We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic B and B hotel”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Launceston
glos
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value basic B and B hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Clean, basic B and B. Comfortable bed. Very helpful staff - they organised breakfast an hour earlier than scheduled to start serving to enable us to make an early start. Much appreciated. Only problem was street noise - made worse by a beer festival right outside which presumably happens infrequently.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitsGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    54
    35
    28
    30
See reviews for
39
59
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Went for an evening meal during our holidays. Booked a table in advance for 10 adults and 5 children. We got there 20 minutes before our booking, placed orders on time with a waiter that barely understood english. We waited 1 hour for food to arrive, during which they served other tables that came in after us. There was a wait of 20 minutes between the first plate and the last plate arriving at our table. Our gluten free order came served with a regular naan bread on the same plate, most of the meals were over cooked and dry, 1 mixed grill missed an egg, steaks came without the sauces that were ordered and were cooked well done even though they were ordered medium, the lasagne came without the garlic bread as stated and a 5 year old child was served apple juice in a glass with a big chip out of it. All we got was an apology and 10% off the meal. Awful experience that put a big black cloud over our last evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolbrze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our twelfth annual visit to the White Hart Hotel & possibly the first year that has remained completely dry for our large group of golfers.
Once again we were made very welcome by Jane, Pam, Claire & all of the staff.

The breakfasts & dinners were excellent, especially on our last night and the bar staff looked after all of our "hydraulic sandwich" requirements every evening in a very friendly manner.

Pam, as usual, organised our golf requirements very well even with last minute changes that became necessary after arrival.

For newcomers to the hotel, yes it will always appear dated due to the age of the buildings & its uniqueness but this just adds to the charm.
It is not a ritzy-glitzy, 5 star palace of chrome & glass but a down to earth good value hotel, with very friendly staff, in the centre of a very quaint & historic town.

We have already booked for 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The White Hart Hotel offers a charming look into Launceston. The hotel offers everything a traveler would want. Good location across from the town square, hearty English breakfst served in the dining rom with white table clothes, a pub where the locals gather, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. The quirky halls, steps and doors to get to our room will long be remembered. There is free parking behind the hotel. Beware of the tub/shower which is a little tricky to get out of No hand rails for seniors.

Room Tip: Room 34 was quiet but didn't have a view. For us that was not important since we were tired aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is very central and looks as if it has been given an outside paint job not that long ago, if only the same had been carried out on the inside as well.
This was spur of the moment booking as we needed to visit a sick friend in the vicinity and we only needed a one night stop over, however we were pleased it was only one night, if we had needed longer I think we would have moved on. Reception staff on check in and out were pleasant, but the whole place is in desperate need of some tlc and updating.

As an old building it has some very quirky traits, the corridors are very narrow, there are steps in lots of places along the corridors, maybe only 2 or 3 of them but the corridors are not long and flat, so beware if you have difficulty with stairs. The carpets throughout the hotel, reception, bars, restaurant and corridors look as if they need a good steam clean but preferably replacing. There seemed to be a lingering smell of what I can only describe as cabbage in some parts of the hotel corridors.

There are 2 bars, the one at the front of the hotel seemed quite bright because of the windows but the bar towards the back of the hotel was very dark and gloomy and almost gave the impression of a “spit and sawdust” bar. There are rips in the seating which have been repaired with black tape. The bar seemed to be used by the locals and whilst that may be a good sign, it can be a bit off putting when the locals are at the bar using some colourful language when there are clearly hotel residents with young children in the bar, but I guess that can happen in any hotel.

I am not sure about the look of any of the other rooms but ours, whilst reasonably clean, does need updating. It had a very old fashioned TV high up on a wall bracket with cables dangling down the wall, the curtains were too big for the window so could not be drawn that well, but at least you could draw them. Linen clean but beds were quite hard and lumpy. The room has very little soundproofing so could hear some sort of noise most of the time. The bathroom was the tiniest one I have ever been in, and whilst the shower was very powerful the cubicle was for a stick thin person.
There are two restaurants, one at the front of the hotel which seemed very bright and one at the back which was like the bar, very dark and gloomy and must be very hot in the summer months. I cannot comment on the food apart from breakfast, there was cereal available as well as fruit juices, but the juices were not chilled.
We had the full English which was adequate and was served very quickly, that could have been because they were not very busy, or was it because it was pre-cooked? The bacon was certainly difficult to cut. There seemed to be no atmosphere in the restaurant and although the waitress was pleasant there was no asking if all was OK, did we need any more tea/toast etc. I was left with the impression that the hotel is drab and tired and that the staff may feel the same. At £70.00 a night, although not expensive we would have expected something better, this could be a gold mine but not without serious money being spent on updating. It is certainly not a hotel we would go back to by choice and would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I was more than happy with the dinner and the boxing show, the staff had made everything enjoyable without any hiccups, they made everyone welcome and took care of all our requests. The bar was lively and punters were friendly.
The hotel would not be to my liking to stay unless for a one-night stop-over but the boxing was fantastic and my boxers enjoyed the facilities and staff ensured we were well cared for..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culture-Zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The room and downstairs area are a bit dated, which I don't really have a problem with. The room was very large and clean....I think I was given one of the better ones. But it really could have done with some double glazing. Toilet seat was broken (room 38 for reference). And a better lock on the door, and a chain lock for security would be good. Shower was weak. Wifi didn't work. No bedside light. Little things that an independent hotel should be on top of to compete with the Premier Inns.....
Friendly staff and its located in the centre of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Launceston
3.4 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
510 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
338 reviews
17.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Launceston
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 15 Broad Street, Launceston PL15 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dominating the market square, has grown up almost within the shadow of the castle walls and has always been very much part of the life of the town. The modern visitor en route, or staying for a while to explore the area, will feel well and truly welcome in this excellent hotel within the friendly old-world town of Launceston. Our hotel has 26 rooms; each has its own character and charisma whilst having the convenience of an en-suite bathroom and additional facilities. The White Hart is a multifunctional hotel with facilities for business clients, families, golf breaks, functions or that weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Launceston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing