We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have returned here for 17 years”
Review of El Templo del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Templo del Sol
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We have returned here for 17 years”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is NOT an HOTEL! I don't understand why it is listed as an hotel - this should be changed. It is a naturist campsite and resort.
We used to go each year to a new place for a week and the rest of our vacation at the best of what we had been to before, then we discovered el Templo del Sol and stopped searching because it is the best.
There are some irritating features: you have to wear the "minimum" in the shop, restaurant or office; you cannot pre-book your preferred pitch; the pool does not open until 11 am; the railway line is noisy at the low end of the site, (rows O to Z). But there are some wonderful features which more than make up for these irritations: the swimming pool is the best I have ever seen; the gardens and vegetation are lovely; and the naturist beach is simply the best - a gentle curve facing south-east with 1.7 km of soft sand with warm Med to swim in. When the sea is calm, the water is clear and it is great fun to dive amongst the rocks at the top end of the beach and watch shoals of little fish scuttle away and hide as you approach. At the further end of the beach, beyond the campsite, the sand is backed by natural woodland with banks of jonquillas, (Pancratium maritimum or sea daffodils) at the edge of the sand. Walking au natural in the woods is a delight.
The first time we came was to a pre-pitched tent whilst the site was still under construction and there was not much shade because the trees had not yet grown. Now the site is full of mature trees giving plenty of shade. We have stayed in pre-pitched tents, in our own tents and more recently in the mobile homes (called "cottages") on the site. Most nights we eat at the restaurant - the 10 euro menu is good value and always tasty, filling and interesting.
It does not happen often, but we have twice experienced a violent thunderstorm here. When this happens, the skies open and massive quantities of water fall in a very short time accompanied by powerful gusts of wind. All the pre-pitched tents are strapped down with 5cm wide straps anchored to huge ground-spikes, and those who know the area do the same to their own tents and caravan awnings - suitable straps and spikes are sold in the shop. One guy that didn't know about this had his caravan awning shredded and was not well pleased. So much water fell that some roadways were washed out and couple of people were delayed leaving until the site maintenance crew had filled in the resulting massive gullies with hardcore. They were very quick and efficient in repairing the damage. The storm is soon done and the sun comes out and dries everything and a few hours later it is as if nothing had happened.
We have experienced some problems: we arrived to a very dirty mobile home one time - we asked for it to be cleaned but the cleaning crew were not there at that time of day and the maintenance guy did not do a very good job. A couple of times we had problems with the hot water heater in the mobile home, one time this took a couple of days to fix.
Occasionally we take a holiday somewhere else that we have seen good reports of, but so far we always come back, we have not found anywhere better.

Room Tip: For tents, the ground is quite hard, you will need a good mallet and stout pegs. We preferred to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Perigrine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
64
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent a week at El Templo del Sol last summer (2013) and had a very satisfying stay there. We rented one of the small cottages (which are small mobile units set up in little neighborhoods), which was sufficient, but significantly less than luxurious. Indeed, as noted in other reviews, the office staff was less the gregarious, but they did help us get through the holiday routine with little to no Spanish.

The beach truly is breathtaking, and we rather enjoyed watching the trains whoosh by on the far end of the beach. But I would say the crowning jewel of the place is the pool complex - a series of three pools, each of which cascade into the next with long sloping gradients perfect for lounging in the shallow water. Amazing!

About two hours south of Barcelona, we didn't find the surrounding region to be particularly inspiring, though truthfully, we didn't look very hard! The pizzeria and and market on the grounds met most of our needs for food and drink, and hour long walks on the beach and hanging at the pool provided enough entertainment for us! Nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We were asked to go on foot around the site to find a pitch. However pitches were not labled or bounderies marked. On eventually returning to reception with three choices we were told that they were pre booked and could we go look again. It was even suggested that where some people had spread out onto a neighbouring pitch, we should ask them to move. As it was far from clear where the pitch bounderies were, we were not happy to do this. Lady in reception just shrugged her shoulders. We went elswhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

On the plus side the camp site is situated beside one of the best naturists beaches we have ever been to; a good mix of people on the beach with plenty of space. But if you arrive at the camping site with a caravan not fitted with a mover you may have difficulty getting onto a pitch. Even the most spacious pitches furthest from the reception are quite close together surrounded by trees with narrow access. We arrived with our medium sized caravan planning to stay for two weeks but left after 2 hours of struggling to find a pitch that we could pull on to. The grumpy receptionist Bridget did not help matters. Charlie on the other hand was much more helpful. The other thing to bear in mind is that the site is right next to a busy railway line. We ended up staying at the textile site next door at http://www.caladoques.com/en/ which was lovely and much much better for parking, and only a very short walk to the naturist beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This site is part camping, part touring caravans and an area of static "cabins". The mix is just right for a thoroughly relaxing and care free holiday. The biggest factor though is the amazing beach, which is sandy and maybe a mile or so long and is naturist the whole length, just perfect for those au natural walks that we all so enjoy.
Even the beach restaurant is naturist and can be reached either from the beach or a stroll through the light forest between the site and the beach. There are two focal points to the site, a superb pool area, which never seems crowded and a shopping, restaurant and reception area, which provides all basic needs for eating in or out.
We first arrived at around midnight, having taken a late Ryanair and so all was dark and we could not see anything of the surrounding area. What a surprise then to wake and find that we actually overlooked the spectacular beach! We thought that this would be the best part, but a naked walk through the site revealed the pool and we knew that we had really discovered a hidden gem...I have never met anyone else who has visited El Templo before!
Apart from dining in the evening and visiting the reception and restaurant one can remain unclothed totally throughout the holiday.
We have now returned twice, and will make El Templo a regular place to visit. Plus...go out of season and the accommodation rates are very attractive.

Room Tip: Book away from railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natur63cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This naturist camp site is above one of the best naturist beaches in Europe. The beach is clean soft sand and the water very inviting. The campsite is well planned with either open or shaded pitches. There is a great swimming pool and good evening entertainment for all. The staff throught the site put a lot of effort into making your stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
1.5 mi away
Vistamar
Vistamar
#1 of 2 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
4R Meridia Mar
4R Meridia Mar
#2 of 2 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.9 mi away
Figuerola Resort and Spa
Figuerola Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Vandellos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Camping La Masia
Camping La Masia
#1 of 7 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.7 mi away
Camping La Torre del Sol
Camping La Torre del Sol
#3 of 6 in Mont-roig del Camp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Llorca
Hotel Llorca
#1 of 4 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Templo del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Templo del Sol

Property: El Templo del Sol
Address: GPS N 40,9771 E 0,90127, L'Hospitalet de l'Infant, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
Also Known As:
El Templo Del Sol Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing