We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first visit to this lovely park and we were not disappointed.The grounds are well maintained,the otter enclosures are spacious and the otters are a joy to watch.The cafe serves good fresh food at a reasonable price.We spent a happy few hours walking around and look forward to returning soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    92
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb value. Hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on 30th. Didn't know what to expect. Superb attraction for all ages and facinating to get up close with the otters at feeding time. Also fed a deer from the palm of my hand. You can walk with the wallabees as well. Beautiful woodland walk as well.

Helpful?
Thank Daddybear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for all ages - never too old!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visit here every time we visit Cornwall as it is a brilliant few hours out. Best to go on a dry day otherwise walking through the woods gets very muddy. Keep your eyes open as you never know what you may see. Great otters and saw 3 baby otters one month old (see photos). Plenty of pens for all the otters. Owls to get up floe to with talks from knowledgable helpers. Plenty of bird, ducks and peacocks around. Lovely fallow deer to feed - 50p donation per bag of deer or duck food. Sink to wash hands after feeding. New Meerkats are in an enclosure which should be improved I believe - should be made more interesting for the 2 meerkats. No discount for students but there is a discount for senior citizens. Great shop and cafe with great sandwiches and a variety of tasty cakes all baked by a lovely lady. Don't forget your camera or regret it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place ,, you can't go wrong visiting here.. take your camera and get some lovely photos ..


Only gripe I have was when I went they have a hudge wasp problem

But take the kids and go feed some deer

Helpful?
1 Thank bensyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a lovely location but you do need to go on a dry day, we got there just after 11am and were pleased to have got there in time for the birds of prey talk followed by the feeding of the otters, it's great that the owners are doing so much to reintroduce these wild animals back into the wild, very good value for money and if anyone complains about the cost of entry then they have no respect for wild life.
There is a very nice little cafe and a small gift shop so it's comfortable for visitors and that should be enough for any visitor, it's about the animals here not the tourists.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank guillemot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing