We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Masons Arms”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Odcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A surprise weekend turned out to be a glorious weekend at The Masons Arms. Beautifully clean rooms, attentive hosts and food to die for. Beer from the micro brewery excellent and couldn't recommend it more. Well done The Masons Arms, a great and reasonably priced stay.... need to book meals and accommodation ahead as so popular. Great local walking in unspoilt countryside.

Room Tip: All good but do book in plenty of time as popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Tucked away in the beautiful quiet village of Odcombe, The Masons Arms is without doubt a fabulous place to stay.

On arrival, and in time for lunch, we were greeted by David who made us feel relaxed and at home immediately, he was great fun with a wicked sence of humour. David is the Manager and works tirelessly to ensure that nothing is too much trouble (how am I doing so far David?) our every whim catered for! Our bangers and mash went down a treat for lunch and were made with Drews (the Landlord) fine Ale brewed there in its own micro brewery, just perfect.

Rooms were excellent, comfy bed, good size bathroom with great shower, tea making facilities with FRESH milk if required, small fridge, dressing gowns and even a light for me to use on the dressing table enabling me to see to put on my make-up!

We are all non smokers however we made full use of the perfect wooden gazebo outside during closing time where we wiled away several hours drinking chatting and laughing whilst waiting for the pub to re-open! It was windy and chilly but Paula the landlady kindly switched on a roof heater when she saw us in there, which made us all very comfy.

We spent an afternoon in Sherbourne, about a 30 minute taxi drive, a beautiful place to visit, very quaint, lots of fab unique boutique style shops and some great pubs and the Abbey.

We had no time to try out the many walks in the area, all nicely documented in a folder outside our rooms, Paula and Drew really have thought of everything. We were delighted to meet Paulas gorgeous dogs and to hear about the fantastic work she does re-homing/training rescue dogs.

We enjoyed our two evening meals and have already booked to return over the Christmas period!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandfoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Booked one night Bed and Breakfast to visit friends in a nearby village. Lovely comfortable room, had evening meal and breakfast and the food was excellent. Will definitely stay again with friends camping next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Booked in for two nights early September 2013 not knowing what to expect. The Masons is in a tiny Village and is well sign posted so I found it with great ease. On arrival, I was greeted by one of the staff and felt very welcome with a sense that nothing was too much trouble for them. After checking in, I was shown to my room which was a single but the size of a good double. The toilet/shower room was well equiped with towels and a dressing gown. I had a mini bar which had a free complimentary can of lager and a bottle of water. All in all, the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price which was cerial and a full english with all the trimmings. Will go back next year without a doubt.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a bath rather than a shower, ring first to see if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As we were in the area we decided to eat at the Masons Arms having been so well treated in the past. We were not disappointed. The food and service is excellent, as is the beer - brewed on site in their own micro brewery.
The best fish and chips ever!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank LubylouSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Such good accommodation, food and atmosphere. I would highly recommend you stay in this lovely pub and area. I used to pass through it without stopping on my way to Devon and Cornwall, not any more. Thanks Drew and Paula, wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Don't look any where else in the are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It would have been nice to have experienced the Masons Arms but having driven quite a distance to get there we were informed that they had the booking down for the wrong day despite the booking having been made and confirmed by email clearly stating the correct day. Not a good start to our trip. To their credit, when we enquired if they knew of anywhere else they did make arrangements for us to stay in a very good alternative.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masonsarms, Manager at The Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We are really sorry there was confusion about your proposed stay with us but we are glad we managed to find you somewhere you enjoyed. Hopefully we'll see you again at some point in the future where you can enjoy our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odcombe
1.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Liongate House
Liongate House
#1 of 1 in Ilchester
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn The Square
Inn The Square
#1 of 1 in West Coker
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: 41 Lower Odcombe, Odcombe, Yeovil BA22 8TX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Odcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Odcombe
Price Range: £90 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty thatched, grade 2 listed property in a quiet Ham stone village a few miles from Yeovil and the A303. We have 6 luxury en suite rooms with a Gold 4 star AA rating. In your room you will find lots of added extras such as a mini fridge with complimetary beer and water, bathrobes, a full range of toiletries as well as a direct phone line and free internet access. The rooms are situated facing our pretty beer garden and are on the ground floor. We have a micro brewery on site producing 5 ales, 2 of which are seasonal. We also have a reputation for serving lovely meals, both traditional pub fayre and a la carte, so please do remember to book a table! We aim to provide everything you could want for a pleasurable stay whether it is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Odcombe
The Masons Arms Odcombe, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing