We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for the money and a decent 3 star hotel”
Review of Full Moon Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Full Moon Village
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great position right on the beach , you have breakfast overlooking the sea with a very welcoming bunch of staff who were so friendly which helped make us feel very welcome . The room we had on the ground floor was average and a bit dark especially the bathroom ....... perhaps a bit tired but it was good value for money .

Its also right in the middle of Mui Ne so ideal for walking to bars and restaurants .

Room Tip: the beach facing deluxe rooms would be best with the 4 poster bed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogsjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa as a family of 6 with 2 children ages 5 and 8 over the Tet holiday for 10 days and would have loved to stay even longer!

The resort manager Silvian from Holland was extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful, responding to our requests immediately, and providing recommendations for eating and transportation in town at Ham Tien or Phan Thiet.

The beach was beautiful, with a shallow slope perfect for children. When we were there in January, there were no sand flies on the beach that we had read about from other reviews.

For the kids: Our boys loved bogey boarding and building sand castles at the beach. The pool was also a great place to play and relax. There is also a trampoline and play structure for the kids. The staff can also give your children leftover bread to feed the fish in the restaurant pond.

We also had a private BBQ dinner at the pool which was delicious and fantastic.
We took the resort shuttle into town often and would recommend these restaurants: Bibo and Hoa Vien for local seafood. Taxi back from town is about 350,000 VND.

Sinh Tour bus arriving in Ham Tien city can drop you off at the sister hotel Full Moon Beach Bungalow, and you can then catch the hotel shuttle to the resort.

Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a low key, relaxing beach vacation. It's 30 minutes away from the hustle bustle of Ham Tien. Morning runs and swims at the beach were so awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CambridgeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014



Unfortunately our stay comes to the end. Tomorrow we will leave Viet Nam

Please do not miss to visit this place during your stay in Vietnam, especially when you travel with kids or are looking for quiet and peaceful holidays. I’m sure you will like it. Big ( 130-170 m2 ) villas with wooden outfit, huge private gardens with tropical flowers and outside own jacuzzi, empty beach, friendly cuisine ( for those who like Asian or European food ), very sensible and friendly managing person Mr Silvian and helpful and smiling staff.

Thank you Silvian

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the Full Moon Village for 5 nights after a tour of Cambodia and Vietnam and appreciated the quality and relaxed atmosphere. We cannot fault any of the hotel facilities and we felt that the bar and restaurant prices were very reasonable and encouraged us to stay on site and just to enjoy the hotel. The beach and beach activities were excellent, the staff regularly cleaned and tidied the beach, villa and surrounding gardens. The villa itself was amazing being well designed and equipped with comfortable furniture and fittings. Our one recommendation is to use the taxi service offered by the hotel for transfers, we did not use it on the way there to our regret and cost, but did use it on the return to the airport, which made getting to the airport at least bearable. Overall a wonderful hotel with an excellent manager Silviana who was always available and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Glebeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Phan Thiet is a charming coastal town and we're stay in Full Moon about 3 night and it was such a joy. It is well  worth going for walk around so as it is used as a seasonal harbor baby the town’s fishermen.The staff so friendly we felt like we'd joined their family. Excellent location with the beautiful beach and amazing on-site specifications as spa, outside pool restaurant and bars.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank phobotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After three weeks travelling in Vietnam our family was ready for a place to unwind and thankfully we had booked into the Full Moon Village. We arrived full of expectation thanks to great Trip Advisor reports and were not disappointed.

The stand-out feature is the quality and size of the accommodation. The rooms are spacious and well air conditioned the bathrooms huge. Your villa is surrounded by a bamboo fence with two wooden gates serving as the entrance so your privacy is guaranteed.

The pool area is brilliant and never felt particularly busy despite that fact that there were many families there over xmas. The beach is great and the water sport guys are very attentive and helpful if you wish to venture out on a surfboard, paddle board etc.

Any well run resort is usually down to the management and in this case it was no different. Silvian was an excellent host and surprisingly accessible for a busy person with a resort to run. Nothing is to much trouble and this attitude is reflected in the staff.

Thank you Full Moon Village - we left Vietnam ready to face 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It is good to know a few things before traveling here: Mui Ne is located in the Binh Thuan province, whose capital is Phan Thiet. If your deciding to come here by train (e.g. from Saigon, 4 hrs, we arrived even after 3.45 hrs; generally, the train is quite convenient), this is where you'll arrive. Taxis are waiting outside the (new?) train station which is a bit outside of the city center. They could drive you to the hotel (probably around 30 mins). Alternatively, there is apparently a local bus or you could use the hotel's free shuttle (leaving from the city center and used by the staff, too). The journey with both the local bus and the shuttle takes about an hour.

Mui Ne consists of two parts (which are of interest): Mui Ne fishing village and Mui Ne touristic center, the latter being closer to Phan Thiet (and called Ham Tien, I believe). A lot of hotels are located here, however, there is no real beach (except at very low tide). Consequently, the hotels and beach clubs offer sun loungers on a pool deck or on an elevated artificial beach and stairs down to the water. By the way: The Full Moon Village's sister hotel, Full Moon Beach, is located here, too, together with a lot of restaurants, bars/clubs and shops (the Full Moon Village's free shuttle stops here several times per day).

The Full Moon Village, in contrast, is located along the coast after Mui Ne fishing village (20-30 mins from Mui Ne touristic center) and has the advantage of a long stretch of beach. It basically consists of two parts, the restaurant and the beach club, both of them directly at the beach, and the villas with the pool area and a pool restaurant. The two parts are separated by a very small road which is barely trafficked.

The pool area and the villas are spacious and beautiful, and the property seems to be very well maintained. The bathroom was of reasonable size, and we liked it, even though there was no shower curtain. The restaurant (vietnamese and western food) is good, too, and offers quite a few vegetarian options as well (expect around $15-20/person/meal incl. cocktails and wine). The staff, even though a few of them barely spoke English (however, don't forget that you're in Vietnam), was always friendly and was, after having crossed the language barrier, able to manage diverse extra wishes if necessary. Furthermore, Silvian, the GM, was always around to help if needed, and it seemed that he's a very good relationship with his staff. Indeed, he did a great job. Finally, the biggest asset is probably the beach (but don't expect a clean beach all along the stretch) and the beach club, offering, among others, surfing (including wind and kite), kayaking, and sailing (many activities are included in the room price). I booked a kite lesson with instructor Steve (from Hawaï, 65 years old and still in a great shape) and had a wonderful time - loved it! Thus, if you're into watersports, this is the place to be - and if you like beaches, of course!

After all the good news, here come the cons: We were staying in a two bedroom villa which we had on our own (the second room was not occupied and, thus, locked). That was, of course, great and we enjoyed the space and the secluded garden (all the villas have their own secluded outdoor area), especially in the evening, while reading a book or watching a movie (great choice!). And if we had stayed in such a villa with friends, that would have been nice too. However, if we had stayed here with strangers, the experience would probably have been different, as the common areas (living/dining room, garden) do not offer any kind of "in-villa" privacy. Thus, we suggest asking the hotel whether the second room will be occupied or not (though we can't comment on the bigger villas) before you book - if this is an issue. In any case, you would probably want to head for the pool or the beach anyway, as we did, so that this shouldn't be a major problem and prevent you from coming here.

Furthermore, one room's bathroom has some kind of a small window (carved wood with gaps), right under the ceiling, that is open to the common areas. Sitting in the living room, you'd actually be able to hear what's happening in your neighbor's bathroom. Finally, the other room's bathroom has the same kind of open window, but this time to the garden. Hence, at night, you'll have plenty of bugs or mosquitos flying into the bathroom if you light a lamp (simple mosquito nets in front of the window would be helpful). It is worth noting, however, that you have mosquito nets around the bed, but, additionally, more could be done by the hotel (such as offering repellent of whatever kind in the common areas which cannot be closed entirely - again, carved wood with gaps). Last but not least, the sun loungers on the beach, in contrast to the ones by the pool, need a "face lifting".

Nevertheless, we'd definitely recommend this hotel, and we would come back. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the laid back wibe, and the nice beach with the wild coastline. Thank you, Full Moon Village, for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank AndreasB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
4.4 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
694 reviews
5.6 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 24 in Mui Ne
319 reviews
12.1 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#6 of 24 in Mui Ne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#10 of 128 in Phan Thiet
1,018 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cliff Resort & Residences
The Cliff Resort & Residences
#9 of 128 in Phan Thiet
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Village

Address: Suoi Nuoc Beach, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 84062, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range: £49 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Full Moon Village 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Full Moon Village is a hidden retreat located away from touristic bustle on a long strip of untouched sandy beach only 20 km away from Mui Ne. Inspired by traditional Northern Vietnamese countryside houses 17 spacious (minimum 140 sq.m.) villas have modern amenities and fully-equipped kitchen. The décor of villas includes distinctive handicrafts and rare fabrics carefully collected from different corners of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Full Moon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing