We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend, great facilities.”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UptonGirl...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend, great facilities.”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the great communication when we booked from Pippa to the speedy return of our damage deposit we had the a lovely time spending some relaxing and partying with our family and friends - in honour of my husband's special birthday.
The house is very well equipped, lovely decor and the hot tub, fishing from the garden a big bonus for our party.
Pippa very kindly agreed to a few fireworks in honour of the birthday boy.
All in all a super weekend and an ideal place for that special time with a bigger party.
Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roomy and relaxing
Liked least: Futon bed in dressing room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
We get a lot of pleasure out of people enjoying themselves and kind words are most welcome, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful haven and ideal for family gatherings”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We can thoroughly recommend the Grain House equally for a family holiday and/or for a quiet escape. The owner's attention to detail and high standards makes this property stand tall above others. The property is superbly maintained and the garden is very private and tranquil. The games room is wonderful for adults and children alike and the hot tub is a great place to relax. Thank you too Pippa for the lovely cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of fittings
Liked least: Slow internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
It was a pleasure to make your family celebration as perfect as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roli505
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A luxurious cottage (with a hot tub!) in the heart of the countryside.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a wonderful 5 days at The Grain House during the February half-term.

The party consisted of 4 adults, 2 small children and a baby. The accommodation was completed to a high spec and was well equipped (including high-chair and cot). A particular highlight was the outdoor hot tub which we made good use of and the log burner in the lounge.

Pippa and Peter Unwin made booking the stay straight forward. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and they had even left us some home-made shortbread, flowers and milk in the fridge. They were also on hand during our time there, for example to replace a battery in the smoke alarm. Despite my accidental breaking of a bowl, they generously returned our deposit in full.

I would recommend The Grain House to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
It is our aim to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and we really appreciate your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzyt22
Cambridge
1 review
“The perfect place to stay to lead in to a perfect wedding day... :)”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and my family stayed at The Grain House for the weekend of my wedding this September. It proved to be the perfect home from home with gorgeous luxury touches, beautifully decorated and a lovely calming atmosphere!
We had a near major crisis the night before the wedding and Pippa (the owner) was on hand to literally save the day by fixing my sisters broken zip on her bridesmaid dress. Pippa went far and beyond the call of duty to help us out in a stressful situation and we are all so grateful! We will be making a donation to the charity you mentioned as a small token of our huge appreciation! An amazingly generous lady with a beautiful rental property to boot - I have no doubt you will be very well looked after if you book to stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pippa Unwin - the angel of dress repairs - and the amazing atmosphere of the house overall - plus the amazingly comfortable beds!
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to take a bit of stress away on the evening before your wedding. You all looked fabulous as you left for the wedding, particularly the bride!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W
Heacham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were a group of 8 of family and friends, and it was perfect, spacious enough to accommodate us all. The house and garden were stunning, and we made full use of the games room, hot tub, and all the extra games provided like badminton, basketball etc. It is even more beautiful than the photos, and we all had a lovely week. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jockparso...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just spent 5 relaxing nights in the most beautiful property,owned by the very welcoming Unwin Family,for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The Grain House and its games room left nothing to the imagination,and at the end of a long day out visiting the many local attractions we were able to have a cool drink and unwind in the hot tub overlooking a well manicured garden which is very private. Thanks for a great break and hope to see you soon Jock, Dizzy and Sue

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome, and the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali Z
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the Grain House recently. It is a gorgeous, very well appointed property with luxury touches everywhere. Loved the log fires and the hot tub -a real treat. Arrived back at work on Monday feeling wonderfully relaxed. Owners very pleasant and quick to respond to queries etc. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and furnishings
Liked least: Website directions to property could be improved
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing