We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location and so pretty”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pump Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Pump Kitchen
Smithy Cottage bedroom
Relax in the hot tub...
Ta Mill is perfect for a rustic, countryside wedding!
Smithy cottage- with sunny south facing outlook
Holy well at St Clether - 1 mile walk
Lots of Cornish Countryside to explore
Sheep sheltering
Set around a pond teaming with beautiful wildlife
Coastal path at Boscastle nearby
Stunning views from coastal path at Tintagel-nearby
From coastal path looking back towards Crackington Haven
Eden Project
Daffodils in spring
Rough Tor- local beauty spot - 4 miles away
Aerial view of Ta Mill
Ta Mill- surrounded by rolling countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne A
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic location and so pretty”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved everything about our log Cabin and Helen was extremely helpful. Only stayed 3 nights but managed to fit in Boscastle, Port Isaac, Padstow and Mevagissy. The food at the Rising Sun was delicious. Perfect Spring retreat after a long winter. We were very cosy in the evenings. A great place to relax.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thankyou so much for your kind words. We aim to ensure our guests enjoy their stay by making the most of the lovely places to visit in the local area and of course ensuring the cottages and lodges are as comfortable as they can be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa f
1 review
“the Olde Granary is delightful - would definitely return”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved our stay at the Olde Granary, booked for 2 nights with a Wowcher. The cottage was clean and comfortable, the bathroom with its huge bath is great. The woodburner was easy to lite- not entirely necessary for the time we were there!- and made the whole cottage comfortably warm giving a very homely and romantic feel. There is an enclosed garden/patio with table + chairs, a view of the field and the very entertaining sheep and lambs! It was so peaceful and possible to hear the wind in the beautiful beech trees, also the wonderful birdsong. We booked time in the hot tub -so relaxing -look up at the uninterrupted sky and the ash trees. Helen the owner was very accommodating, showing us how the cooker works, digital.so easy!
Giving us information on local places of interest and places to eat. Providing us with kindling and paper for the woodburner and information on using the hot tub.
Ta Mill is ideally placed with easy access to the many delights of Cornwall. Boscastle farm shop cafe has an interesting menu with a gluten free option, delicious! The village of boscastle has a clothes shop that also sells a locally made ice cream, we highly recommended the honey +lavender and the butterscotch+ toffee flavours! Lovely shopkeeper too. It's just over the bridge on the left past the visitor centre, staff there were also friendly, great secondhand book room.
-

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being in a secluded well kept cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thankyou so much for your comments. I'm glad that you appreciated the quiet ambience of the site and enjoyed the natural surroundings. The Olde Granary is one of our luxury 4 star one bedroom cottages & we aim to provide a high standard of accommodation. The hot tub is available to hire from any of our cottages or lodges and our guests can book private sessions in this very relaxing facility. We look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred W
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully serene weekend getaway”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a bit of a gamble as I'd never been to this part of Cornwall before but booking the Hayloft was the best decision I've made in a long time. Decor and comfort second to none and my husband and I are sure we booked the best for views also. Loved the lack of phone signal and internet as that added to the peacefulness of our weekend. There were plenty of places to visit that were not a long drive.
Helen and Stacey helped talk us through everything that would help make our stay comfortable and going in the hot tub for a small fee was a must-do, mid-November I'd have never thought it would be so relaxing. Easy to find with directions via Helen,s email.
My husband and I are in the process of booking for our anniversary next April. Thank you Helen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
It was a real pleasure to read your review- thank you so much. The Hayloft is an all year round cottage, most definitely, with the wood burner and central heating. Some couples arrive and hibernate for a few days and emerge rested and chilled! The Hayloft has lovely views across the valley from the veranda or through the french doors and you can really absorb the peaceful surroundings. We are apparently going to be 'Superfast' by April so will keep you posted! Hot Tub in Winter is even better than the Summer, I think...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Ta Mill for a last minute weekend break and it was everything we could have asked for and more. The Hayloft Cottage was really nice, decorated to a high standard and well looked after. Ta Mill is not the easiest place to find, but with directions given at time of booking, we found it no problem at all.
Being in the middle of nowhere it was so peaceful and quiet, no Wi-Fi, no 3g, no phone signal, it was just what we needed, and didn’t want to return home. Everyone was friendly and nothing was too much trouble
We didn’t use any facilities, but they have everything that you would need / expect for a longer trip. We will defiantly be returning, this time for a longer break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thankyou for your kind words. Really glad that you enjoyed the Hayloft cottage. It is one of our more recently renovated cottages and along with original features it has modern insulation which has a habit of interfering with phone signals- best to leave your phone on the window cill! You can get Vodafone along a few others but it true that not all phone suppliers are available - not unlike a lot of Cornwall. We are hoping that super fast broadband will be here soon, but in the meantime there is a Wi-Fi connection near reception for keeping in touch. Ta Mill offers a relaxing, peaceful break in a beautiful setting with luxurious accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy_Cla...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent four nights at Ta Mill, and our stay in the Hayloft cottage was very comfortable and homely.

The cottage itself is spacious and well furnished - it feels private and secluded despite being situated right in the middle of the mill. It has a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable bedroom, and a relaxing lounge area with a wood burner which kicks out a massive amount of heat once it's going. There is also the balcony, which sadly we didn't get much use out of because of the weather during our stay, but which would be great for meals when the sun is out. A point to note (which we didn't mind but which could be important to others) is that there is limited phone recpetion inside the cottage itself. This is easliy remedied however by stepping onto the balcony, I think it is just the cottage's old, thick walls which block the signal. For us this actually added to the feel of privacy and seclusion.

Ta Mill has a range of different facilities. The hot tub was fantastic, and we spent a relaxing session in there. The games room has ping pong, pool, and a number of other things to play. Sadly again beacuse of the weather we were unable to use the golf course, however this looked great from afar!

The area surrounding Ta Mill is surprisingly full of things to do, despite its very rural feel. Launceston is the closest town (~15 mins drive), and had all the things we needed in terms of food shopping, whilst also being a picturesque place to visit in its own right. Tintagel is about a 20 minute drive away, and we had a great time visiting this ancient site - in this case the weather actually added to the dramatic atmosphere. For those with bikes, the Camel Trail is not far away, and best accessed from Wadebridge (parking near the Lidl supermarket). Other attractions included Polzeath, Crackington Haven, some great local pubs (check out the Port William Inn at Trebarwith, or the Kings Head in Fivelanes), and the local "theme park" called 'The Hidden Valley' - which made for a surprisingly fun afternoon.

All-in-all we had a really enjoyable stay, receiving a friendly reception at Ta Mill, and having a great deal of fun exploring the beautiful surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable time here at Ta Mill. The weather was a little grizzly during your stay in contrast to the lovely September we have had prior and since! Our luxury cottages are so well insulated and warm all year round that the mobile phone reception is somewhat hampered- its a good idea to leave your phone on a window cill. Our Hot Tub and Swim Spa are available come rain or shine and so provide the perfect way to end the day after site seeing or walking along the nearby coastal path. Guests love our 'contura' woodburners which add to the romantic ambience but it may be worth turning the central heating off when you light up, to avoid being roasted...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Thankyou for your comments. Our Pump cottage does have a fantastic inglenook fireplace which houses the cosy woodburner. The meter (10p per unit) should cost no more than £1 a day as there is central heating in the Pump cottage which is included in the rental cost. Thankyou for appreciating our flexibility- we do hope we can fit around our guests travel arrangements, where possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully renovated cottage!
Liked least: No O2 phone signal, although was nice to be out of touch with the world for one weekend!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Feb 2012
Thankyou for your comments. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our Millers cottage is particularly warm and cosy, even in January. We offer accommodation all year around and our guests can get some bargain breaks out of season. Many of the attractions close to Ta Mill have a different feel in the winter months and are well worth a visit. Places like Boscastle, Rough Tor, Port Isaac and Crackington Haven (to name a few) are great destinations all year round.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing