We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, beautiful property, could have had a bit more for kids to do in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for a week with family and young kids. The hotel is right on the beach so we spent a lot of time on the beach. Also the beach is semi-private, which is excellent. It has it's own beach umbrellas but still connected to other beaches - so you can go for a walk. The promenade has some nice shops. Just down from the beach is a beach shop where we had some drinks and ice-creams for the kids. Also next to it is L'Ankora. Have the seafood paella there - fabulous.

The hotel is driveable to Barcelona - 1 hour on the toll road, which was pretty convenient.

The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is there wasn't much entertainment in the hotel, especially for the kids. They had a cocktail party and a late night moon party but could have had more for the kids to do.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part - it's beautiful. With a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0n_v0yage17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel-Araujo, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Le Meridien Ra and leaving us impressions of your visit here on Trip Advisor.

It has been our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel, right on the beach of Sant Salvador.
It is nice to know that you have appreciated our comfortable accomodations and the profesional attentions of our entire staff.

You will be pleased to know that during the summer months, we add activities for teenagers to our program of daily options for all of our guests to enjoy a stay at our hotel.
We regret that your stay may have preceded the activation of these activities.
Hopefully on a future occasion you will be able to complimentary introductions to scuba diving, paddle board, tennis, sailing and paella-cooking!

Thank you again for your visit, we look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were a party of 5 booked two rooms. It took us about 50min to travel from City of Barcelona to this hotel and we paid for the taxi drive about 140€. The front desk was very friendly and upgraded one of our rooms to a Duplex Junior Suite and that was a pleasant surprise! Due to a wedding function the hotel asked us two days after if we wish to move to a family apartment and we took that wonderful option of a three bedroom apartment and enjoyed a lot of extra space provided to us.

Here are the pros and cons of this hotel:

Pros:
- Very comfortable beds (not so for the apartment beddings..)
- Very friendly and competent staff. Many thanks to Eugenia of the Front Desk and the F&B Manager Isabel. They have done a fantastic work!
- Hotel restaurants are providing high quality food and the service quality of the staff once again is simply great.
- I could plug my media player into the HDMI plug of the TV and my kids enjoyed the movies and animes a lot!
- once you leave the hotel through the front door, you can find a local grocery store within few minutes of walking on the right hand side. There is also a Lidl not far away.
- great beach with a nice little beach restaurant serving mainly fast food but with good quality.
- don't skip the SPA, it's just great

Cons:
- it was quite a battle for us to run after the beach towels.. The entire system is a bit weird.. You get the brown towels in the rooms along with a beach bag. Then after using them you should bring them back to the hotel room and they will be replaced. At least for the first two days it didn't work since we never got the replacements. But after complaining at the front desk, it went smoothly for the remaining days.

It rather rare that I can only find one single contra point in a hotel which reflects the high standard the hotel is providing. Highly recommended if you want to spend a few days on the beach near Barcelona.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank bchl1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel-Araujo, General Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your recent visit to Le Meridien Ra and sharing the observations on your stay with us here on Trip Advisor.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have considered your stay at our hotel to be fantastic in many aspects.
Our unique loctation right on Sant Salvador beach, our ample and comfortable accomodations and installations combined with the profesional attentions of our entire staff make for a very attractive hotel stay, whether for a few days or longer, for all of our national and international visitors.

You´ll be pleased to learn that our beach towel distribution has been greatly improved by installing one collection and drop-off point right on the beach.

Thank you again for your visit.
We look forward to being able to welcome you on a future occasion.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This beach front Starwood hotel seems quite at odds with the local culture. It is enormous and corporate yet the locals working it can't help but make it so much more than that. Lovely beach in front with complimentary chaises for hotel guests. Please stay awaY from the beach restaurant as it is nothing more than terrible and inedible. Disgusting old seafood and cheap frixenet served at top dollar. Go instead to alconda just down the board walk where you can get terrific fresh food and friendly service. The ocean is wonderful, warm and gentle. Lots of families.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel-Araujo, General Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your recent visit to Le Meridien Ra and sharing the observations on your stay with us here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you found our hotel to be comfortable and a nice option for a few days (or longer) right on the beach.
As to our Food & Beverage options, we attempt to offer something for everyone in all of our 6 dining outlets, while maintaining the best posible standards.
We are sorry to read you found our ONA Beach Club to be below par in your opinión.
Rest assured that we incorpórate all constructive comments in our continous internal evaluations of Le Meridien Ra.

Thank you again for your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated; San Salvador beach is a stones-throw away and Calafell town a gentle stroll away. Rooms are cool, well equipped and the bed is brilliant. We found all the staff very friendly from the beach to the spa and from Reception to the Blau Mari restaurant. Breakfast was superb every day and varied. The Saturday fish night was fantastic and highly recommended to fish-lovers.

In summary, could not fault Le Meridien Ra Beach at all. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel d, Director General at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. M.,

Thank you for your recent return to Le Meridien Ra; it has been a pleasure welcoming you back to our resort in Sant Salvador.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed this visit, the comfortable accomodations, the varied dining options and the professional attentions of our entire stay.
We know you also enjoyed your frequent visits to our Explore Spa.

Please keep all these good memories from your visit until we may welcome you again here at Le Meridien Ra.

In anticipation of your return to Sant Salvador, best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice hotel, if you see what it was in the past and integrated with modern architecture.
Own beach with a great guy who is helping you with a great pleasure. Rooms are modern and if you have a duplex room, sea view included. Breakfast is ok, but I have seen better.

But the staff is absolute not customer friendly, even not for a platinum member of the SPG group. I'm not correct, only the Spanish staff is friendly, the East European staff is not helpful, they don't take any initiative. Example: if you are arriving an the receptionist told us, "the room is not ready, but you can have lunch in our restaurant" oh my god, that lady in the restaurant doesn't understand how to treat a client. And yes, for the East European staff, learn first English. And also too much Russian people in this hotel, I don't have to tell you how they are.

I never go back again, have seen better hotels of Le Meridien in the world.

Room Tip: stay away it you don't like Russian people.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DVK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel d, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your recent visit to Le Meridien Ra.
We appreciate your selection of our hotel for your stay on the Costa Daurada and your impressions shared here on Trip Advisor.

It is much to our regret to read that we have not lived up to your expectations in regard to
optimal customer service. We aim to cater as professionally as possible to our diverse and
international clientele.
Our hotel also prides itself on the careful and through selection and continuous training of
all of our staff members.
As such, we will consider your comments to be of a constructive nature and incorporate them
in our daily review of our operations.

Thank you again for your continued patronage of Starwood Hotels & Resorts,

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for our 20th anniversary at this beautiful hotel for 5 nights.The staff were extremely nice, the location of the hotel is beyond spectacular, and the upgraded room I was given as an SPG platinum was awesome. Although I was not especially impressed with the dining options(besides breakfast---which was great)at the hotel, good restaurants were within a short walking distance. This is probably the most beautiful and relaxing resort in the SPG family. A few little hiccups, but the location made up for everything!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ncdoctooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel-Araujo, Director General at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for you recent visit to Le Meridien Ra and for having selected our resort for your 20th anniversary celebration.
We are delighted to have been you hosts for this special occasion.

It is very nice to read that you enjoyed our superb beach-front location, the professional attentions of our entire staff and the many options to wine, dine and relax here at Le Meridien Ra.
We pride ourselves in being able to offer a wider variety of options to relax, explore, discover and enjoy for all of our guests and we are pleased to have created special memories for you while here.

Thank you again for your words of praise, which have been shared with our entire team.

Until we may welcome you back for another celebration, sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a great time during our recent stay at Le Meridian. Excellent guest service, and incredible location with amenities that were enjoyed by the entire family. It was the perfect stop of the last leg of our two-week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel d, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Carolyn and family,

Thank you very much for your recent family visit to Le Meridien Ra.
It has been our pleasure hosting you for your last impressions of Europe during the 2014 holidays.

We are delighted to read you and yours enjoyed our beautiful resort right on the beach and the professional attentions of our entire staff.

It would be our pleasure welcoming you back for a future visit at any time.

With sunny regards from Spain,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Vendrell
2.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario TermaEuropa Playa Coma-Ruga
10.3 mi away
Altafulla Mar Hotel
Altafulla Mar Hotel
#1 of 6 in Altafulla
422 reviews
21.8 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
#1 of 7 in Coma Ruga
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silken Canada Palace
Silken Canada Palace
#4 of 10 in Calafell
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#5 of 10 in Calafell
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida del Sanatori, 1, 43880 El Vendrell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > El Vendrell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Price Range: £185 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, inspiration is found in the hotel's open spaces. As guests arrive, senses are awakened by the vaulted ceilings of the original buildings "Capilla" juxtaposed with the light filled contemporary lobby. Outside, guests can discover beachside terraces, teak decks and peaceful gardens and orchards. The Beach Club, featuring a french inspired design, offers light Mediterranean cuisine and is a place for relaxation during the day and is ideal for enjoying sea side cocktails and local cava in the evening. Design touches throughout these spaces are reminiscent of modern classics: in the Hub, a modern interpretation of a Gaudi-esque chair is revealed and cartography is a feature of our meeting rooms. Our guest rooms feature high ceilings, terraces, patios or sea views, inviting guests to enjoy the ambience of their surroundings by the sea. The upcoming renovation on rooms by renowned designer Isabel Lopez, aims to reinforce the timeless awakening of senses and inspiration characteristic of Le Meridien Ra. Explore Spa by Le Meridien, the first in Europe, encourages rejuvenation by a variety of culturally inspired therapies from around the world to balance both the body and mind. Space to expand ideas is provided by our meeting facilities where successful events are hosted inside in our Discovery Meeting Rooms, or outside in our bamboo gardens, terraces or by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel El Vendrell
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel And Spa
Meridien El Vendrell
Le Meridien El Vendrell
El Vendrell Le Meridien
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa El Vendrell, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing