We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel with Great Location & Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pensione Moderna
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bonassola
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a quaint hotel located very near the train station, the beach and many resturants. The staff was very nice and helpful and speak English well. The price for what you get is a great bargain and it is a very good place to begin to explore all of Cinque Terre. The staff also let us extend our stay twice and let us keep our same room so we did not have to move our belongings.
The downside of the place it is near the train station, so if you are a light sleeper this may not be for you. However, there are rooms facing away from the train tracks that the sound would not be as bothersome. Also there was not any air conditioning in our room which may be a problem if traveling in July or August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks and avoid peak summer months.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zjc2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pensione Moderna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

great location, very close to the train station if you are in a hiking trip, close to beach

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Yes it's not 5 star and yes the train is close and yes beds could be more comfortable but this hotel has a wonderful feel to it and it is set in a beautiful quiet village just outside the "touristy" cinque terre. The family who own and operate the Pensione Moderna are great hosts and are very considerate, as are the staff. The breakfast on the terrace makes you slow down and relax. We will remember our week in October for many years with fond memories.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We like the hotel very much. It is very good for families as well as for all who like staying in hotels in quiet towns and close to sea. We staied there for two weeks and had very good time. Staff is attentive, breakfast is good. Sea is the best I've ever seen and only 100 metres from the hotel, almost no traffic in the town, lots of places to eat with reasonable prices. No problems with car parking near the hotel.
In contrary to references about noisy trains I can say: trains do not go at night and they didn't bother me, my husband or my 6-year-old doughter.
I plan to stay in the hotel again next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Room was terrible, train noise was ridiculous and when you walk into your room and see earplugs, RUN! Rooms were HOT and we were in a pickle as to whether we should open the windows with the train noise. Beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced. Breakfast was decent, but everything else about this place was horrid. Does it also serve as a retirement home? There were several elderly folk wandering around and parked on sheet-covered sofas. Weird place. Find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderna2011, Proprietario at Hotel Pensione Moderna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

This replay is to a guest who has been here on the 14th July, for 1 night , booked in January.
She knew that the hotel is close to the railway line, but I think that we have been the only hotel who have assigned a room to her for 1 night during a summer week-end. There was no guarantee 100% she could hold a room in the quiet side. On the 18th May she knew definitely from us that the room was on the railaway side and she could cancel without any penalty until 21 days before the arrival.
We are very sorry that this guest didn’t feel comfortable in our hotel.
But we have to tell that we have found her review very rude and not truth.
It is very offensive to us and to the democratic people of the entire world when she talks about a “retirement home”. We have been astonished! It seems that the hotel have to select only young people! That’s unbelievable! We have young and old guests, and the old ones are very often people coming here since 30 years. . It means that they like our hotel, despite of the steps to the floors (we don’t have any lift). People have been sitting on the sofa, not “parked”. We are democratic and live in a democratic country, and we accepts as guest each one who want come here: according with the Human rights, without distinction of any kind, sex, colour language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status.
Everyone is welcome!

Eleonora Zoppi Ferrari , hotel manager since 1951, and daughters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This Hotel is more like a B&B. Its great for families since its owned by a local family and its intiminate enough for a romantic getaway. The room#4 was opposite from the train tracks, so we weren't disturb by the train station. The owners/employees are very helpful, warm, and speak English. Its an easy access to Cinque Terre, 2 stops from train. The hotel is walking distance from the train station, once you walk down the steps of the station just turn left and then right from the first stop sign. Walking distance 2 minutes from the station. The beach is 4 minutes from the Hotel. This is a small town and very charming. Less touristy than Cinque Terre and this hotel is probably more spacious than any place in Cinque Terre and less expensive. If anyone was going to visit Cinque Terre, I would recommend staying in Bonassola or Levanto. These area is less touristy and you can get a better deal on hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcatunao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We loved this hotel...a less traveled town but close to the Cinque Terre area and therefore fewer tourists....two train stops north of Monterosso...lovely and helpful employees..large bathroom......our problem was a group of wedding guests that woke us up at 1am first night and 3:30am the second night...the noise continued for one hour....
But would stay again and hope for quieter guests!

Room Tip: second floor room w/ balcony looking over patio
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andyg_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonassola
0.1 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#2 of 4 in Bonassola
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#1 of 4 in Bonassola
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Lungomare
Albergo Lungomare
#4 of 4 in Bonassola
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#1 of 1 in Framura
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Francesca
La Francesca
#9 of 11 in Bonassola
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Moderna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Moderna

Address: Via Gino Daneri 81, 19011 Bonassola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bonassola
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bonassola
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pensione Moderna 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pensione Moderna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing