We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderfull holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Gospenheale Barn has a spacious parking area. From here you can easily explore all of Cornwall. The open plan dining and living area has far reaching views over beautiful Cornish countryside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Gospenheale Barn has a spacious parking area. From here you can easily explore all of Cornwall.
The open plan dining and living area has far reaching views over beautiful Cornish countryside.
Laura Ashley leather sofas (new in 2018) are a great place to relax and unwind.
Fully equipped kitchen in this upside down self catering barn conversion.
The oak A frames and large windows make this a lovely space for a relaxing holiday.
Gospenheale Barn is surrounded by beautiful Cornish countryside.
Bedroom 1 has a 5' kingsize bed and ensuite shower room.
Ensuite shower room with Jo Downs mini tiles and fused glass window.
Jo Downs made the fused glass windows in both the bathrooms.
Bedroom 2 with the beds zipped together to make a 6' super king.
Bedroom 2 with 3' single beds. There are black out roller blinds in all three bedrooms.
The family bathroom is next to bedroom 2 so ideal for privacy when two couples are sharing the barn.
Stairs to living area in this upside down barn conversion.
Patio area in Gospenheale Barn garden. Barbecue available.
Rural view from Gospenheale Barn steps.
Barn from the fields
Beautiful beaches are to be found like this just a few miles away on the North Cornwall coast.
A pair of woodpeckers sharing a worm on Gospenheale Barn garden wall,  Photo taken by a guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
fly1067
brescia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderfull holiday”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I spent one week in this beautiful barn with my family.
The location is ideal to visit Cornwall and the nice North Cornwall particularly, because the barn is within a short distance from many attractions.
The village of Pipers Pool is really peacefull, but in a few minutes you can drive to Launceston, where you can find shops and supermarkets.
The barn is wonderfull, renovated with taste and attention to details. It is warm like a real home away from home; it is equipped with everything you could need.
The pictures in the website correspond to the reality....or rather the barn is even better than in photos !
The owners are really kind and friendly people, but not intrusive. We appreciated the homemade scones, milk and apple juice that we found when we arrived !
The barn has only one defect: it is too far from Italy, but we really hope to come back some day to Ghospenheale !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the equipment and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2012
Thank you for your review and complimentary comments about Gospenheale Barn. We certainly enjoyed meeting you, our 1st Italian guests and we would love to see some more visitors from your Country. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Fantastic place to stay would highly recommend it to all overseas visitors .Suitable for two adult couples or one couple with 3 or 4 children.Great base to explore Devon and Cornwall.Everything about the place and our hosts were perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location facilities and how brilliantly clean and presentable it was.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that you had such a 'great stay' here at Gospenheale Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie_C89
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect base to explore Cornwall. Amazing barn, fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I were fortunate enough to stay at Gospenheale Barn with my parents and Sister over the half-term holiday in June. We arrived a day after them so unfortunately did not meet the wonderful hosts (David, Bridget and their parents) upon arrival but did enjoy the scones Bridget had thoughtfully made for us. The family at Gospenheale Barn make every effort to ensure their guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in a fantastically renovated barn. We spoke with them regularly throughout the week and enjoyed their local knowledge and friendly chats.
The accommodation itself is practically flawless. The bedrooms are situated on the ground floor. The master bedroom has a lovely, big bed with wonderfully comfortable bed linen. This bedroom also has a good-sized en-suite bathroom with great, modern, clean facilities. There is a 2nd bedroom with a large single bed. This room is opposite the master bedroom so the occupant could share the en-suite or use the bathroom just around the corner which is adjacent to the 3rd bedroom.
We stayed in this bedroom and had 6 nights of excellent sleep. The bed was larger than a double and, again, the bed linen, pillows and sheets were of a high quality.
Each room has a wardrobe, drawers, bedside tables and a mirror. Our room also had a heater (but we found it to be warm enough) and hairdryer! Each bedroom has a large window making them nice and light during the day. Our bathroom was a decent size with a great bath & shower. Towels for the bathroom are provided; they were a good size and soft.
Upstairs, the open plan lounge, dining space and kitchen make for a brilliant, sociable setting. There is a huge television with Freeview channels and a DVD player, a superb collection of DVD's, boardgames, books and a pack of cards (which we used every evening)! There is also a Wi-Fi connection available in the barn which was fast and reliable. The kitchen is modern, clean and there are all the essentials for enjoying the self-catered element (even plastic picnic cutlery to enjoy on trips out)! There are also thoughtful and insightful folders on the bookshelf with information on local rastaurants, events and places to visit.
The barn is in a wonderful setting, surround by fields and interesting wildlife. It is extremely tranquil and serves as a great base for visiting both North and South Cornwall. We enjoyed trips to Bude, Mevagissey, Tintagel, The Eden Project, Boscastle and Crackington Haven, which were all within reasonable reach! Lanceston, the local town, has all the necessary amenities; petrol station, Tesco, a lovely Chinese Takeaway etc....
We have to mention Bob, the family's well-mannered and friendly Sheepdog. He came most days and lay, unobtrusively, in the garden. We loved playing Frisbee with him and will miss him!
Their is a good sized garden attached to the barn with an outdoor dining table and chairs. There is also a cupboard inside the barn with outdoor games such as 'Swingball'. The parking, right behind the property behind the farm gate, was ample for 2 cars.
We had mixed weather during our stay in Cornwall but staying at Gospenheale Barn meant we were never bored. One morning, we stayed in and watched one of the DVD's and played Monopoly before heading out in the afternoon to enjoy the sunshine! There were 2 keys provided which meant we had the flexibility to enjoy trips together or in smaller groups.
On our next visit to Cornwall, we will DEFINITELY be staying at Gospenheale Barn. We would recommend it to anyone and would like to say a huge 'Thank You' to David and his family for their amazing hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to welcome you back again someday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The high standard of the barn renovation.
Liked least: No wi-fi, though I believe that's being worked on.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warwickshire
Reviewed 20 November 2011 for a stay in May 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the area
Liked least: nothing it is all fantastic
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb accommodation; hosts make the stay extra-special.
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cobram
Reviewed 17 November 2011 for a stay in March 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seeing it for the first time
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing