We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot and Dusty....Spent My Stay Sweating and Swatting Flies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghanzi Trail Blazers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghanzi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ghanzi Trail Blazers
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hot and Dusty....Spent My Stay Sweating and Swatting Flies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Probably one of my least favorite campsites from my tour through Namibia and Botswana. Though no fault of the owners, it was very hot and dusty and we spent too much time sweating and swatting at flies. There was really no place comfortable to relax and pass the time. The evening bushman performance was at the same time enjoyable and awkward....these people are obviously dressing up for the tourists and it gets awkward when they start begging for money at the end. Not my thing. Toilets and showers are outdoor and rustic, but adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Unless you are camping, do not bother. Drive in is hard on cars, but that is not the problem. The rooms have about 1 hour of electric a day, no warning when it goes on or off, no fans, rooms are terribly hot. Flashlight did not work. Mosquito netting was in lousy shape-- torn and not long enough in any event. We all ended up bitten up. No bug spray, etc. It was the worst night's sleep I ever had. You cannot leave your bed, since you will get bitten up, even in bed bad. Bathrooms are outdoors, rooms have no ventilation. Idea sounds like fun, reality is unless you like camping with mosquitoes, just don't stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghanzi hotels

Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in thier traditional San huts - one of the most restful sleeps ever! The staff were very pleasent and most helpful. However, their electricity only works for 3 hours a day and thier location is a bit of a challenge - I was worrid about my two wheel drive vehicle making it to the camp! The swimming quarry however is worth the visit - stunning!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I camped here as part of a private mobile safari. There's plenty of space and the toilets and showers good. We left early the next day so didn't do much more than sleeps and a couple if quick meals. The sand is deep in places round the camp.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 881swf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very nice and clean campsite with good facilities. Staff is very friendly. You can have a tour with the Bushmen here which is highly recommended. The owners will translate and you will have the chance to get a glimpse into the life of the Bushmen. We found this very interesting and hope that tourism will help to protect their culture and not destroy it even further.

Electricity is provided by a generator and will stop around 10pmish. Showers are hot and clean. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerceptionOfReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruhrgebiet
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The camp has nice huts and bungalows and the outdoor bathroom is an experience. The staff is very friendly and it is fun to stay there.

But it can be really cold in winter times, in the night it was below freeze point, and dinner and breakfast outside isn't very comfortable in the situation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Lover-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed there with our kids overnight on the way to the Okavango Delta.
Accomodation has been in newly and nicely renovated round hats with comfortable beds and outdoor bathroom. A new experience for us. In the morning a fire has been made to heat up the water for our shower. Electricity has been provided by a generator for a couple of hours in the evening. The owners took over the camp 8 month ago and are rebuilding a lot.
The food was great homemade South African cusine.
We took the "bushmen walk" which has been quite interesting, even it looked a bit commercialized of course, and the guide made a pretty bored impression.
In the evening we had some dance demonstrations at the fireplace. For a one time experience is alright though.

We had nice and interesting talks with the owner and her son. We definitly wish them great success with this place. A nice retreat in the bush!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanMagic_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghanzi
0.0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grassland Bushman Lodge
Grassland Bushman Lodge
#4 of 11 in Ghanzi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Lodge & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tautona Lodge
Tautona Lodge
#8 of 11 in Ghanzi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#12 of 41 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghanzi Trail Blazers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghanzi Trail Blazers

Property: Ghanzi Trail Blazers
Address: Zone 74, Ghanzi, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Ghanzi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ghanzi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing