We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly atmosphere”
Review of Thakadu Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghanzi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thakadu Bush Camp
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Only stayed there one night in early August, unfortunately, but the owner, Chris, and his staff were friendly. helpful and knowledgeable. Chris went out of his way to help me get my camera back and gave my wife and I a lift to the ranks in Ghanzi the next morning.

I'd go back just for the food. We had the best beef hamburgers we had on our three-week trip, plus there is an amazing array of game meat offerings.

You'll see a lot of places similar to this one, but you won't see one as as inviting, comfortable and affordable. I can certainly see why Lonely Planet loves this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed at Thakadu by the owners and their staff. Being a few km off the main road the place is very quiet with a lot of wildlife around (mainly birds and buck). There are a few walking trails to stretch your legs after a long drive, the bar and restaurant are good and the campsites well spaced and secluded.
The only downside is that the ablutions could do with a refresh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On our way to Moremi Game Reserve we planned to push through to Maun but due to a car accident we could only make it to Ghanzi before dark. By chance we came to stay at Thakadu Bush Camp. Great spacious and clean campsite and the best hot shower on our entire trip. Friendly hosts and great food for dinner - just what we needed after a pretty disastrous day. Thank you!
Nesi Moehle, Namibia

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I liked it. The camp is 3 km off the main road = quiet! Though the 'road' back to the camp is a bit sandy in places for a 2wd, we made it just fine with a loaded, tiny car. Service was friendly and swift. The bar/restaurant looked very nice and was full of guests, but didnt try it. By the bar is a lighted watering hole / with bait / that did a attract some type of antelopes and guinea fowl. The camp sites themselves are clean with nice soft sand to tent on. Price was good, 140 Pula for 2 to camp in June 2013.
Negatives; the ablution house is a bit older and small. But it was clean enough and everything worked, plenty of hot water too. Also the game-drivers are up and doing their thing at dawn, with not-so-distant gunshots by 6 am. But this is a game camp: so when in Rome, expect Romans.
CONCLUSION. Nice spot to stay while transiting via Ghanzi. Hanging out here for more than a sleep depends upon your taste in culture. Plenty of animal skulls on display. The place is in a beautiful natural setting. The dark sky is absolutely amazing - milky way very visible. The pool was empty of water in June (winter), but their lighted watering hole is 20 meters from the restaurant and I could imagine watching it for a long time with my camera, having a drink on the patio...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We visited on the strength of a recommendation and found an absolute gold mine. Good and accommodation was excellent but the highlight of our trip was a two hour walk with a tribe of local bushmen who showed us how to survive in the wild. We have been to many game resorts but this additional trip was the icing on the cake.
Mike Coogan, England

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coogs69571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

When you arrive from a week in the CKGR and get a proper shower with lots of hot water and flush toilets it seems pretty good. But then you look about and it is in need of a big tidy up and plenty of maintenance.

We spent one night in the camp and one night in a chalet which was a fine example of bush carpentry. The Lonely Planet reckoned it had a good bar and restaurant but that must have been a while ago. Saturday night attracted 3 people and only because they screened the rugby. The food was decidedly ordinary and consisted of a grilled game meat and potatoes.

And on the last night someone broke into one of our vehicles and stole valuable stuff. Apparently the second time in a couple of weeks that this had happened.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thakadu, Owner at Thakadu Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

A clear example of why Trip Advisor can be disastrous.
This is a deleberate hatchet job.

Your vehicle was not broken into. It was your guides vehicle, She had been clearly told that somebody was breaking into vehicles at campsites and lodges around Ghanzi (including one at Thakadu the previous week) She then left her camera, hadbag and laptop on the front seat of her vehicle in full view. What caused her carelessness, I know not.
We tracked the culprit from 1:30 am with 8 of our staff and 6 Ghanzi police officers until 9 am. None of us slept.

Regarding your food. You fail to mention that what your ordered WAS a game steak and patatoes from a menu of 37 main courses. We are proud to be considered one on the very best restaurants in Botswana.

We WERE quiet that weekend, but your deliberate insinuation that nobody comes here is entierly seld serving. We had 100% occupancy throughout last week and 75% throughout the year (without including campers)

Your sneering "The chalets are a fine example of bush carpentry" is silly. We ARE in the bush, our carpenters ARE bushmen. The Chalets are generly loved for exactly that reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

On our way from Windhoek to Moremi Park we made a stop-over at the Thakadu Bush Camp.
Service at the reception was friendly and we immediately got a Camping place.
The Camping spot itself was clean, but not well maintained.
Unfortunately the abolution block was completely rundown and dirty, making a visit to the bathroom a bit of a yukki experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thakadu, Owner at Thakadu Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hi,
I'm sorrry you had such a poor experience at Thakadu
December marked the end of a very busy season which had a heavy toll on infrastructure
We hope to create a real bush experience and are generally loved for it.
We have just completed a renovation of both ablution blocks.
If you ever pass this way again, please consider staying with us .We would like to show you what has been done and get any feedback.
Chris Woolcott (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thakadu Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakadu Bush Camp

Address: Ghanzi south side, Ghanzi, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Ghanzi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ghanzi
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thakadu is a family run bush camp in the middle of a private game reserve, just 3km outside of Ghanzi, 700km from Gaborone, 500km from Windhoek and 280km from Maun. We have comfortable en suite rooms, swimming pool and a bar overlooking our waterhole, as well as a very popular restaurant serving game dishes from our own farm for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing