We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Full Moon Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Full Moon Village
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the Full Moon Village for 5 nights after a tour of Cambodia and Vietnam and appreciated the quality and relaxed atmosphere. We cannot fault any of the hotel facilities and we felt that the bar and restaurant prices were very reasonable and encouraged us to stay on site and just to enjoy the hotel. The beach and beach activities were excellent, the staff regularly cleaned and tidied the beach, villa and surrounding gardens. The villa itself was amazing being well designed and equipped with comfortable furniture and fittings. Our one recommendation is to use the taxi service offered by the hotel for transfers, we did not use it on the way there to our regret and cost, but did use it on the return to the airport, which made getting to the airport at least bearable. Overall a wonderful hotel with an excellent manager Silviana who was always available and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Glebeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    32
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
93
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tam Ky, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Phan Thiet is a charming coastal town and we're stay in Full Moon about 3 night and it was such a joy. It is well  worth going for walk around so as it is used as a seasonal harbor baby the town’s fishermen.The staff so friendly we felt like we'd joined their family. Excellent location with the beautiful beach and amazing on-site specifications as spa, outside pool restaurant and bars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank phobotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After three weeks travelling in Vietnam our family was ready for a place to unwind and thankfully we had booked into the Full Moon Village. We arrived full of expectation thanks to great Trip Advisor reports and were not disappointed.

The stand-out feature is the quality and size of the accommodation. The rooms are spacious and well air conditioned the bathrooms huge. Your villa is surrounded by a bamboo fence with two wooden gates serving as the entrance so your privacy is guaranteed.

The pool area is brilliant and never felt particularly busy despite that fact that there were many families there over xmas. The beach is great and the water sport guys are very attentive and helpful if you wish to venture out on a surfboard, paddle board etc.

Any well run resort is usually down to the management and in this case it was no different. Silvian was an excellent host and surprisingly accessible for a busy person with a resort to run. Nothing is to much trouble and this attitude is reflected in the staff.

Thank you Full Moon Village - we left Vietnam ready to face 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It is good to know a few things before traveling here: Mui Ne is located in the Binh Thuan province, whose capital is Phan Thiet. If your deciding to come here by train (e.g. from Saigon, 4 hrs, we arrived even after 3.45 hrs; generally, the train is quite convenient), this is where you'll arrive. Taxis are waiting outside the (new?) train station which is a bit outside of the city center. They could drive you to the hotel (probably around 30 mins). Alternatively, there is apparently a local bus or you could use the hotel's free shuttle (leaving from the city center and used by the staff, too). The journey with both the local bus and the shuttle takes about an hour.

Mui Ne consists of two parts (which are of interest): Mui Ne fishing village and Mui Ne touristic center, the latter being closer to Phan Thiet (and called Ham Tien, I believe). A lot of hotels are located here, however, there is no real beach (except at very low tide). Consequently, the hotels and beach clubs offer sun loungers on a pool deck or on an elevated artificial beach and stairs down to the water. By the way: The Full Moon Village's sister hotel, Full Moon Beach, is located here, too, together with a lot of restaurants, bars/clubs and shops (the Full Moon Village's free shuttle stops here several times per day).

The Full Moon Village, in contrast, is located along the coast after Mui Ne fishing village (20-30 mins from Mui Ne touristic center) and has the advantage of a long stretch of beach. It basically consists of two parts, the restaurant and the beach club, both of them directly at the beach, and the villas with the pool area and a pool restaurant. The two parts are separated by a very small road which is barely trafficked.

The pool area and the villas are spacious and beautiful, and the property seems to be very well maintained. The bathroom was of reasonable size, and we liked it, even though there was no shower curtain. The restaurant (vietnamese and western food) is good, too, and offers quite a few vegetarian options as well (expect around $15-20/person/meal incl. cocktails and wine). The staff, even though a few of them barely spoke English (however, don't forget that you're in Vietnam), was always friendly and was, after having crossed the language barrier, able to manage diverse extra wishes if necessary. Furthermore, Silvian, the GM, was always around to help if needed, and it seemed that he's a very good relationship with his staff. Indeed, he did a great job. Finally, the biggest asset is probably the beach (but don't expect a clean beach all along the stretch) and the beach club, offering, among others, surfing (including wind and kite), kayaking, and sailing (many activities are included in the room price). I booked a kite lesson with instructor Steve (from Hawaï, 65 years old and still in a great shape) and had a wonderful time - loved it! Thus, if you're into watersports, this is the place to be - and if you like beaches, of course!

After all the good news, here come the cons: We were staying in a two bedroom villa which we had on our own (the second room was not occupied and, thus, locked). That was, of course, great and we enjoyed the space and the secluded garden (all the villas have their own secluded outdoor area), especially in the evening, while reading a book or watching a movie (great choice!). And if we had stayed in such a villa with friends, that would have been nice too. However, if we had stayed here with strangers, the experience would probably have been different, as the common areas (living/dining room, garden) do not offer any kind of "in-villa" privacy. Thus, we suggest asking the hotel whether the second room will be occupied or not (though we can't comment on the bigger villas) before you book - if this is an issue. In any case, you would probably want to head for the pool or the beach anyway, as we did, so that this shouldn't be a major problem and prevent you from coming here.

Furthermore, one room's bathroom has some kind of a small window (carved wood with gaps), right under the ceiling, that is open to the common areas. Sitting in the living room, you'd actually be able to hear what's happening in your neighbor's bathroom. Finally, the other room's bathroom has the same kind of open window, but this time to the garden. Hence, at night, you'll have plenty of bugs or mosquitos flying into the bathroom if you light a lamp (simple mosquito nets in front of the window would be helpful). It is worth noting, however, that you have mosquito nets around the bed, but, additionally, more could be done by the hotel (such as offering repellent of whatever kind in the common areas which cannot be closed entirely - again, carved wood with gaps). Last but not least, the sun loungers on the beach, in contrast to the ones by the pool, need a "face lifting".

Nevertheless, we'd definitely recommend this hotel, and we would come back. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the laid back wibe, and the nice beach with the wild coastline. Thank you, Full Moon Village, for a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank AndreasB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After constant travel for 5 weeks in north Africa and Europe, we had chosen Full Moon Village as somewhere quiet to relax and do nothing at all on the last leg of our journey before returning home. We were not disappointed. We booked 5 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa with a spacious living area and private garden. Each villa is fully fenced and you can shut the front gate and have total privacvy if wanted. The villas are beautiful with a lot of intricate carving, lush gardens - ours included both coconut and banana trees - a nice little plunge pool, a daybed, a couple of sun loungers and great sun. The Village is located across the road from the beach, and as well as the villas, includes a beautiful swimming pool with a bar/restaurant area attached.The pool is for use by guests only. The gardens and paths are beautifully maintained.

On the beach side of the road, is Jibes Beach Club - this houses the Reception area for the village, a restaurant which provides the daily breakfast buffet and all-day meals and drinks and is also where the watersports such as surfing are run from and all the sporting equipment is available. There are also sun loungers etc.

We spent very little time at the beach club and surrounds other than for meals, as although the beach is kept clean immediately in front of Jibes, the beach stretching either side is the dirtiest i have ever seen littlered with plastic bags, old jandals, polystyrene, bottles etc, presumably washed up from the sea which we found off-putting. Particularly with the sparkling clean pool available across at the Village.

The service was attentive in the restaurant, and they did a good mix of vietnamese and western dishes including a great Pho Bo and really good vietnamese iced coffee. Nice selection at the breakfast buffet each day with the full range from fruit and cereals, breads, eggs cooked to order, hot dishes etc. The reception staff and management were friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed this Hotel/resort's location being well-away from the main tourist strip, and it's an easy trip if you decide you want a change of scene for a few hours and either go in to Mui Ne's busy tourist area about half an hour away by local bus, or into Pan Thiet which is an hour by local bus. The public bus leaves around every 20 minutes, from a bus stop 2 minutes walk from Full Moon Village. It costs 13 dong to the tourist area of Mui Ne (lots of restaurants, shops, tour organisers, accommodation/hotels as well as convenience stores) and 19 dong into Pan Thiet where the bus stops right outside the shopping mall building which includes a supermarket. The bus stops are clearly marked with blue and white signs, and you just need to flag down a number 1 bus either direction. Full Moon Village also offers a free shuttle service between Full Moon Village, Full Moon Beach Resort which is located in the Mui Ne Ham Tien area (main Mui Ne tourist strip in town), and Pan Thiet - or anywhere else you'd like to get off on the way. If the Hotel shuttle timetable doesn't suit, you can always do as we did and get the shuttle in one direction, and the public bus back. If you want to stay in during the evening, there is unlimited free access to 'pay' movies and a wide selection of cable tv channels. We did not use the kitchen other than to make drinks, however it is equipped with some equipment if you want to cook but you would need to bring all the basics along with your food (salt, oil etc) and you can ask reception if there is any particular cooking equipment needed. Housekeeping provides lots of bottled water each day as needed.

We reached Full Moon Village via train from HCM to Pan Thiet, then taxi to Full Moon Village. The taxi cost about 600 dong each way. The train journey was about 4 hours, was a relaxing way to travel and is cheap (USD18 per person each way)- we caught the SPT2 train there and the SPT1 train back. Tickets were pre-purchased over the internet with no problems , and delivered on time to our HCM hotel, despite us changing the ticket delivery instructions with the Railway due to having to change our original hotel booking.

Room Tip: We had Villa 1 which was close to the pool - Villas 1, 2 and 3 are all just seconds walk from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank custy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent a week at this resort, and it had excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and a great location. I would happy return. The ride from Saigon airport is a bit rough but once you arrive you are in a special place. David Wisner

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBrianWisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived here with very high expectations after so many favorable reviews, and we were not dissapoined. Full Moon Village is a remarkable oasis in the middle of nowhere. Everything is exactly as grand clean, well maintained and pleasant as mentioned in the reviews.

There are some other resorts nearby, but they seem to have been under construction for a while and nof finished yet, and in some cases I doubt they will be in the reasonable future. So at present, do not expect to walk to a cozy bar or restaurant nearby.

This was a great place for us as we just wanted to relax. The facilities are large, and even though the resort was full, you sometimes felt like you were alone. The service is great, the food is good and the beach unspoiled and beautyful, and great for swiming and watersports

The only reasons not to go for Full Moon Village is if you want active nighlife, a variety of restaurants and some shoping on a daily basis. Mui Ne itself is better in this case, as the cab ride or shuttle bus will take about half an hour. For us, returning to FMV after the hazzle in Mui Ne was one of the perks however.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NickNixxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mui Ne hotels
4.4 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 20 in Mui Ne
643 reviews
5.6 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 20 in Mui Ne
288 reviews
12.1 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#7 of 20 in Mui Ne
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mui Ne Village resort and Kitesurf
4.0 mi away
Sandunes Beach Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 20 in Mui Ne
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Village

Property: Full Moon Village
Address: Suoi Nuoc Beach, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 84062, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Full Moon Village 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Full Moon Village is a hidden retreat located away from touristic bustle on a long strip of untouched sandy beach only 20 km away from Mui Ne. Inspired by traditional Northern Vietnamese countryside houses 17 spacious (minimum 140 sq.m.) villas have modern amenities and fully-equipped kitchen. The décor of villas includes distinctive handicrafts and rare fabrics carefully collected from different corners of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Full Moon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing