We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grassland, the beauty of Central Kalahari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grassland Bushman Lodge
Tourcoing, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Grassland, the beauty of Central Kalahari”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

the beauty of the central Kalahari.

The Grassland is a haven of peace! staff makes every effort for the success of your stay, the Bushmen experience is more interesting, some participants San brings an undeniable quality of their demonstration;
Also do not forget to ask Eluan (manager) advice on photography; This is an excellent advised, very close to its guests.
Stay the night at sunset, in a sofa near the fire, in front of the lake is an exceptional moment: dozens and dozens of animals come to drink!
A great address.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushmen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This camp is different from anything else you will find in Botswana. Its NOT a safari but a definite to do. You only need two nights here as the bushmen experience only takes one full day, and an hour or so with the predator project, as there is not much else to do here. They are not going to take you out on game drives as that is not what this camp is about.

The reason to go to this camp is the bushman. For us, this was a very nice change of pace from the two bush camps we went to which had the traditional safari and animal game drives. I would definitely recommend going here AFTER your safaris, not before. It’s a nice change and relaxing place to follow the traditional camps.

The camp is located on a 10,000 hectare private reserve. There are several thousand animals on the reserve (all kinds of antelope, zebra, wildebeest, warthog etc), but they maintain a predator rescue facility. They capture and bring to the camp lions, leopards and wild dogs that would be killed by farmers because the animals are killing their livestock. The predators can stay at the camp from a few weeks to years, depending upon how easy it is for the camp to find the animals a new home. They cannot just put the lions into a reserve because other lions have their own territory already , etc. For the most part, the different prides or packs are kept in 10 hectare enclosures which are certainly large enough to move around and have a “territory”. They did have several lions and leopard in smaller cages because they were their “problem children” who were escaping from the large enclosures and had to be recaptured etc. But they were building new electrified 10 hectare enclosures that they hoped they could move these animals into soon.

The main event at the camp is a visit with the bushman. You don’t visit their village. Instead, they bring about 15 of the 60 bushman to the reserve to stay with them for a couple of weeks for the tourists. But it still very interesting. In the morning you walk with the bushman in the reserve and they show you different plants they eat, dig up roots, make fire, cook up some nuts , you try all the foods, they show you how they shoot arrows and give you a try etc. Then in the afternoon you visit a mock village on the property where the bushman do various games and dances. The visits are only a couple hours each so you spend most of the day relaxing. We found the visits to be as fascinating as seeing lion at other camps and a highlight of our trip.

On the day we arrived, they took us to see the predator project (as they did others the first day they arrived). One day we saw them feed the animals (whole wildebeest that died on the reserve, but they will give them goat if they don’t have enough reserve animals. They don’t give the animals live game as its not fair to the game. And they told us they don’t kill animals from the reserve. ( with several thousand animals on the reserve, I guess something will die every so often anyway).

In the evening you relax having a drink while watching the animals come to the watering hole. They also have a nice pool. And since the activities are rather short, and you are not going out on game drives, you get to sleep late! (breakfast at 7:30 not at dawn!)

The cabins are built of brick with thatch roofs. They were quite warm to be in during the day but cooled off slowly at night. The fan was a life saver. They have solar power now, 24/7 so you have lights and plug outlets in your cabin. The beds were very comfortable. Had a solid 9 hours of sleep one night. The bathrooms were a little tight, with no real room to lay out your stuff.

The staff was wonderful. Helpful and caring. The couple that run the place were very nice and looked out for our every need. You could not ask for anything more from the staff. The camp was very well run, and all the staff seemed like family and that the really enjoyed what they did (we even got a serenade from the staff one night and they looked like they were having as much fun as we were).

The food however was up and down. We had some of the best and worst food of our trip. We had some wonderful lasagna and deep dish pizza for lunch and amazing kudu sausages for breakfast. One night we even had wildebeest steaks. They were fantastic. But one night we had beef steaks. Not sure what cut they were, as I have never seen steaks like this, but they were the toughest piece of shoe leather I ever eaten and not very flavorful. Which was a shock given the owner is a cattle rancher! Other than the steaks, I had no other complaints and would highly recommend going and supporting their project, as well as the visits with the bushmen. You will remember the experience for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Safari from the heart - by the management and the San people. I can confirm what reviewers have said. This is indeed a special place. More so if you go there at the end of your trip. A wonderful experience to watch game congregate, come and go throughout the day at the water hole, no need to go on a game drive to view them. Stayed in room 6 facing the water hole, I did game viewing from the room and sometimes from bed - terrific, relaxing game viewing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Roaring lions, an experience of a lifetime. We were lucky enough to see the feedings of the animals. The camp water hole played host to lots and lots of game. They came to visit us. The walk with the San people was a very special experience. I have great hopes for what the team is trying to accomplish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlato50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was the first stop on our Botswana journey. I can't say enough wonderful things about this lodge. Our Bushman experience was wonderful, life changing really. The food was really good and the rooms were comfortable. It was fun to fall asleep every night to the sound of roaring lions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We flew in by small plane to a very nice facility, lovely management, and top quality food. The animal sightings were great - whether from jeep, horseback or at the watering hole at night. One person even caught a picture of a newborn cub being carried in the lioness' mouth.....could only have been 1 or 2 days old. The leopards - even though contained - still managed to elude by camera. But the most wonderful experience was the walks with the San Bushmen....where we ate beatles, moth larvae and drank out of an ostrich egg. A wonderful experience....highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoxieL202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you are looking for a genuine expierence with the bush people, this is the place to go!
On top of that, the lodges are nice , even luxureous seen the location, the food is good en fresh.
Tip, have a visit to the lions sanctuary too! Definetly a place to return to

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvdberre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghanzi
0.0 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tautona Lodge
Tautona Lodge
#7 of 11 in Ghanzi
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassland Bushman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassland Bushman Lodge

Property: Grassland Bushman Lodge
Address: | Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Ghanzi, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Ghanzi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ghanzi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassland Bushman Lodge is located northeast of Ghanzi about 80Km. Because of our unique location, immense land size, and proper management, you are likely to see more Kalahari game at Grassland Safaris than any other safari outfitter.For a real awesome cultural experience with the San (Bushman) Grassland Bushman Lodge is a must! There is a San village very close to Grassland lodge with very warm friendly Bushmen that are eager to show guests their survival skills! The Lodge is also running a very good predator project, with lions, leopards and wild dogs.At Grassland Bushman Lodge you will be amazed by the comfortable chalets, dining facilities, and hospitable staff. Grassland has eight extremely well furnished chalets, each with their own en-suite bathrooms, beds, closets, and dresser amenities. Each facility has constant hot water and your laundry is done daily at no extra cost.Our meals are extraordinary, well prepared, and a far cry above most other safari outfits. We provide 3 meals a day, snacks, mid-day tea and dessert, cold drinks, wine, and a fully stocked bar for evening nightcapsAnother unique aspect of our camp is our large swimming pool. Guests thoroughly enjoy taking a soothing swim after a long day of game drives and cultural walks.Likewise, guests often enjoy sitting by the bricked fire pit and watch as hundreds of animals come in at dusk to feed by the large illuminated water pan a mere 50 yards away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Grassland Bushman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing