We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
24
10
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
10
6
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during summer. A rural but pleasant hotel in the middle of vineyards. Breakfast was included and is really great. Service and food in the restaurant was perfect. They have this fireplace which they use to grill meat and bread on, very nice.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tjohhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

This must have been our 10th time. The food keeps surprising us. On your way from Barcelona to Tarragona and looking for an unforgettable gastronomic experience! The place to be .
Jordi and Meri are moreover great hosts. Not to forget their new wine cellar. Worth a visit!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

This is a very special place. El Bosc is in a rural location next to a small farm and vineyards, but close to the highway that can take you to other areas of the Penedes region. Jordi and Meri who run this place are wonderful and they have a chef also named Jordi who makes great food in the restaurant here. The rooms are a nice size, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Some rooms have views of the vineyards and some of the garden area. There is a little room with games and drinks for guests, and a pool next to the lovely garden area.

The restaurant serves traditional food "with a twist" and they have many interesting wines available, as both Jordi and Meri are sommeliers. It is wonderful to come back after a day of sightseeing, then enjoy a drink from the bar in the garden and dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast is basic but good with excellent coffee.

Two things to note, as someone else pointed out El Bosc is not close to Montserrat, but more south. You can certainly go to Montserrat from here but it would be an hour or so drive. You can get to lots of other places of interest; Poblet, Montblanc, Sitges, even Tarragona, all are not so far away. And there are vineyards and wineries to check out too. Another thing, there are sometimes celebrations at El Bosc and a stay that coincides with one, may make it a little more boisterous here. If staying on a weekend you might inquire if there is something going on and if so request a room on the vineyard side (not the garden side) of the hotel. This is a popular place for the locals to stop in the evening and have their gin and tonic or beer, because it is so calm and peaceful, who can blame them!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rialtogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went to eat at this hotel/restaurant after a day of wine tasting in the region. We let the waitress pick our dishes for us for the best recommendation and it was delicious. The spring onion dish was amazing as was the foie gras and steak. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

First thing to point out is that the El Bosc is not at Montserrat! The rest of the address is OK but the actual location is south west of Barcelona, probably 50 miles from Montserrat abbey.

Having booked based upon the described location we were initially disappointed to have to detour so far from our intended route, but once at the El Bosc we were happy with the accidental discovery. The hotel-restaurant is on a nice housing street and borders the fields of vines, accommodation is fairly simple and very clean. The young couple who run the place are a real delight and offer friendly, traditional hospitality. (Both spoke excellent English).

The restaurant is popular with local people at lunchtime (always a good sign). We ate in the evening (restaurant opens at 8pm) and choosing from the extensive menu and wine list was easy. We chose the recommended house-wine, which was great value at only €9 a bottle and tasty 'local' selections from the menu, all of which were delicious.
There is plenty of parking adjacent to the hotel, Wi-Fi was inclusive and ran at a decent speed. The mattress was too firm for my liking, but waking to a wide-open window and the sunshine on the vineyards was a real treat.
The TV in the room was a bit of an antique, only Spanish channels were available. Air conditioning was available in the room and it ran quietly.
We enjoyed our brief stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, preferably without guests in the next room as sounds are clearly heard from adjacent rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews