We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit. Loved the Otters”

Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Partridge Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit. Loved the Otters”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although not a huge place, I enjoyed my visit here. Make sure you catch the Bird of Prey talk, followed by the Otter feeds. They usually have five birds of prey that they talk about (although there are more dotted around in aviaries on the woodland walk), and you may be given a chance to hold one of them.

After that, they feed the Otters. They have two types of Otter here - the Asian Short-Clawed Otters (the smallest species, and very cute) and the larger British Otter. Each enclosure contains a different Otter family. They become very playful after they've been fed, so it's worth staying by the enclosures to see them playing.

The sanctuary also has a little herd of Fallow Deer (including what looks like a young stag), wallabies, Scottish Wildcats, and various birds including a white peacock. A nice place to visit, but do be warned - Otters are part of the same family as Stoats and Weasels, so they do have a rather pungent smell!

The cafe is very reasonably priced, but they really need more staff. I appreciate that everything is freshly made, but a half an hour for a sandwich was a little excessive. Also, the tables weren't cleared for quite a while. Such a shame that it was let down by this.

All in all though, a good place to take the kids for a few hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    97
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit ,the otters are fed four times a day which means that you don't have to miss the feeding ,all the animals are well looked after and the wooded walk was good as there were lots of Wallabies Deers,peacocks ,geese and all manner of birds ,the only

thing that I didn't like was the Meerkat enclosure ,the Meerkats looked very anxious and were pacing up and down a lot and there seemed to be too much concrete ,they were also a long way from the other animals ,apart from that I highly reccomend this little sanctuary

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“what an amazing visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great time here Sunday 20th July with family that live in the area I must admit I did raise an eye brow at the entry fee but I can assure anyone its well worth every penny.
Firstly we had a very informative somewhat light hearted talk and got to hold owls and other birds of prey, and you could tell this young lad really knew his subject and was only to pleased to answer any questions you may have,
We then moved to the otter enclosures it was lovely to see so many and of different types another very informative talk and a great photo opportunity.
Moving on and into the woods past many different birds such as beautiful peacocks guinea fowl, many different types of wading birds you enter thought a swing gate and into the deer enclosure
where food is supplied to feed the deer by hand if you wish but save some for later as you will have the chance to feed the wallabys in what only be described as a very idyllic peaceful, natural wood land setting.
We finished our visit with a very nice reasonably priced lunch chosen from a menu that had good choices for young and old.
I would highly recommend a visit here and we look forward to returning one day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank andy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family run- small enough to care but big enough to cope”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't understand a previous revue that this place was overpriced, poorly run with surly staff. My husband and I with our two granddaughters visited today and we were greeted by a polite and well informed staff member. We spent the next two hours enjoying the Birds of Prey talk and demonstration, followed by the Otter feeding and informative talk. We had lunch, chosen from a menu with a good selection of locally sourced and freshly prepared ingredients. This is not a fast food establishment so a 10 minute wait for the food was to be expected.
We walked the woodland trail in the afternoon, we fed the young deer, saw lots of wildlife then fed the chickens (food for animals available at 50p per bag).
Before leaving we stopped for afternoon tea. We don't normally do this as prices can be high - the NT especially. Pot of tea served with extra hot water as standard + no problem when asking for lemon instead of milk - the Lemon cake is to die for.
The staff were all very friendly and we all enjoyed the day so much we have purchased a Family Season ticket to come again through the year.
If you are looking for the Cotswold Wildlife Centre this is not for you, but if you are looking for a family run small enterprise with staff who are happy to help and answer questions this is the place for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited here in July and were not sure what to expect but we spent hours looking at the otters, walking through the woods and feeding the deer! The talks were very informative and you could tell the staff were very interested and keen for their jobs.... Had a pasty and a cake in the cafe and it was home made and delicious! We would both recommend x

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle-Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing