closed, we were thrilled to find dinner for 4 hungry guys in our room. Owners Frank and Gail and their staff obviously went one step farther than most innkeepers. Many thanks guys. If you are looking for an amazing stay and particularly if you love ATVing check them out. You will be thrilled.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had stayed here many years ago and thought it would be fun to stay here again for old time sake. We were on our way to Northern Ontario to hunt bear and had such a good time I wished we could stay longer. We made sure to stop in again on our way home. It is right on Lake Superior and the beach and views are FABULOUS. This place has such charm and reminded me so much of great trips from my childhood and my childrens childhoods. Yet it had all the modern conveniences that I've come to love. I LOVE this place.

Room Tip: If you need absolute dark to sleep ask for a room on the South end (to the right of the General Stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse

Address: P.O. Box 129, Hwy. #17 North, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Batchawana Bay
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Voyageurs' Lodge And Cookhouse is located across from Batchawana Bay, on a three mile sand beach. It has a 54 seat restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Many rooms have a lake view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse Batchawana Bay, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing