We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky place, but we liked it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thakadu Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghanzi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thakadu Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
loomis ca
Level Contributor
429 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Funky place, but we liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Campsites were pretty basic, but the ability to use the facilities like the restaurant, bar, pool, and waterhole, made for a nice stop for one night en route back to Windhoek. The food at the restaurant was quite good for both lunch and dinner. Reasonably priced. In the evening choose a table where you can view the animals that come to drink from the waterhole.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    60
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
71
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the restaurant, you have a very nice view on the farm's waterhole with elands, ostrichs and warthogs.
In the restaurant, they serve great game, with crust and very juicy and tender inside. The owner is a very nice person, you will have a good time chatting with him while having your drink. The pool is clean, lays in the shade with view on the waterhole as well. It is an excellent place to survive the afternoon heat.
The campsite facilities are OK, you have your own light and plug socket. We were pestered by mosquito in the night.
I definitely recommend you the bushmen walk where bushmen show you their traditional way of living!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Have stayed at Thakadu on many occasions and always been received with friendly help. Nothing is to much trouble for Chris and his team be it organising San Dancing or anti malaria tablets at the local chemist.
You have to remember that this is a Bush Camp and not a Lodge. If you want the luxury (and pricing) that goes with a lodge thats fine but for a real welcome, touch of Africa and efficient services then visit Chris and Co at Thakadu .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This has always been a popular stopover for campers with its lively "Aardvark Restaurant". It is well positioned for traveling on further north. It has campsites plus pre-erected tented sites. We felt this time, that it does need a little upgrading. The ablutions really need a coat of paint and modernizing. Its such a pleasure when camping when you come across good clean, modern ablutions with plenty of hot water. This I'm afraid wasn't one of those!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Only stayed there one night in early August, unfortunately, but the owner, Chris, and his staff were friendly. helpful and knowledgeable. Chris went out of his way to help me get my camera back and gave my wife and I a lift to the ranks in Ghanzi the next morning.

I'd go back just for the food. We had the best beef hamburgers we had on our three-week trip, plus there is an amazing array of game meat offerings.

You'll see a lot of places similar to this one, but you won't see one as as inviting, comfortable and affordable. I can certainly see why Lonely Planet loves this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed at Thakadu by the owners and their staff. Being a few km off the main road the place is very quiet with a lot of wildlife around (mainly birds and buck). There are a few walking trails to stretch your legs after a long drive, the bar and restaurant are good and the campsites well spaced and secluded.
The only downside is that the ablutions could do with a refresh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

On our way to Moremi Game Reserve we planned to push through to Maun but due to a car accident we could only make it to Ghanzi before dark. By chance we came to stay at Thakadu Bush Camp. Great spacious and clean campsite and the best hot shower on our entire trip. Friendly hosts and great food for dinner - just what we needed after a pretty disastrous day. Thank you!
Nesi Moehle, Namibia

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghanzi
0.0 mi away
Grassland Bushman Lodge
Grassland Bushman Lodge
#4 of 11 in Ghanzi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tautona Lodge
Tautona Lodge
#8 of 11 in Ghanzi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#16 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thakadu Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakadu Bush Camp

Property: Thakadu Bush Camp
Address: Ghanzi south side, Ghanzi, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Ghanzi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ghanzi
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thakadu is a family run bush camp in the middle of a private game reserve, just 3km outside of Ghanzi, 700km from Gaborone, 500km from Windhoek and 280km from Maun. We have comfortable en suite rooms, swimming pool and a bar overlooking our waterhole, as well as a very popular restaurant serving game dishes from our own farm for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing