We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Odcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Masons Arms for 2 nights last weekend and had a wonderful stay. Everything was perfect from the lovely rooms to the wonderful food. The atmosphere in the evening was fantastic as the restaurant was fully booked both evenings. We will certainly be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which faced the back and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    33
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
70
145
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 2 weeks ago for 1 night and everything was perfect, the room, the evening meal, the breakfast (my husband said the scrambled eggs were the best he ever had) and what we liked also is that dogs are made very welcome (very rare in UK).
I wish there were more places like this one and we highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintinofmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for my partner's birthday.

The room was 5 star - fully tiled wetroom with dressing gowns provided, and of course toiletries, even a shoe shiner!!! The room was good too.

When we arrived we were told that there were two cold beers and two bottles of water in the mini fridge for FREE!! You don't usually get that! We ate in the pub both nights and the food is excellent - on the Sunday night I had roast beef, yorkshire pudding, roast and new potatoes, roast parsnips and a selection of veg. The beef was to die for!!! it melted in the mouth.

The breakfasts are good too, with the eggs coming from their hens at the back. We will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollerteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Some places say they are dog friendly when they are simply dog tolerant - not the Masons Arms! We took both our dogs for a two night stay in the family room and were delighted at just how accommodating it was... there was even a welcome pack for them, assuring us that they, and we, would be well catered for.

In the room were dog beds and a blanket, two bowls and a feeding mat. There was sufficient green space outside to exercise them too (including some doggy agility equipment). Dog treats were available in the bar/restaurant, where dogs were also allowed without restriction, and anything we had forgotten could be provided if necessary. We had never before risked taking our 4-legged friends to a public 'stayaway' place and it was certainly a relief to be somewhere so relaxed about the whole thing.

For ourselves, it was a wonderful break with great walks nearby. The room was clean and modern with all the usual comforts you would expect of a good quality hotel, including a small fridge with complimentary water and beers! We ate at The Masons on both nights and the food was fantastic, offering a great choice of pub favourites alongside a more adventurous a la carte menu. With an equally great breakfast on offer, it couldn't be faulted.
Dog owners or not, this comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Very good service with a nice welcome. The room is modern and clean. The bed was a dream, very comfortable. Ate in there both nights, food was excellent and not badly priced. If on a leisure trip there is lots to do in the area and I would recommend using the Masons Arms as a base. The landlady likes her dogs but was extremely pleasant. Breakfast was freshly cooked with good quality ingredients. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Third meal here as its the inlaws local and it never dissapoints.
Food excellent and service great too.
Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pau1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here as a family group for Christmas 2011 as my parents live locally. We booked all rooms and were were very pleasantly surprised to find outstanding accommodation. We had anticipated a lovely pub, but were prepared to tolerate ok rooms (given it's a pub with very reasonable costs). We love old pubs, but usually stay in very different accommodation. (see my reviews).
The owners Paula & Drew were friendly, attentive and quite frankly could not have done more for us. We had three dogs within the family and equipment/bedding was offered if needed. Outside dog facilities are brilliant with plenty of space/walks. Paula is a dog professional, but was only interested and friendly - never lecturing. I don't think I could imagine Paula to be the sort of person to do this, she is first and foremost a professional landlady.
The pub is characterful, well run and Drew even has his own micro brewery so excellent beer on offer. Local ciders too! Food brilliant - modern classics, traditional pub & quite surprisingly thai influenced food, which was really good.
The rooms are neutrally decorated, modern, clean and quiet. All have new comfortable beds (the most important thing as far as I'm concerned). All have new top quality en-suites, fully stocked with products, towels and waffle robes. Hot drink facilities are provided in the rooms together with a small fridge (water included).
The family were very happy with everything and have all decided that when next visiting this will be our place to stay, no question. Thank you for a lovely Christmas Paula and Drew - we'll see you again and won't hesitate to recommend you.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. The family room had a double bed and a double sofa bed. The single had a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmm428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odcombe
1.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
349 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
248 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: 41 Lower Odcombe, Odcombe, Yeovil BA22 8TX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Odcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Odcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty thatched, grade 2 listed property in a quiet Ham stone village a few miles from Yeovil and the A303. We have 6 luxury en suite rooms with a Gold 4 star AA rating. In your room you will find lots of added extras such as a mini fridge with complimetary beer and water, bathrobes, a full range of toiletries as well as a direct phone line and free internet access. The rooms are situated facing our pretty beer garden and are on the ground floor. We have a micro brewery on site producing 5 ales, 2 of which are seasonal. We also have a reputation for serving lovely meals, both traditional pub fayre and a la carte, so please do remember to book a table! We aim to provide everything you could want for a pleasurable stay whether it is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Odcombe
The Masons Arms Odcombe, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing