We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded but tops for tranquillity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sailing Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Mui Ne
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Secluded but tops for tranquillity”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed over a few days and despite the rowdy crowd (Tet New Year), we were surprised that the skeletal staff coped rather well. Other than the main receptionists, the staff do not know English. The out of town centre location meant that some meals could be taken at the restaurant. The food (Western and local fare) is of average quality but passable for a 4 star hotel. The room is big and nicely furnished with 2 relief artworks figures of Greek methology. From my ocean view balcony, seen features are : an inviting beach, a big pool shaped like the alphabet 'a'; palm-lined landscape, white hexagon-shaped stone blocks acting as pathways, a kid's playground, and solar-powered night lights. To complete the picture, there are 5 blocks of 4-storied rooms with a semi-circular open area as the restaurant and on top of that was a small gym with sparse equipment.. Breakfast was a usual mix of Western and Asian fare and depleted items were topped up swiftly. We were there for R&R, so kitesurfing was not our game. All in all, had a pleasant break away from 'dead' city HCM.

Room Tip: Was in room 7307 and there was an irritating noise arising from the topping-up of WC from the auto w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2017
Dear Swee L,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to review our Resort after your recent stay.

On behalf of the The Sailing Bay Mui Ne Resort team, I would like to thank you for your most positive comments about your recent journey with us and it was a pleasure to read that you have had a memorable experience.

The Entire Team joins me in thanking you for your kind words. We are all thrilled to note that you appreciated our Facilities and Services.

We are sorry about the English level of our staff that made you feel inconvinient. In 2017, we have the plan to teach English for all staffes with the final purpose is providing the best communication experience between our guests and staffes.

About the GYM Equipments, in this year, we also have the plan to upgrade everthing to make the plenty in choices for our guests.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer.

We look forward to your next visit as we would be most happy to show you all the changes we are undertaking and our service that you have appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    21
    19
    16
See reviews for
29
42
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at the Sailing Bay over Christmas and had a wonderful time.

The rooms are gorgeous and I had a 4th floor sea view room which was very comfortable. The pool area is lovely and I enjoyed a relaxing time.

The resort is out of town, but there's not much to see in the town other than the fab harbour with coracles and I walked :)

If you want to surf or kitesurf it's a great resort.

Mostly European and Russian guests it's relatively quiet which suited me.


Some thoughts relating to other reviews:

The staff do not speak English....No they're local (which is a good thing) and usually anticipated my needs without me needing to say a word! When foreigners visit the UK do we speak their languages....thought not!

Food....I agree not great, more variety would be good with an a'la carte and snack menu as a change to the buffet would be good. Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Up high for fine views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimeswithrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Sometimeswithrene,

On behalf of the The Sailing Bay Mui Ne Resort team, I would like to thank you for your most positive comments about your recent journey with us and it was a pleasure to read that you have had a memorable experience.

The Entire Team joins me in thanking you for your appreciative words about our Resort, Facilities and Service.

We are sorry about the English level of our staff that made you feel inconvinient. In 2017, we have the plan to teach English for all staffes with the final purpose is providing the best communication experience between our guests and staffes.

About the food, we have upgraded, until now, by inputing many delicious dishes (both Asian and European style). By extending the menu more, we believe that the diversity of resort will satisfy the high-requirement from Discerning Guests.

We all look forward to your future visits to our Resort and we would be happy to show case all the upgrades that we are constantly under taking.

With warmest regards,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission beach australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautiful big new Hotel, in the best Surfing location!
We found this hotel as everything else was booked solid in the central older area of Mui Ne.
Not exactly personalised service but still the staff were definitely trying.
As other reviews have said, the hotel is big and brand new and is definitely worth it’s four star rating however the staff still need some training so we may come back come in the future when everything has settled in a bit more if we are in the area again.
Unlike most of the hotels in Mui Ne, it is on the 'other side'- on a great surf beach and offers a lot compared to the crowded beach in Mui Ne busy central area where we previously stayed in much older (but same priced) hotel.
As this hotel is really very spacious we enjoyed the hotel and the uncrowded long beach.
The rooms are very big and well fitted out.
Something that stood out was the hotels waterspout center 'Kite-N-Surf' where the licencee, Rob and his very friendly and professional experienced staff really looked after us when we went surfing or SUP everyday before breakfast and gave us a fantastic Introduction to Kitesurfing as they were not so busy as on our last visit to this part of vietnam in the busy central area where there are quite a few kite surfing schools where it can seem daunting to try kite surfing with all the other kites competing for 'sky'.
We also hired a motor scooter which was cheap and saved us the trouble and expense of taxi for the few trips we did around Mui Ne and gave us freedom to search out the locals rather than only the tourist areas which a taxi would have kept us too.

Room Tip: pay the extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear dril mission beach australia,

Thank you indeed for relaying such a positive review of your recent stay at the The Sailing Bay Mui Ne Resort!

The Entire Team joins me in thanking you for your kind words. We are all thrilled to note that you appreciated our Facilities and Services.

As part of The Sailing Bay Mui Ne, we work hard to ensure all Discerning Guest like you get the service and attention synonymous to the Brand.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer.

We look forward to your next visit as we would be most happy to show you all the changes we are undertaking and our service that you have appreciated.

Warm regards,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The resort is nice, but I would say it is quite average.

The rooms are very nice, large and very well served, but the rest of the resort is nothing special. The staff however is very nice and helpful.

To be kept in mind that the resort is about 10 minutes drive from town, so it will cost about 10 dollars each way.

Also, in the afternoon (january) there is a very strong wind in the bay and it is almost impossible to stay outside. It is however great for kitesurfing.

Overall a nice place with some little downpoints.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europewedding_massi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Europewedding_massi,

Thank you for your short and too the point review of our Resort after your recent stay.

For a Discerning Guest like you to appreciate the same is heart warming for us.

From 2016, we apply the Complimentary Shuttle Bus to transfer Guests from Resort to the famous locations, twice in one day as its schedule. It's very helpful for Guests because they can save the time and money when they want to discover Mui Ne.

Providing the most relaxing, comfortable and exceptional stay one can have during his journey has always been our pride and commitment for many years.

We thank you for choosing our Resort and look forward to being at your service once again.

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Me, my husband and my sister booked (42, 32 and 21) this resort in June, months before they even opened. We paid through Agoda as I contacted the sales office direct on 3 occasions only to be told they were not able to give me any prices, even though they advertised a price list on their website.

This hotel should have been the luxurious part of our months trip in Vietnam. Somewhere to just laze around the pool and enjoy nice surroundings.

We arrived at this hotel on the 26.12.2013 after numerous phone calls and emails to the manager at The Sailing Bay regarding our price. Days before we were due to arrive we noticed that the night rate is 40 GBP, 60 USD LESS than the rate we paid back in June. My last email from the hotel led us to believe that the original booking was changed and we would pay the current rate. How mistaken we were.

After an hours explaining of our situation to the receptionist, who hardly spoke any english at all we were reassured that it was no problem and they would sort it out with AGODA.

We were taken to our room which was nice, clean and modern but the aircon was not working. That was fixed at 23.40 that day as we were lying in bed!

Just to sum up a few really annoying problems when you pay 150 GBP, 225 USD/night.

* No coffee was served in the morning - once out of 7 nights a member of staff offered us a coffee/tea in the morning, otherwise we had to go and find someone to serve us, then we waited 10-15 minutes before they served 2 coffees, 3. one again to be asked for!!

* Ordered lunch at the resort on three occasions - returned 2 of them! Food was either cold, no tuna on a tuna salad! and the best one was the fact that I ordered the same dish as the day before and received something completely different. Unacceptable when you pay western prices. Were offered a free drink for waiting only to find them on our bill later!

* Nobody speaks english. I mean NOBODY. Trying to order something, solve a problem, complain..is just impossible. The hotel consists of 90% Russian clientele so they have a native russian rep on reception in case they need anything

* FREE BIKES - as advertised on booking.com, agoda - were not FREE, they wanted 80.000 VND, which we could not be bothered to argue about. Reserved 3 mountain bikes, when we got to reception at the arranged time, were told only two bikes are available. A member of staff went looking for another bike, found one and off we went. 2 minutes later we realised these bikes were not rideable. The brakes were not working, seats were loose, handle bar on my husbands bike kept turning. No gears. We had to stop in a nearest shop, rented new bikes and left those 58 luxurious resort to be bikes with them. We just simply did not pay the money after returning back to the hotel and gave up complaining.

* Booked a massage on New Years Day as a treat, spa also offered a 30% discount, at 16.00 That morning I went to cancel the sauna we booked before the massage only to find out our massage or sauna were not even booked! Called the manager over who was trying to say that we probably never booked the treatments!! After 30 minutes of them shouting we were told only 2 members of staff were available, we booked 3 massages. The receptionist offered himself to massage my husband! At checkout we were charged the full price for the 3 different times we had a massage. My husband questioned the 30% discount offered on leaflets every day by the pool - apparently there is a 30% tax on services in Vietnam so the discount was not even taken off!! Overall, the massage was very professional and good.

* Breakfast - fruit, cheeses, bread, hot meals like curry, spaghetti but a complete lack of good quality muesli and healthy options. 1 chef preparing eggs and 20 hungry people in the queue. The whole feeling of the restaurant was a school canteen.

* And finally the day of our departure. My husband went to sort out the bill around 9.00, he waited 1.5 hours for things to get sorted. He found 2 receipts on our bill with a different room number and signature. The problem with the room rate was not sorted as promised and we had to pay the full bill otherwise we would have missed our bus to Saigon as there was nobody to speak to in english.

We left the resort every evening to eat out. There are so many wonderful, authentic vietnamese hotels around that there is really no need to stay in the sailing bay. I really regret spending our hard earned cash on a hotel that is not even worth half the room rate. There is no transfer to the main strip provided by the hotel so to get to town and back will cost you 10 GBP, 15 USD.

* Overall, I would not return even if they offered us a free stay.

It is a huge shame as all the potential is there, but lack of staff training, basic english skills and so many BASIC FAULTS make this hotel THE WORST resort we have ever been to for this amount of money.

We spent hours complaining, trying to sort this out instead of enjoying our time there.

BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear Adriana M,

Thank you for your detailed review after your recent stay with us.

I do sincerely apologize once again for the issues which you experienced during your holiday trip.

I've read your review carefully and I was saddened to read about the challenges you experienced during these days. From now on, 2017, we have many changes in operating process if comparing to 2013_the time we had just started everything, it's also the time you visited.

Striving to improve and maintain an unparalleled assistance level in facilities and services, or any other area, has been and will always be our first priority.

Please accept our sincere apologize for all the inconveniences and be rest assured that I have already put in place the corrective action. Your comments are valued and would help us to improve for the future.

Thank you again and best wishes for your future travels,

With warmest regards,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mui Ne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived late in town after a day on the bike and this glimmering monolith was the first port of call.. so I payed the hundred bucks and got a room. Front receptionist was a shocker! although the bell boys were cool.
Place was crawling with wannabe, nuveaux riche Russians, trying in vain, so it appeared to try and seek out a similar lifestyle to their much resented oligarchs.
* side note
The girl running the bar/ restaurant opposite the hotel and her establishment put a hundred million dollar monstrosity to shame.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mastronix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Dear mastronix75,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor and share your thoughts.

At the Sailing Bay, from 2014 to 2017, we served many international guests from many countries, not exclusive for Russians guests.

I am so sorry that your last impression of our resort was so negative. We would like to explain that from now on, 2017, we have many changes in operating process if comparing to 2014_the time we had just started everything, it's also the time you visited.

At The Sailing Bay Mui Ne resort we are very concerned about guest satisfaction and comfort, I’m really sorry that we didn’t manage to please you despite all our efforts.

We highly appreciate your comments and all other guests as well with our gratitude because they help us to recognize all shortcomings despite of subjective or objective reasons.

I trust that we will be given an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future by having the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Vast and white, like an enormous fridge that's been pushed onto its side by a belligerent giant, the Sailing Bay has the imprint of a designer who takes a utilitarian approach to accommodation, possibly with a background in heavy industry. Everything is big and impersonal; the wide, shiny corridors servicing the 200 odd rooms have all the allure of a private hospital, the rooms are the size of an entire flat, decked out like a show home. Service is enthusiastic but not necessarily efficient or accurate; a replacement kettle took 4 phone calls to procure whilst the front desk clerk enthusiastically informed us that we couldn't book tickets for the train to Nha Trang as it was full up. It turned out he meant the bus and was wrong about that anyway. Similarly, be warned it is *miles* from anywhere you would call a restaurant - about 3 in fact - so you'll need cabs to avoid dining in the mediocrity that is the hotel's (overpriced) restaurant. Bafflingly popular with the almost exclusively Russian speaking clientele which I can only prescribe to the Soviet style architecture. One of the few hotels where my heart sank the closer I got to it and noticeably lifted once we'd gone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_notmyrealname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Sailing_Bay_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailing Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Dear Mr_notmyrealname,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I was saddened to read about the challenges you experienced during these days.

All we know that, the emotion of people will be effected by his/her favourite things or unwanted things, including the architecture and decor. What a pity in case you didn't like our resort's design.

At our resort, we always serve and provide the best services for all international guests from many countries over the world. This is our commitment and we try to meet the higher requirements from Discerning Guests day by day. We are really sorry for this as it made you feel uncomfortable.

Also, we seriously look into it and make suitable adjustment in order that this won’t make anyone feel intrusive.

Thank you again and best wishes for your future travels,

Tam Tran,
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mui Ne hotels
0.1 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
664 reviews
5.7 mi away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 23 in Mui Ne
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandunes Beach Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#7 of 23 in Mui Ne
163 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 23 in Mui Ne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sailing Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sailing Bay Beach Resort

Property: The Sailing Bay Beach Resort
Address: 107 Ho Xuan Huong, | Ward 14,, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sailing Bay Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sailing Bay Beach Resort is located along immaculate golden beaches fringing the eastern Mui Ne coast, where you get to indulge and pamper yourself unlike anywhere else in Vietnam.With its picturesque setting, full modern amenities and impeccable service, The Sailing Bay Beach Resort is the ideal destination for romantic getaways, fun-filled family adventures and memorable company activities.Boasting 192 rooms with lovely sea views and furnished with modern comforts, the spacious and elegant deluxe rooms are designed to pamper you to the fullest. The beautifully landscaped resort also boasts a large swimming pool, it's own restaurant and pool bar, ballroom and meeting room facilities, as well as a gym with a view to the sea. Garden-View rooms come with their own private outdoor jacuzzis.If that's not enough, the resort is also home to the KNS (Kite-N-Surf) school with over 6 years of professional experience in Mui Ne water sport activities. Whether you are a newbie or a pro surfer, this is the ultimate spot for water sport action.The resort also organises excursions to the nearby sand dunes for crazy ATV fun, tours to some of the oldest Cham monuments, and unforgettable visits to beach fish markets where local merchants ply their fresh catches of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sailing Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing